Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

MRV, MDU, & cable MODEM


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   lovswr

lovswr

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 373 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2004

Posted 24 May 2010 - 01:44 PM

See what I did with the thread title :grin:

Well, I live in a apartment unit, & I have a Comcast cable modem & cable TV service. Now my question is , of course, can I keep the cable modem & have DeCA on the same coax? My complex is going to charge me a $150.00 "fee" for the right to get DBS installed & I can't have the tech pull new cable, but this will all be moot, if the cable modem & MRV cannot coexist. TIA!
Sony 60A2020 | Sony STR-DA5200ES | PS3 all via HDMI | XBOX360 via component | JBL Northridge Series 5.1
Sony KDF-E42A10 | Sony STR-DG820 | Samsung BD-P1500
BOTH HR20's & PS3 & XBOX 360 networked via tversity v 1.0 RC2
HD-DVD = 52 Blu Ray = 55

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   djousma

djousma

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Jan 22, 2007

Posted 24 May 2010 - 01:48 PM

How can cable modem and DBS exist on the same line.....they cant.

Your sig is confusing, in that you list all this DTV equipment, but your post says you have cable service. did you just move?

Edited by djousma, 24 May 2010 - 01:53 PM.

Setup

  • Slimline Dish connected to SWM-16
  • Whole home DVR with DECA
  • HR44-500 connected via HDMI to 52" Sharp Aquos LC52D62U
  • HR24-500 connected via HDMI to 42" LG LCD
  • HR20-700 connected via HDMI to 32" Panasonic TC-L32X1
  • Apple Airport Extreme
  • 30/5 Charter Cable

#3 OFFLINE   ffemtreed

ffemtreed

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 958 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 24 May 2010 - 01:51 PM

you are going to need seperate lines for your cable modem and satellite.

If DSL is available to you that may be an option since it would free up your coax line to be used for satellite and your internet would share your phone lines.

#4 OFFLINE   lovswr

lovswr

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 373 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2004

Posted 24 May 2010 - 01:57 PM

How can cable modem and DBS exist on the same line.....they cant.

Your sig is confusing, in that you list all this DTV equipment, but your post says you have cable service. did you just move?


Yes, I just moved. I was a D* customer for the better part of 6 years. This is a total bummer. :(
Sony 60A2020 | Sony STR-DA5200ES | PS3 all via HDMI | XBOX360 via component | JBL Northridge Series 5.1
Sony KDF-E42A10 | Sony STR-DG820 | Samsung BD-P1500
BOTH HR20's & PS3 & XBOX 360 networked via tversity v 1.0 RC2
HD-DVD = 52 Blu Ray = 55

#5 OFFLINE   lovswr

lovswr

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 373 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2004

Posted 24 May 2010 - 01:59 PM

you are going to need seperate lines for your cable modem and satellite.

If DSL is available to you that may be an option since it would free up your coax line to be used for satellite and your internet would share your phone lines.


Well that is a no-go. I have been stuck on Bellsouth's crappy 6M DSL since 2001. Moved to this apartment a few months ago & got 16/2 service. 'Aint going back. This totally sucks! (also, I don't even have a landline anymore :grin:)
Sony 60A2020 | Sony STR-DA5200ES | PS3 all via HDMI | XBOX360 via component | JBL Northridge Series 5.1
Sony KDF-E42A10 | Sony STR-DG820 | Samsung BD-P1500
BOTH HR20's & PS3 & XBOX 360 networked via tversity v 1.0 RC2
HD-DVD = 52 Blu Ray = 55




spam firewall