Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Whole Home DVR Service Information and FAQ


  • Please log in to reply
502 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   changer

changer

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2008

Posted 26 May 2010 - 01:38 PM

Thanks for the information - very helpful.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 26 May 2010 - 02:17 PM

Great job slacker! :)

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#28 OFFLINE   Groundhog45

Groundhog45

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,477 posts
  • LocationCedar Park, Texas
Joined: Nov 09, 2005

Posted 26 May 2010 - 03:20 PM

Great job, Grentz, RobertE and everyone who helped with this thread. Very useful info, even for those of us who think we know a lot about the system. When the installer comes tomorrow I'll have a quick reference in case he runs into any problems. :D Thanks.

Edited to add: <--- Guess I'll need a new avatar when the SWM5 goes away. :D

Richard -- DirecTV since '97
Team SETI.USA

 


#29 OFFLINE   DBSNewbie

DBSNewbie

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 807 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2007

Posted 27 May 2010 - 05:39 PM

Very informative.

However, I do have a question:

In the chart that outlines the number of tuners, it shows that the switch for MRV with DECA for more than 16 requires a "complicated" solution.

Would it be possible to combine a DECA setup with an Ethernet setup so that a combination of receivers totaling more than 16 tuners can "see" each other.

If so, would the receivers on DECA be supported by D*?
Slimline, WB616 (2), SWM8 (2), OTA, MRV (U)
Den: Sony KDS-60A3000 -> HR20-700; Sony KDL-40S2000 (5) -> HR20-700 (2) & HR20-100 (3)
Master Bed: Kuro PDP-5020FD -> HR34-700
Master Bath: Sony KDL-26S3000 + PSP -> HR24-200
Daughter's: Sony KDL-40W3000 -> HR20-700
Son's: Sony KDL-40W3000 -> HR24-500
Kitchen: Sharp 20" -> H24-700
Guest: Sharp 20" -> H20-100
Patio: SunbriteTV 3220 -> H25-500
Living Room: Sony 42" XBR Plasma -> HR20-100

Diagram of Setup

#30 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,384 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 27 May 2010 - 06:02 PM

Grentz has done a very nice job of proactively answering many of the questions pertaining to Whole Home DVR service in the first couple of posts, as well as provide solid base information on configuration and device compatibility.

RobertE has added some quality information as well on this topic.

Nice work gentlemen!
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#31 OFFLINE   Grentz

Grentz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5,916 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 28 May 2010 - 03:06 PM

In the chart that outlines the number of tuners, it shows that the switch for MRV with DECA for more than 16 requires a "complicated" solution.

Would it be possible to combine a DECA setup with an Ethernet setup so that a combination of receivers totaling more than 16 tuners can "see" each other.

Yes

If so, would the receivers on DECA be supported by D*?

I honestly don't know, the ones on ethernet obviously would not be supported, and I would tend to think the whole setup would be unsupported since the ethernet clients could effect the DECA clients in DirecTV's view.


/\/\/\/\/\
-Grentz
Subscriber since Oct. 1996
HR21-700, HR22-100, H24-100 (SWM)
~Detailed Setup~

Directv Signal Strength Posting Tool - Excel Ver. Web Ver.

#32 OFFLINE   sonofcool

sonofcool

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2007

Posted 29 May 2010 - 11:38 PM

Thank you Grentz. Although MRV is working fine on my home network, DirecTV is doing the DECA conversion (for free) next Friday. This gives me a good idea of what they are about to do.

#33 OFFLINE   ddruker

ddruker

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2007

Posted 31 May 2010 - 11:48 PM

One possible addition - I was in the MRV beta for the last year or so. When I called to get MRV turned back on after the national rollout, I was told by two CSRs I had to switch to a new monthly programming package to be eligible. I'm on an older plan that's less expensive than the current programming packages. I spent about 30 minutes bouncing between reps on the phone with no luck.

It took a quick transfer to the customer retention team who not only turned MRV back on, they did it for free.

#34 OFFLINE   wilbur_the_goose

wilbur_the_goose

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,426 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 04 June 2010 - 11:37 AM

With DECA, does each receiver still need to have two cables wired to the dish?

I currently have a 5LNB dish without SWiM and 2 HR20-700's, each of which is getting two inputs from the dish.

Both HR20-700's are hooked together with my old cable TV coax so I can watch the "downstairs" box from upstairs. Granted, it's not HD or stereo, but it does work.

#35 OFFLINE   barryb

barryb

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,937 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 04 June 2010 - 11:39 AM

With DECA, does each receiver still need to have two cables wired to the dish?

I currently have a 5LNB dish without SWiM and 2 HR20-700's, each of which is getting two inputs from the dish.

Both HR20-700's are hooked together with my old cable TV coax so I can watch the "downstairs" box from upstairs. Granted, it's not HD or stereo, but it does work.


You will need to switch to a SWiM setup for DECA to work.
Barry
MY SETUP
You can usually find me helping out in the Quiet Room on Friday chat night.

