Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Whole Home DVR Service Information and FAQ


  • Please log in to reply
502 replies to this topic

#451 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,485 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 18 January 2012 - 04:43 PM

So I guess you have Checked to ensure that you entered the MAC Address for the DVR correctly?

I had a problem where I was off one digit and it didn't work because I hadn't properly assigned it in the DHCP Reservations List.

Have you Rebooted your Router?

Edited by Richierich, 25 January 2012 - 02:46 PM.

*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#452 OFFLINE   96beretta

96beretta

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2012

Posted 23 January 2012 - 02:07 PM

Does this statement still apply?

Q: Is this something I can do myself by purchasing items elsewhere?
A: Yes, but DirecTV has the best deal for equipment and they will even come out and install it.


I'm debating on calling Dtv and having them do the MRV setup or just doing it myself. I have the SWM8 equipment already and I just rewired my house to have new coax going to all the DVR and HD recever locations and I think I have a fairly easy setup, possibly 2 HR23's and one H23. I just ordered a new DVR and have not received it yet so I don't know if I'm going to end up with a second HR23 or maybe a HR24, that's why I say possibly 2.

I can get all of the DECA hardware I need for $75, or $60 if I end up with a HR24 So I just can't justify the said $199 price tag that I've seen for some guy to come out and plug this stuff in and attempt to run wires in my house when it's unnecessary... As well as having to miss a day of work. And honestly after ripping out everything they did on this house prior to me buying it (old owner had DTV as well) I don't want another tech trying to run ANYTHING... I'll do all of that myself thank you...

I was told on the Dtv forums that I should not go and buy all of the stuff and try a DIY install because they may not activate it. I can't see why they wouldn't because if it works then they get $3 more a month from me, if it doesn't then I would have to pay them to come out and fix it, sounds like a win win for them. I just wanted to get an opinion from another forum on that direction.

#453 OFFLINE   96beretta

96beretta

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2012

Posted 25 January 2012 - 08:24 AM

Nobody knows the answer to my question?

#454 OFFLINE   Vin

Vin

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 224 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2004

Posted 25 January 2012 - 01:12 PM

I was told on the Dtv forums that I should not go and buy all of the stuff and try a DIY install because they may not activate it. I can't see why they wouldn't because if it works then they get $3 more a month from me, if it doesn't then I would have to pay them to come out and fix it, sounds like a win win for them. I just wanted to get an opinion from another forum on that direction.

Nobody knows the answer to my question?


I, like a lot of others here, took the DIY route for reasons similar to yours. Although some people have had to email DirecTV more than once (myself included) to get them to activate WHDVR service, I can't imagine you not eventually getting a CSR to turn it on for you.
Vin

#455 OFFLINE   96beretta

96beretta

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2012

Posted 25 January 2012 - 01:59 PM

Thank you I appreciate the reply.

#456 OFFLINE   Ronomy

Ronomy

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2012

Posted 25 January 2012 - 07:08 PM

No installer coming into my house! I installed every Direct system since day one. Installed SWM well over two years ago myself. DECA hardware on the way and will either call or email to get WHDVR service turned on.

:)

#457 OFFLINE   96beretta

96beretta

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2012

Posted 26 January 2012 - 08:18 AM

No installer coming into my house! I installed every Direct system since day one. Installed SWM well over two years ago myself. DECA hardware on the way and will either call or email to get WHDVR service turned on.

:)


Glad I'm not the only one who feels this way. I don't want insult ALL of the installers but about 90% of them just don't take their job seriously and don't treat the customers home as if it were their own, they only do the job as quick as they can most of the time and don't care about how neat it is, or if its the best way to run the cable.

I just re-wired all of my coax, Unfortunately I did it for my Multiswitch before I realized the simplicity and avalibility of the SWiM stuff... But who cares, I have 2 coax wires going to each DVR location in the wall now on plate, and not just poking through my floor so It's clean and there will just be one extra coax when I do the SWiM stuff. I hope to have my SWiM stuff for this weekend and I think the DECA stuff should be here by friday as well.

$120 invested, and knowing its done right... Priceless.

