Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Whole Home DVR Service Information and FAQ


  • Please log in to reply
502 replies to this topic

#151 OFFLINE   bubbagumper6

bubbagumper6

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2010

Posted 11 November 2010 - 06:27 AM

Well I unplugged the ethernet cable from my router last night but I still couldn't get it to work....didn't have a lot of time to mess with it though so I'll try and figure it out tonight. I guess the only thing the ethernet cable was needed for was for media server stuff and I hated the way that worked on my DVR anyway so I only use my PS3 for that now.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#152 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 11 November 2010 - 09:28 AM

Well I unplugged the ethernet cable from my router last night but I still couldn't get it to work....didn't have a lot of time to mess with it though so I'll try and figure it out tonight. I guess the only thing the ethernet cable was needed for was for media server stuff and I hated the way that worked on my DVR anyway so I only use my PS3 for that now.


After you unplug the ethernet cable, you need to Reset Network Settings so that it will revert to using DECA instead of ethernet. That will also reset the IP address of the receiver to its internal IP address.

Also, can you confirm that you have an HR24 and H24? If you don't know what you have, press and hold the Info button for 3 seconds so the Setup Info screen comes on. You should see your receiver model and manufacturer numbers.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#153 OFFLINE   MISpat

MISpat

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2009

Posted 11 November 2010 - 10:42 AM

EDIT: I've got an HR22 (HD DVR) and an H23 (SD receiver).


I'm a little confused here. I am 99% certain that model H23 is an HD receiver, but you've mentioned twice that it's an SD receiver. Can you verify the model# and post back? I don't know of any SD receivers that will let you watch programs from your HD-DVR. But if it's the model# you stated, then it should allow you to network them together for whole-home DVR.
Patrick

Dish type – SWM3 LNB, 2 HR24-500, H23-600, Whole Home w/ broadband DECA (CCK)

#154 OFFLINE   bubbagumper6

bubbagumper6

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2010

Posted 11 November 2010 - 02:03 PM

Yes I have an HR22 and an H23 which I realize now is an HD receiver. However I did not ask for it to be an HD receiver, nor am I paying for it to be, so that's why I thought it was an SD receiver...guess I just got lucky and they were out of the SD receivers at the time? Anyway, the reason I know those are the models is because I looked at the front corner of the receiver, down by where the little card sticks in, there's a sticker and it has the model number on them. I didn't reset the network settings yet so I'll do that when I get home :)

thanks

#155 OFFLINE   MISpat

MISpat

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2009

Posted 11 November 2010 - 02:27 PM

They may have just given it to you at no cost because I believe the current new customer offer is one HD-DVR and one HD receiver. In any case, at least we know you have the right equipment for whole-home.
Patrick

Dish type – SWM3 LNB, 2 HR24-500, H23-600, Whole Home w/ broadband DECA (CCK)

#156 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,486 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 11 November 2010 - 02:30 PM

If you don't know what you have, press and hold the Info button for 3 seconds so the Setup Info screen comes on. You should see your receiver model and manufacturer numbers.
- Merg


MERG, I didn't know that you can Press and Hold the Info Button and get the Info Screen that way.

How Quick and Easy is that to do???

Great Little Tip!!! Thanks.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#157 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 11 November 2010 - 04:14 PM

Yes I have an HR22 and an H23 which I realize now is an HD receiver. However I did not ask for it to be an HD receiver, nor am I paying for it to be, so that's why I thought it was an SD receiver...guess I just got lucky and they were out of the SD receivers at the time? Anyway, the reason I know those are the models is because I looked at the front corner of the receiver, down by where the little card sticks in, there's a sticker and it has the model number on them. I didn't reset the network settings yet so I'll do that when I get home :)

thanks


Okay. I missed where you stated what receivers you have. With your setup, you would need an ethernet cable connected to each receiver from your router OR you need to have DECAs attached behind each receiver. If you wanted to go the DIY route for the latter, you will need to purchase 2 DECAs, 2 small coax patch cables, and 2 ethernet patch cables. That will get you up an running with MRV.

MERG, I didn't know that you can Press and Hold the Info Button and get the Info Screen that way.

How Quick and Easy is that to do???

Great Little Tip!!! Thanks.


