Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

which pi for deca? installer called


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   njfoses

njfoses

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 142 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2007

Posted 26 May 2010 - 05:15 AM

My mrv install is scheduled for today and the installer just called to inform me they do not have the broadband deca which i figured would happen. I explained to him to just use a regular deca with a pi which he insists will not work. His boss is telling him they do not have the proper power supply. Will either a pi-21 or pi-29 work as the deca power supply? Thanks.
Joined The Directv Family 9-11-07

au9 Dish
Mrv via deca
HR20
HR24
H24

E-A-G-L-E-S!!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 26 May 2010 - 05:17 AM

Should be the PS18. If not available, he can use the PI-21. The PI-29 is too much for a deca though.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#3 OFFLINE   njfoses

njfoses

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 142 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2007

Posted 26 May 2010 - 05:22 AM

Thanks.
Joined The Directv Family 9-11-07

au9 Dish
Mrv via deca
HR20
HR24
H24

E-A-G-L-E-S!!

#4 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 26 May 2010 - 07:43 AM

Should be the PS18. If not available, he can use the PI-21. The PI-29 is too much for a deca though.


I would point out that the 5/12 Technical Bulletin (http://forums.direct...2010-051210.pdf) says,
If I have a bad power supply or run out of power supplies, is there any other way to power the DECA?
If you are short on power supplies for the DECA, a 29V SWiM power supply can be used to power the DECA. Always remember, all broadband DECAs (the one by the networking modem or router) require a power supply.

Now, it's obvious almost no one is reading this, so I guess it doesn't matter whether it's right or not. ;)

DIRECTV and NFL-ST since 1994, Slimline w/SL5 LNB, SWiM-16
HR44-700; 2x HR24-500; HR22-100; H25-500; C31-700; GenieGo
Gigabit Ethernet (DirecTV DECA); 2.4 and 5GHz 802.11n; HD Slingbox


#5 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 26 May 2010 - 08:38 AM

I would point out that the 5/12 Technical Bulletin (http://forums.direct...2010-051210.pdf) says,
If I have a bad power supply or run out of power supplies, is there any other way to power the DECA?
If you are short on power supplies for the DECA, a 29V SWiM power supply can be used to power the DECA. Always remember, all broadband DECAs (the one by the networking modem or router) require a power supply.

Now, it's obvious almost no one is reading this, so I guess it doesn't matter whether it's right or not. ;)


I know what it says. Expect to see higher failure rates of decas if you go with a 29v power supply instead of the 18v one.

They get hot enough as is with receiver/18v power, now add another 11v to it.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#6 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 26 May 2010 - 08:45 AM

I know what it says. Expect to see higher failure rates of decas if you go with a 29v power supply instead of the 18v one.

They get hot enough as is with receiver/18v power, now add another 11v to it.


It looks like an (uncorrected) misprint to me... aren't installers a lot more likely to have 21v PI-21s for SWM LNBs with them than power supplies for SWM8/16?

But it's an example of documentation that predates the rollout that clearly conflicts with what installers are saying/doing (proving your point that they won't read it).

#7 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 26 May 2010 - 08:55 AM

It looks like an (uncorrected) misprint to me... aren't installers a lot more likely to have 21v PI-21s for SWM LNBs with them than power supplies for SWM8/16?

But it's an example of documentation that predates the rollout that clearly conflicts with what installers are saying/doing (proving your point that they won't read it).


Not sure to be honest. As with any roll out of this magnatude, things evolve rather quickly.

But yes, typically, the installer should have more PS18s and PI21s than PI28/29s. I'd still try to avoid using a pi29 if I can.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here




Protected By... spam firewall...And...