Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Whole Home DVR Service Information and FAQ


  • Please log in to reply
493 replies to this topic

#161 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,459 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 November 2010 - 12:51 PM

EDIT: Actually, instead of screwing around with the DECA stuff, I think I'm just going to buy a wireless gaming adapter and use that to connect the bedroom receiver...that will work, correct?


I've got 4 "N" Speed WGA600N Gaming Adapters for sale that were only used for about 3 months until I went the DECA Route. Let me know if you want to buy one or all of them.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#162 OFFLINE   bubbagumper6

bubbagumper6

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2010

Posted 12 November 2010 - 03:43 PM

I've got 4 "N" Speed WGA600N Gaming Adapters for sale that were only used for about 3 months until I went the DECA Route. Let me know if you want to buy one or all of them.


See my last post. I got a router to bridge, thanks anyway :)

#163 OFFLINE   MISpat

MISpat

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2009

Posted 12 November 2010 - 09:09 PM

It's pretty ****ty that it said on the website my setup was ready for the service yet it's obviously not.


Did you ask them for it when you signed up for service? Regardless, if you just had your initial install done, I'd call them back and ask why it wasn't set up on your install and if they can come back to fix that. I've had pretty good luck with them doing the right thing for me since I signed up over a year ago (although I did need to speak to the retention dept a couple of times, even though I had no intention of cancelling service)
Patrick

Dish type – SWM3 LNB, 2 HR24-500, H23-600, Whole Home w/ broadband DECA (CCK)

#164 OFFLINE   mjm76

mjm76

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 127 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2006

Posted 13 November 2010 - 02:34 PM

I am considering getting MRV installed in my home but I have several questions/concerns about MRV.

1. I currently have two HD DVRs and two HD receivers. If I got MRV and were to record 2 shows on each of my HD DVRs, how does this affect what I can watch on my other two HD receivers? For example could I still watch live TV on each of these receivers or would me recording 4 shows at one time on the other two HD DVRs limit me to watching only some other previously recorded show?
2. Also if the same scenario existed above ( 4 recordings being done), does this mean that I would not be able to pause live TV on my 2 HD receivers since 4 recordings are occuring?

3. My other concern is how would getting whole home DVR affect my current wireless setup on my HR24-500? I currently have it connected to the internet wirelessly so I could do on demand if I wanted to.

Thanks for any feed back anyone can give me. :)

Edited by mjm76, 13 November 2010 - 04:45 PM.
spelling


#165 OFFLINE   MISpat

MISpat

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2009

Posted 14 November 2010 - 01:17 AM

I am considering getting MRV installed in my home but I have several questions/concerns about MRV.

1. I currently have two HD DVRs and two HD receivers. If I got MRV and were to record 2 shows on each of my HD DVRs, how does this affect what I can watch on my other two HD receivers? For example could I still watch live TV on each of these receivers or would me recording 4 shows at one time on the other two HD DVRs limit me to watching only some other previously recorded show?
2. Also if the same scenario existed above ( 4 recordings being done), does this mean that I would not be able to pause live TV on my 2 HD receivers since 4 recordings are occuring?

3. My other concern is how would getting whole home DVR affect my current wireless setup on my HR24-500? I currently have it connected to the internet wirelessly so I could do on demand if I wanted to.

Thanks for any feed back anyone can give me. :)


1. There would be no effect on what you can watch on your two HD receivers. You could either watch live TV, or a recorded program stored on one of the two HDDVRs.

2. As it is currently without MRV, you would not be able to pause live TV on your HD receivers regardless of what's being recorded or not being recorded on the HDDVRs. But if you want to simulate the effect of being able to pause live TV on the HD receiver, you can tell it to record the program you're watching to one of the HDDVRs (you can do this right from the HD rcvr) and then play it back via MRV.

3. Make sure when you signup for MRV that you tell them you need it with internet connectivity. Your wireless setup will no longer be needed. A DECA will be connected to your router and then internet functions such as on demand will go through your MRV/DECA setup. It will be faster since you'll be using a hard wire instead of wireless.

With the 4 receivers you have, you've got a great setup for MRV... you won't need to purchase any hardware outside of what's included in the $149 installation charge. I say go for it!
Patrick

Dish type – SWM3 LNB, 2 HR24-500, H23-600, Whole Home w/ broadband DECA (CCK)

#166 OFFLINE   mjm76

mjm76

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 127 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2006

Posted 14 November 2010 - 11:48 AM

MISpat (Patrick),

Thanks for the information. It is very helpful.