#36 OFFLINE   wilbur_the_goose

wilbur_the_goose

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,426 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 04 June 2010 - 12:26 PM

barryb, SWiM - understood.

How does SWiM differ in its connectivity to the HR20's?

#37 OFFLINE   barryb

barryb

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,937 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 04 June 2010 - 12:28 PM

barryb, SWiM - understood.

How does SWiM differ in its connectivity to the HR20's?


Single wire instead of two. Makes installations easy, and in some cases "turn-key" as many houses have been wired for a single COAX.

Adding in the DECA modules makes MRV a snap, and with an existing home (internet) router: adding another DECA can link your internet connection to your receivers (again, over the same single COAX), and will then provide services such as VOD and TvAPPs.

Edited by barryb, 04 June 2010 - 12:36 PM.

Barry
MY SETUP
You can usually find me helping out in the Quiet Room on Friday chat night.

#38 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,343 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 04 June 2010 - 12:28 PM

barryb, SWiM - understood.

How does SWiM differ in its connectivity to the HR20's?


1 wire and no more BBCs on SWM with your HR20.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#39 OFFLINE   barryb

barryb

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,937 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 04 June 2010 - 12:32 PM

Wilbur: in the case of an HR20, a DECA module would be needed on the back of the receiver. If you wanted to add internet connectivity.. another DECA.

Add in the SWiM (and installation time): your best bet is to call DirecTV and have them install it as its a flat-rate for hardware and install.
Barry
MY SETUP
You can usually find me helping out in the Quiet Room on Friday chat night.

#40 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 04 June 2010 - 05:34 PM

For those of us who had been successfully running home network based MRV, and have since switched to SWM/DECA (which I did today). How can we confirm that we have been switched from "unsupported" to "supported" ?

The CSR I talked to was clueless.
...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#41 OFFLINE   dgilman

dgilman

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: May 27, 2006

Posted 05 June 2010 - 04:27 PM

Hey. Quick question. After exhaustive searching with no results I was wondering how do I go about adding a room to my Whole House DVR. I currently have 2 rooms installed and am very happy. Would DTV installer do it or would they send me an HD receiver and DECA. Thanks in advance.

#42 OFFLINE   wilbur_the_goose

wilbur_the_goose

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,426 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 06 June 2010 - 06:18 AM

dgilman,
I want to add to your question - I currently have a 3rd TV (SDTV) in the bedroom that I have hooked up to my (former) cable TV coax, who's source is my basement's HR20. Works great with the RF controller.

Seeing how DECA uses the "cable TV coax", would I lose use of my upstairs TV?

#43 OFFLINE   barryb

barryb

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,937 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 06 June 2010 - 07:36 AM

For those of us who had been successfully running home network based MRV, and have since switched to SWM/DECA (which I did today). How can we confirm that we have been switched from "unsupported" to "supported" ?


That should have happened automatically when you called in for your "whole home solution" install.

Note: after the installers left my house I went online to my DirecTV account and added in the service. The install is a separate gig than the service. This can be done online or over the phone.
Barry
MY SETUP
You can usually find me helping out in the Quiet Room on Friday chat night.

#44 OFFLINE   jrcobb

jrcobb

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2009

Posted 06 June 2010 - 09:07 AM

with this setup if am21 is on one reciever will the other recievers pick up the ota channels

#45 OFFLINE   barryb

barryb

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,937 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 06 June 2010 - 09:21 AM

with this setup if am21 is on one reciever will the other recievers pick up the ota channels


No. You would need an AM21 on each receiver, unless a particular receiver has a built in tuner.

"Whole Home DVR service", or MRV does not stream live content in any way to another receiver. Only recorded content.
Barry
MY SETUP
You can usually find me helping out in the Quiet Room on Friday chat night.

#46 OFFLINE   rqman52

rqman52

    Duplicate User (Account Closed)

  • Banned User
  • 8 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2010

Posted 06 June 2010 - 09:21 AM

Why on a 2nd HD-DVR can you not schedule recordings on another DVR remotely but on a regular HD one you can ?

#47 OFFLINE   barryb

barryb

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,937 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 06 June 2010 - 09:23 AM

Why on a 2nd HD-DVR can you not schedule recordings on another DVR remotely but on a regular HD one you can ?


Hopefully this comes forth in time, its just not available right now. ;)
Barry
MY SETUP
You can usually find me helping out in the Quiet Room on Friday chat night.

#48 OFFLINE   jrcobb

jrcobb

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2009

Posted 06 June 2010 - 10:12 AM

Can you have two recievers in the same room

#49 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 06 June 2010 - 10:22 AM

Can you have two recievers in the same room


Yes, just put one on IR and one of RF, or use two separate IR codes (I believe there are 8 to choose from). I have mine set up this way, so I can watch two sports events at once on two monitors.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#50 OFFLINE   jrcobb

jrcobb

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2009

Posted 06 June 2010 - 11:44 AM

Thanks,
Just bought the HR24 but thinking about keeping my HR20




Protected By... spam firewall...And...