#458 OFFLINE   DirectMan

DirectMan

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 98 posts
Joined: Jul 14, 2007

Posted 04 February 2012 - 03:01 PM

I had whole home installed recently and I now want to activate an old owned D12-700 receiver for a guest room with a SD TV. I don't need or want to have the D12 connected to the other DVR's in my network. I read in the FAQ's that I will need to install a Band Stop Filter BSFR0-01 before the cable input to the receiver. What is the purpose of the BSF and what would occur if the BSF is not connected to the D12?

#459 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 04 February 2012 - 09:41 PM

I had whole home installed recently and I now want to activate an old owned D12-700 receiver for a guest room with a SD TV. I don't need or want to have the D12 connected to the other DVR's in my network. I read in the FAQ's that I will need to install a Band Stop Filter BSFR0-01 before the cable input to the receiver. What is the purpose of the BSF and what would occur if the BSF is not connected to the D12?


The D12 does not work with whole-home as it is a SD receiver. However, you will need the BSF installed for the D12. Since you are on a SWM system and are using DECA for whole home, the BSF stops the DECA frequencies from getting to the receiver, which can end up causing problems.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#460 OFFLINE   DirectMan

DirectMan

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 98 posts
Joined: Jul 14, 2007

Posted 04 February 2012 - 11:08 PM

The D12 does not work with whole-home as it is a SD receiver. However, you will need the BSF installed for the D12. Since you are on a SWM system and are using DECA for whole home, the BSF stops the DECA frequencies from getting to the receiver, which can end up causing problems.

- Merg


Merg, thanks for the explanation.

#461 OFFLINE   Nolzman

Nolzman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2003

Posted 13 February 2012 - 12:08 PM

Hello Everybody,

I currently have three HD DVR's (HR22-100, HR21-100, and a HR20-700). All three have two cables running to each, which I guess means I do not have SWM. The main unit (HR22-100) is in the LR and is connected to my router, via a switch and power line ethernet connection. It also has an AM21 off-air tuner attached.

I received an offer from DTV to upgrade to Whole-House DVR for free for being a long-time loyal (5 heart) customer.

What can I expect to do as far as set up?
What is the optimal solution for me based on the equipment I have? What I mean is how will they set me up?
Will this change require me to sign up for two more years?
Should I ask for a certain set up / equipment when I call?
What do I gain for installing this functionality?
Will I loose any functionality?

Thank you for your responses.

#462 OFFLINE   dh650

dh650

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2007

Posted 29 February 2012 - 11:17 PM

Hello everyone!

I called DirecTV today to see about getting Whole Home active. I have an older AT9 KaKu dish, 1 HR20-700, 1 HR21-700, an older 5x8 multiswitch which supplies each HD DVR with 2 coax feeds, and the remaining feeds go to other rooms not currently in use.

Initially, it sounded like I could get away with just having DirecTV send me 2 DECA units and I would be in business. I told the rep I don't really care about the CCK and really only want the DVRs to talk to each other to share playlists. After she checked, she came back and said they would have to come out and swap out my old dish with a new SWM compatible dish, change my old mutiswitch to a SWM compatible model, install the DECA units on each DVR, setup the CCK(which I told them I don't want so I'll probably have the tech skip that).

Their initial quote was $250 and of course I laughed. I was able to get the whole package for just the $49 truck roll fee so I think I did okay there.

So what will happen to the 2 coax feeds on both the HD DVRs when the dish is changed over to SWM? I have read where SWM only requires 1 coax to the dual tuner DVRs. Which input will the coax be connected to - Sat 1 or Sat 2? Can you leave both connected after the changes have been made and DECA has been installed?

Also, is a power supply absolutely required for SWM installations? I don't have any power source close to either the dish location, or my existing outside multiswitch box on the side of the house, so I'm not sure how that will work if required.

I also want to confirm that a DECA connected to my broadband router is only required if I want the CCK installed and for the DVRs to have Internet for ordering On Demand, using You Tube, etc, correct? If I just want Whole Home between the 2 DVRs I hope all I need is the 1 DECA unit for each DVR.

Thanks!

#463 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 29 February 2012 - 11:49 PM

Hello everyone!