Yup. Very quick and easy. (well, 3 seconds quick :))

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#158 OFFLINE   bubbagumper6

bubbagumper6

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2010

Posted 11 November 2010 - 04:38 PM

Okay. I missed where you stated what receivers you have. With your setup, you would need an ethernet cable connected to each receiver from your router OR you need to have DECAs attached behind each receiver. If you wanted to go the DIY route for the latter, you will need to purchase 2 DECAs, 2 small coax patch cables, and 2 ethernet patch cables. That will get you up an running with MRV.


Awesome...so when they said "Your setup is already ready for Whole Home DVR" what they really meant was "Your setup is ready except for the part where you have to buy more things and run cables".

How expensive is the DECA route? I'd rather not have to run an ethernet cable all the way to the bedroom if I can avoid it...


EDIT: Actually, instead of screwing around with the DECA stuff, I think I'm just going to buy a wireless gaming adapter and use that to connect the bedroom receiver...that will work, correct?

Edited by bubbagumper6, 11 November 2010 - 05:10 PM.


#159 OFFLINE   MISpat

MISpat

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2009

Posted 12 November 2010 - 10:19 AM

EDIT: Actually, instead of screwing around with the DECA stuff, I think I'm just going to buy a wireless gaming adapter and use that to connect the bedroom receiver...that will work, correct?


I'll let someone else who's tried wireless comment on whether or not it would work but I'll just throw in that I think you'd be better off with hard wired because you are sending high definition video so the extra speed would be well worth it. Even with the DECA setup, rewind and fast forward is sluggish so I can only imagine it would be worse with wireless.

Didn't you say that you just had a new installation though? I am surprised that they didn't do the whole home installation when they performed the entire install, I thought that was standard now if you ask for it when you sign up. If you have to do it after the fact, they charge $149 to do the DECA install with broadband DECA as well (something you'd need with DECA if you want your receivers connected to the internet as well)
Patrick

Dish type – SWM3 LNB, 2 HR24-500, H23-600, Whole Home w/ broadband DECA (CCK)

#160 OFFLINE   bubbagumper6

bubbagumper6

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2010

Posted 12 November 2010 - 11:15 AM

I'll let someone else who's tried wireless comment on whether or not it would work but I'll just throw in that I think you'd be better off with hard wired because you are sending high definition video so the extra speed would be well worth it. Even with the DECA setup, rewind and fast forward is sluggish so I can only imagine it would be worse with wireless.

Didn't you say that you just had a new installation though? I am surprised that they didn't do the whole home installation when they performed the entire install, I thought that was standard now if you ask for it when you sign up. If you have to do it after the fact, they charge $149 to do the DECA install with broadband DECA as well (something you'd need with DECA if you want your receivers connected to the internet as well)


Well I secured a router for a whopping $17 so I'm going to bridge it for the bedroom, I'll report back with my results. If it doesn't work I'm just going to call Directv and have them cancel the whole home dvr. It's pretty ****ty that it said on the website my setup was ready for the service yet it's obviously not.

#161 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,486 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 November 2010 - 12:51 PM

EDIT: Actually, instead of screwing around with the DECA stuff, I think I'm just going to buy a wireless gaming adapter and use that to connect the bedroom receiver...that will work, correct?


I've got 4 "N" Speed WGA600N Gaming Adapters for sale that were only used for about 3 months until I went the DECA Route. Let me know if you want to buy one or all of them.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#162 OFFLINE   bubbagumper6

bubbagumper6

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2010

Posted 12 November 2010 - 03:43 PM

I've got 4 "N" Speed WGA600N Gaming Adapters for sale that were only used for about 3 months until I went the DECA Route. Let me know if you want to buy one or all of them.


See my last post. I got a router to bridge, thanks anyway :)

#163 OFFLINE   MISpat

MISpat

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2009

Posted 12 November 2010 - 09:09 PM

It's pretty ****ty that it said on the website my setup was ready for the service yet it's obviously not.


Did you ask them for it when you signed up for service? Regardless, if you just had your initial install done, I'd call them back and ask why it wasn't set up on your install and if they can come back to fix that. I've had pretty good luck with them doing the right thing for me since I signed up over a year ago (although I did need to speak to the retention dept a couple of times, even though I had no intention of cancelling service)
Patrick

Dish type – SWM3 LNB, 2 HR24-500, H23-600, Whole Home w/ broadband DECA (CCK)

#164 OFFLINE   mjm76

mjm76

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2006

Posted 13 November 2010 - 02:34 PM

I am considering getting MRV installed in my home but I have several questions/concerns about MRV.

