Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Did you get a SWiMLNB or SWiM8?

syfy

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

Poll: Did you get a SWiMLNB or SWiM8 for your "Connected Home" upgrade? (33 member(s) have cast votes)

Did you get a SWiMLNB or SWiM8 for your "Connected Home" upgrade?

  1. I had a WB68 switch and it was replaced by a SWiM8 (5 votes [15.15%])

    Percentage of vote: 15.15%

  2. I had a WB68 switch and it was replaced by a SWiMLNB (17 votes [51.52%])

    Percentage of vote: 51.52%

  3. I had no switch and had a SWiM8 installed (2 votes [6.06%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.06%

  4. I had no switch and my LNB was replaced by a SWiMLNB (9 votes [27.27%])

    Percentage of vote: 27.27%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,973 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 25 May 2010 - 09:40 AM

Just curious for folks that ordered the "Connected Home" installation and needed SWiM hardware installed. I'm wondering if you had a WB68 multiswitch installed did the installers give you a SWiM8 in it's place or a SWiMLNB?

See post My Setup for configuration info.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   FHSPSU67

FHSPSU67

    CE'er & Retired Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,402 posts
  • LocationWindber, PA
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 25 May 2010 - 09:43 AM

I got a SWM16, even though a SWM8 would have handled my four HR's. I previously had a WB68.

Edited by FHSPSU67, 25 May 2010 - 12:17 PM.

Fred
DIRECTV since November 1995
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler" A.Einstein

#3 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,973 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 25 May 2010 - 09:45 AM

I got a SWM16, even though a SWM8 would have handled my four HR's. I previouslu had a WB68.


That's really strange since SWiM16's are as scarce as hens teeth and folks needing them have a devil of a time getting them.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#4 OFFLINE   evan_s

evan_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,136 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2008

Posted 25 May 2010 - 09:52 AM

If you are under the 8 tuner limit you should get a SWiM lnb as long as it is available which shouldn't be an issue.

#5 OFFLINE   tsbrady1

tsbrady1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 25 May 2010 - 10:55 AM

I had an AT-9 sidecar dish with a WB68 switch and they replaced it with a SWiM 3LNB and a "green label" 8 way splitter

#6 OFFLINE   barryb

barryb

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,935 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 25 May 2010 - 11:13 AM

√ I had a WB68 switch and it was replaced by a SWiM16
Barry
MY SETUP
You can usually find me helping out in the Quiet Room on Friday chat night.

#7 OFFLINE   Ken984

Ken984

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,016 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2005

Posted 25 May 2010 - 11:32 AM

I had an At9 & SWM8 and it was replaced with a SWiM LNB(green label). So if anyone wants a SWM8 and a power inserter PM me.!

Samsung 65-es6550-HR44-700-Denon AVR-2311CI, XBOX360, Win Media Center 7, Samsung BD-D6500


#8 OFFLINE   DogLover

DogLover

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,510 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 25 May 2010 - 02:03 PM

I didn't vote. I had a SWM-8 (self installed, not green label). It was replaced with SWMLNB.
DogLover

My Setup

#9 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,893 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 25 May 2010 - 02:17 PM

LNB Swap to a green label SWiM5 for me.
Man that tech was awsome! :lol:
"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."

#10 OFFLINE   oldengineer

oldengineer

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 455 posts
Joined: May 25, 2008

Posted 25 May 2010 - 04:37 PM

My existing SWM8 was left in place.

2H/1J


#11 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,844 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 25 May 2010 - 06:57 PM

I'm playing roulette. Have a SWiM8 now, install scheduled for Saturday.
Also have a 5LNB SWM and 3 LNB SWM not connected.

Crossing my fingers I get a SWiM16 out of the deal to complete my SWM collection. May have to hide the SWM8 and reconnect all to the WB68 before tech shows up :D

Use the WB68 for one HR20 that won't work on the SWM8 and told CS agent to note that on the record so perhaps a HR24 shows up too.?

Will let you know how it all turns out.

#12 OFFLINE   rsblaski

rsblaski

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 812 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2003

Posted 26 May 2010 - 12:22 PM

I had an AT-9 sidecar dish with a WB68 switch and they replaced it with a SWiM 3LNB and a "green label" 8 way splitter


Ditto.
Remember, when it comes to audio/video, more is always better. (This does NOT apply to remote controls!)




spam firewall