I called DirecTV today to see about getting Whole Home active. I have an older AT9 KaKu dish, 1 HR20-700, 1 HR21-700, an older 5x8 multiswitch which supplies each HD DVR with 2 coax feeds, and the remaining feeds go to other rooms not currently in use.

Initially, it sounded like I could get away with just having DirecTV send me 2 DECA units and I would be in business. I told the rep I don't really care about the CCK and really only want the DVRs to talk to each other to share playlists. After she checked, she came back and said they would have to come out and swap out my old dish with a new SWM compatible dish, change my old mutiswitch to a SWM compatible model, install the DECA units on each DVR, setup the CCK(which I told them I don't want so I'll probably have the tech skip that).

Their initial quote was $250 and of course I laughed. I was able to get the whole package for just the $49 truck roll fee so I think I did okay there.

So what will happen to the 2 coax feeds on both the HD DVRs when the dish is changed over to SWM? I have read where SWM only requires 1 coax to the dual tuner DVRs. Which input will the coax be connected to - Sat 1 or Sat 2? Can you leave both connected after the changes have been made and DECA has been installed?

Also, is a power supply absolutely required for SWM installations? I don't have any power source close to either the dish location, or my existing outside multiswitch box on the side of the house, so I'm not sure how that will work if required.

I also want to confirm that a DECA connected to my broadband router is only required if I want the CCK installed and for the DVRs to have Internet for ordering On Demand, using You Tube, etc, correct? If I just want Whole Home between the 2 DVRs I hope all I need is the 1 DECA unit for each DVR.

Thanks!


:welcome_s to DBSTalk!

In order to have Whole Home using DECA, you need a SWM setup as it seems you are going to get. You need one DECA for each receiver and if you want Internet connectivity you need the CCK.

As for your current setup, they will disconnect the second coax from each of the receivers and it will not be used anymore. The single coax will go to the DECA and from the DECA a coax will go to SAT1 and a CAT5 cable will go to the ethernet port.

The PI (Power Inserter) is needed, but can be placed in-line with one of the coax cables near a receiver or anywhere else there is an electrical outlet.

As for the CCK, I would get it installed. If you don't want it, you can always disconnect it and not use it, but at least you don't need to worry about trying to order it later on if you change your mind. The CCK can be installed in-line with one of the receivers if it is the wireless CCK and if it is a wired CCK, they can just use one of the now extra coax cables that was to one of your receivers (if it is near your router).

Having the CCK installed, as you mentioned, will allow access to YouTube, Pandora, DirecTV on Demand (VOD), as well as allowing you to use the iPad app to control your receivers and allowing you to order PPV via the Internet with your remote without the need to have a phone line attached.

Is there a reason you don't want the CCK connected?

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#464 OFFLINE   dh650

dh650

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2007

Posted 01 March 2012 - 01:35 AM

That's good news on the PI and being able to place it in-line close to a receiver and where there is power.

I was worried the wired CCK would need to be installed by my router, which is not close to either of the 2 DVRs, and I didn't want any cables running from the router/computer area to the nearest DVR which is in the master bedroom. If the wireless CCK allows it to be located near a DVR and avoid any wiring clutter then I might go ahead with it. I definitely see the advantages of having it for Pandora YouTube, etc.

Thanks for all your help.

#465 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 01 March 2012 - 09:14 AM

That's good news on the PI and being able to place it in-line close to a receiver and where there is power.

I was worried the wired CCK would need to be installed by my router, which is not close to either of the 2 DVRs, and I didn't want any cables running from the router/computer area to the nearest DVR which is in the master bedroom. If the wireless CCK allows it to be located near a DVR and avoid any wiring clutter then I might go ahead with it. I definitely see the advantages of having it for Pandora YouTube, etc.

Thanks for all your help.


No problem.

Yeah, the wireless CCK is made for the specific circumstance to allow installers to install a CCK without the need to run additional cables. I'm assuming that you have no coax cable near your router whatsoever?

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#466 OFFLINE   dh650

dh650

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2007

Posted 01 March 2012 - 08:17 PM

That's correct. I have my broadband internet at the point of the router, but no satellite coax close to that point. It would be a much easier install to go with the W-CCK at one of the 2 HD-DVRs, if it can indeed be installed in-line by a receiver as you said.