1. I currently have two HD DVRs and two HD receivers. If I got MRV and were to record 2 shows on each of my HD DVRs, how does this affect what I can watch on my other two HD receivers? For example could I still watch live TV on each of these receivers or would me recording 4 shows at one time on the other two HD DVRs limit me to watching only some other previously recorded show?
2. Also if the same scenario existed above ( 4 recordings being done), does this mean that I would not be able to pause live TV on my 2 HD receivers since 4 recordings are occuring?

3. My other concern is how would getting whole home DVR affect my current wireless setup on my HR24-500? I currently have it connected to the internet wirelessly so I could do on demand if I wanted to.

Thanks for any feed back anyone can give me. :)

Edited by mjm76, 13 November 2010 - 04:45 PM.
spelling


#165 OFFLINE   MISpat

MISpat

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2009

Posted 14 November 2010 - 01:17 AM

I am considering getting MRV installed in my home but I have several questions/concerns about MRV.

1. I currently have two HD DVRs and two HD receivers. If I got MRV and were to record 2 shows on each of my HD DVRs, how does this affect what I can watch on my other two HD receivers? For example could I still watch live TV on each of these receivers or would me recording 4 shows at one time on the other two HD DVRs limit me to watching only some other previously recorded show?
2. Also if the same scenario existed above ( 4 recordings being done), does this mean that I would not be able to pause live TV on my 2 HD receivers since 4 recordings are occuring?

3. My other concern is how would getting whole home DVR affect my current wireless setup on my HR24-500? I currently have it connected to the internet wirelessly so I could do on demand if I wanted to.

Thanks for any feed back anyone can give me. :)


1. There would be no effect on what you can watch on your two HD receivers. You could either watch live TV, or a recorded program stored on one of the two HDDVRs.

2. As it is currently without MRV, you would not be able to pause live TV on your HD receivers regardless of what's being recorded or not being recorded on the HDDVRs. But if you want to simulate the effect of being able to pause live TV on the HD receiver, you can tell it to record the program you're watching to one of the HDDVRs (you can do this right from the HD rcvr) and then play it back via MRV.

3. Make sure when you signup for MRV that you tell them you need it with internet connectivity. Your wireless setup will no longer be needed. A DECA will be connected to your router and then internet functions such as on demand will go through your MRV/DECA setup. It will be faster since you'll be using a hard wire instead of wireless.

With the 4 receivers you have, you've got a great setup for MRV... you won't need to purchase any hardware outside of what's included in the $149 installation charge. I say go for it!
Patrick

Dish type – SWM3 LNB, 2 HR24-500, H23-600, Whole Home w/ broadband DECA (CCK)

#166 OFFLINE   mjm76

mjm76

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2006

Posted 14 November 2010 - 11:48 AM

MISpat (Patrick),

Thanks for the information. It is very helpful.

#167 OFFLINE   bubbagumper6

bubbagumper6

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2010

Posted 15 November 2010 - 07:42 AM

Did you ask them for it when you signed up for service? Regardless, if you just had your initial install done, I'd call them back and ask why it wasn't set up on your install and if they can come back to fix that. I've had pretty good luck with them doing the right thing for me since I signed up over a year ago (although I did need to speak to the retention dept a couple of times, even though I had no intention of cancelling service)


Well I had to email them about a separate issue but I figured since I was on the customer service page I might as well ask them about the whole home DVR thing. The first person that responded forwarded me to a "specialist", and this specialist basically said that my original installation was supposed to have the equipment (I'm assuming the DECA stuff) and that I should call them to schedule an appointment to get the stuff installed. I emailed him back asking if this was going to cost me anything (which hopefully it won't). But it looks like they may be coming back to put the stuff in :)


I just hope it's not the same installer we had the first time...he was kind of a d-bag

#168 OFFLINE   549

549

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2007

Posted 15 November 2010 - 11:35 AM

I've been thinking about getting this installed for while. Just have a few questions that maybe you guys can help out with:

1. I have an HR21 & HR22. What other equipment is going to be needed?

2. What exactly do they need to do to set up the MVR? (How do they connect the boxes, wireless, new lines, etc)

3. Is trick play less responsive when using the MVR? (Does 30 second skip / instant replay / FFW - RWD work at the same speed it does now)

#169 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 15 November 2010 - 01:51 PM

MISpat (Patrick),

Thanks for the information. It is very helpful.


Just an FYI, but the MRV upgrade is now $199 and should include the Cinema Connection Kit (Internet Connection Kit).

