Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Installer: Caller ID Interferes with MRV.


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jacobp

jacobp

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 152 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2003

Posted 25 May 2010 - 09:21 AM

Just had my whole house DVR upgrade and the installer would not hook up my telephone line to the DVRs saying that he had been advised that Caller ID interfered with MRV. Has anyone else heard that?

FYI, I hooked it up after he left with no problems.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,927 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 25 May 2010 - 09:24 AM

Just had my whole house DVR upgrade and the installer would not hook up my telephone line to the DVRs saying that he had been advised that Caller ID interfered with MRV. Has anyone else heard that?

FYI, I hooked it up after he left with no problems.


Nope .. that is an incorrect statement .. I've been using MRV & Caller ID for months now and this is actually the first time I've heard anyone actually make that claim. Connecting your phone line to your receiver works just fine.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,030 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 25 May 2010 - 09:31 AM

Nope .. that is an incorrect statement .. I've been using MRV & Caller ID for months now and this is actually the first time I've heard anyone actually make that claim. Connecting your phone line to your receiver works just fine.

Add my vote to agree with Doug....no such issues now in months of testing and using MRV (along with Caller ID).
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#4 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,061 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 25 May 2010 - 09:37 AM

Like above posters have said, no issues what so ever with MRV and Caller ID on any of my STB's.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#5 OFFLINE   JustSo

JustSo

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2007

Posted 25 May 2010 - 11:40 AM

I've got a related question:

I currently have my phone line hooked into only 1 receiver, so only that TV shows the caller ID. If MRV is enabled, will the caller ID display on the other receivers (which do not have the phone line hooked up)?

Thanks!

#6 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,061 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 25 May 2010 - 11:41 AM

I've got a related question:

I currently have my phone line hooked into only 1 receiver, so only that TV shows the caller ID. If MRV is enabled, will the caller ID display on the other receivers (which do not have the phone line hooked up)?

Thanks!


No, that would be nice if they could figure out how to do that though.

See post My Setup for configuration info.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...