The tech came today, did a good job swapping out my old AT9 dish for the newer slimline, upgraded to SWM, changed the old Zinwell 6x8 multiswitch to the new SWM version, installed a white DECA on my HR20-700, and a black DECA on my HR21-700.

I asked the customer service rep yesterday when setting up the order to include W-CCK, and sure enough, he shows up with the wired version. He didn't have the wireless version so I figured I would just call DirecTV back and have them ship me the wireless CCK. I called DirecTV awhile ago to tell them they messed up the order, and the rep told me wireless CCK is not compatible with Whole Home and DECA. I'm assuming this guy doesn't know what he's talking about?

If you confirm the wireless CCK does indeed work with Whole Home and DECA I will call them back and bug them until they send me what they should have sent me from the start.

#467 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,068 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 March 2012 - 10:11 PM

If you confirm the wireless CCK does indeed work with Whole Home and DECA I will call them back and bug them until they send me what they should have sent me from the start.

Look at my sig, it's been working for a couple of years.
A.K.A VOS

#468 OFFLINE   dh650

dh650

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2007

Posted 01 March 2012 - 11:01 PM

I just noticed that in your sig right after I finished the previous post; I guess that's the answer I was looking for!

Do you install the wireless CCK and the DECA together at the receiver?

#469 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,068 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 March 2012 - 11:11 PM

I just noticed that in your sig right after I finished the previous post; I guess that's the answer I was looking for!

Do you install the wireless CCK and the DECA together at the receiver?

Of course, it depends on whether the receiver has an internal DECA, or not, but if it doesn't, then it would look like this:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1311788989
A.K.A VOS

#470 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 01 March 2012 - 11:36 PM

I called DirecTV awhile ago to tell them they messed up the order, and the rep told me wireless CCK is not compatible with Whole Home and DECA. I'm assuming this guy doesn't know what he's talking about?


Unfortunately, DirecTV has been known to use the same terms for different components. Originally, the Cinema Connection Kit was a wireless adapter that was connected to the back of a receiver to allow that one receiver to get access to the Internet. Most likely, the CSR thought that which was what you were referring. That version of the CCK cannot be used with Whole Home.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#471 OFFLINE   dh650

dh650

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2007

Posted 02 March 2012 - 02:56 AM

That clears things up; thanks for the picture showing the setup.

#472 OFFLINE   ksalno

ksalno

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2011

Posted 17 June 2012 - 08:20 PM

I'm having a weird problem. I have the following set-up:

SWIM16
Splitter1 - has H24, H25, and 2 HR20-700
Splitter2 - has HR24, HR34, H24, and DECA

None of my boxes can see the playlist for the HR24 but the HR24 can see the playlists for all the other DVRs. I've checked sharing is ON for the HR24.

All other playlists are visible on every box.

Any ideas?

#473 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,478 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 18 June 2012 - 07:27 AM

Press the [DASH] button and see if your HR24 reports that it is connected to your network. You may need a restart.

Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#474 OFFLINE   ksalno

ksalno

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2011

Posted 18 June 2012 - 07:52 PM

Problem resolved. The HR24 was connected to the network, in fact, it was too connected. I checked the rear panel and it had an Ethernet cable in addition to the coax SWM connection. I disconnected the CAT5 cable and rebooted - problem solved. Funny thing was all other networking worked fine and I could pull items off other DVRs playlists using the HR24, which is why I didn't notice it right away after the install.

#475 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 18 June 2012 - 10:45 PM

Problem resolved. The HR24 was connected to the network, in fact, it was too connected. I checked the rear panel and it had an Ethernet cable in addition to the coax SWM connection. I disconnected the CAT5 cable and rebooted - problem solved. Funny thing was all other networking worked fine and I could pull items off other DVRs playlists using the HR24, which is why I didn't notice it right away after the install.


The Ethernet cable being connected was disabling the internal DECA in the HR24. When you removed it and rebooted, the internal DECA was reactivated.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom





Protected By... spam firewall...And...