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#170 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,486 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 November 2010 - 01:52 PM

Just an FYI, but the MRV upgrade is now $199 and should include the Cinema Connection Kit (Internet Connection Kit).

- Merg


Wow, that's a Deal!!! :hurah:
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#171 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 15 November 2010 - 01:55 PM

I've been thinking about getting this installed for while. Just have a few questions that maybe you guys can help out with:

1. I have an HR21 & HR22. What other equipment is going to be needed?

2. What exactly do they need to do to set up the MVR? (How do they connect the boxes, wireless, new lines, etc)

3. Is trick play less responsive when using the MVR? (Does 30 second skip / instant replay / FFW - RWD work at the same speed it does now)


1. It all depends on what your current setup is. Do you currently have one or two lines going to each of your DVR's? Do you have either of them connected to the Internet. Your best bet would be to call up DirecTV and ask about the Whole Home DVR Upgrade with Cinema Connection Kit. Currently the price is $199 and includes all the hardware and installation necessary to get you going.

2. The receivers will be connected via a single coax. Since you have an HR21 and HR22, there will be a little box installed behind the receivers that the single coax will go to. From the DECA, a coax and an ethernet cable will go to the receiver. You might need a new LNB installed on your dish and a new splitter installed where the cable comes into your house. Once again, without knowing your full setup, I can't say for sure.

3. Trickplay is very close to what you have while sitting in front of the receiver.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#172 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 15 November 2010 - 01:57 PM

Well I had to email them about a separate issue but I figured since I was on the customer service page I might as well ask them about the whole home DVR thing. The first person that responded forwarded me to a "specialist", and this specialist basically said that my original installation was supposed to have the equipment (I'm assuming the DECA stuff) and that I should call them to schedule an appointment to get the stuff installed. I emailed him back asking if this was going to cost me anything (which hopefully it won't). But it looks like they may be coming back to put the stuff in :)


I just hope it's not the same installer we had the first time...he was kind of a d-bag


What does your original order list as line items as to what was supposed to be installed? If you post that, we can tell you if you got short-changed. You should be able to see it under your Orders on your on-line account.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#173 OFFLINE   bubbagumper6

bubbagumper6

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2010

Posted 15 November 2010 - 02:19 PM

What does your original order list as line items as to what was supposed to be installed? If you post that, we can tell you if you got short-changed. You should be able to see it under your Orders on your on-line account.

- Merg


Actually I asked them to just ship me the equipment and they agreed. (for free). She said she was sending me 2 deca adapters but I believe I would need a third for the router (to insert internet into the system) correct? So I asked about the third and also about the power inserters and filters...just want to make sure they send me everything I need!

EDIT: They emailed me back and said all I need is the two DECA's (one for each receiver) so it looks like I have to buy a third for the router?

Edited by bubbagumper6, 15 November 2010 - 06:32 PM.


#174 OFFLINE   549

549

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2007

Posted 16 November 2010 - 10:51 AM

1. It all depends on what your current setup is. Do you currently have one or two lines going to each of your DVR's? Do you have either of them connected to the Internet. Your best bet would be to call up DirecTV and ask about the Whole Home DVR Upgrade with Cinema Connection Kit. Currently the price is $199 and includes all the hardware and installation necessary to get you going.

2. The receivers will be connected via a single coax. Since you have an HR21 and HR22, there will be a little box installed behind the receivers that the single coax will go to. From the DECA, a coax and an ethernet cable will go to the receiver. You might need a new LNB installed on your dish and a new splitter installed where the cable comes into your house. Once again, without knowing your full setup, I can't say for sure.

3. Trickplay is very close to what you have while sitting in front of the receiver.

- Merg


Thanks Merg

I have 2 lines running to each box and they are not connected to the internet.

So are you saying there is a slight delay in the trickplay?

#175 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 16 November 2010 - 02:11 PM

Thanks Merg

I have 2 lines running to each box and they are not connected to the internet.

So are you saying there is a slight delay in the trickplay?


With your setup, they will replace your dish LNB and run one line into your house. They will replace your multi-switch, if you have one, with a splitter and use one line for each receiver. If you have the ethernet hooked up to one of your receivers, they can use the current second line for a Broadband DECA to connect both receivers up to the Internet.

As for TrickPlay, I really never notice a difference between local and remote viewing. The biggest delay I see is when I first start to play a remote recording, but that is only a second or so more than normal.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom





Protected By... spam firewall...And...