#167 OFFLINE   bubbagumper6

bubbagumper6

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2010

Posted 15 November 2010 - 07:42 AM

Did you ask them for it when you signed up for service? Regardless, if you just had your initial install done, I'd call them back and ask why it wasn't set up on your install and if they can come back to fix that. I've had pretty good luck with them doing the right thing for me since I signed up over a year ago (although I did need to speak to the retention dept a couple of times, even though I had no intention of cancelling service)


Well I had to email them about a separate issue but I figured since I was on the customer service page I might as well ask them about the whole home DVR thing. The first person that responded forwarded me to a "specialist", and this specialist basically said that my original installation was supposed to have the equipment (I'm assuming the DECA stuff) and that I should call them to schedule an appointment to get the stuff installed. I emailed him back asking if this was going to cost me anything (which hopefully it won't). But it looks like they may be coming back to put the stuff in :)


I just hope it's not the same installer we had the first time...he was kind of a d-bag

#168 OFFLINE   549

549

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2007

Posted 15 November 2010 - 11:35 AM

I've been thinking about getting this installed for while. Just have a few questions that maybe you guys can help out with:

1. I have an HR21 & HR22. What other equipment is going to be needed?

2. What exactly do they need to do to set up the MVR? (How do they connect the boxes, wireless, new lines, etc)

3. Is trick play less responsive when using the MVR? (Does 30 second skip / instant replay / FFW - RWD work at the same speed it does now)

#169 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,225 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 15 November 2010 - 01:51 PM

MISpat (Patrick),

Thanks for the information. It is very helpful.


Just an FYI, but the MRV upgrade is now $199 and should include the Cinema Connection Kit (Internet Connection Kit).

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#170 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,459 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 November 2010 - 01:52 PM

Just an FYI, but the MRV upgrade is now $199 and should include the Cinema Connection Kit (Internet Connection Kit).

- Merg


Wow, that's a Deal!!! :hurah:
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#171 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,225 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 15 November 2010 - 01:55 PM

I've been thinking about getting this installed for while. Just have a few questions that maybe you guys can help out with:

1. I have an HR21 & HR22. What other equipment is going to be needed?

2. What exactly do they need to do to set up the MVR? (How do they connect the boxes, wireless, new lines, etc)

3. Is trick play less responsive when using the MVR? (Does 30 second skip / instant replay / FFW - RWD work at the same speed it does now)


1. It all depends on what your current setup is. Do you currently have one or two lines going to each of your DVR's? Do you have either of them connected to the Internet. Your best bet would be to call up DirecTV and ask about the Whole Home DVR Upgrade with Cinema Connection Kit. Currently the price is $199 and includes all the hardware and installation necessary to get you going.

2. The receivers will be connected via a single coax. Since you have an HR21 and HR22, there will be a little box installed behind the receivers that the single coax will go to. From the DECA, a coax and an ethernet cable will go to the receiver. You might need a new LNB installed on your dish and a new splitter installed where the cable comes into your house. Once again, without knowing your full setup, I can't say for sure.

3. Trickplay is very close to what you have while sitting in front of the receiver.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#172 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,225 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 15 November 2010 - 01:57 PM

Well I had to email them about a separate issue but I figured since I was on the customer service page I might as well ask them about the whole home DVR thing. The first person that responded forwarded me to a "specialist", and this specialist basically said that my original installation was supposed to have the equipment (I'm assuming the DECA stuff) and that I should call them to schedule an appointment to get the stuff installed. I emailed him back asking if this was going to cost me anything (which hopefully it won't). But it looks like they may be coming back to put the stuff in :)


I just hope it's not the same installer we had the first time...he was kind of a d-bag


What does your original order list as line items as to what was supposed to be installed? If you post that, we can tell you if you got short-changed. You should be able to see it under your Orders on your on-line account.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#173 OFFLINE   bubbagumper6

bubbagumper6

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2010

Posted 15 November 2010 - 02:19 PM

What does your original order list as line items as to what was supposed to be installed? If you post that, we can tell you if you got short-changed. You should be able to see it under your Orders on your on-line account.

- Merg


Actually I asked them to just ship me the equipment and they agreed. (for free). She said she was sending me 2 deca adapters but I believe I would need a third for the router (to insert internet into the system) correct? So I asked about the third and also about the power inserters and filters...just want to make sure they send me everything I need!

EDIT: They emailed me back and said all I need is the two DECA's (one for each receiver) so it looks like I have to buy a third for the router?

Edited by bubbagumper6, 15 November 2010 - 06:32 PM.


#174 OFFLINE   549

549

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2007

Posted 16 November 2010 - 10:51 AM

1. It all depends on what your current setup is. Do you currently have one or two lines going to each of your DVR's? Do you have either of them connected to the Internet. Your best bet would be to call up DirecTV and ask about the Whole Home DVR Upgrade with Cinema Connection Kit. Currently the price is $199 and includes all the hardware and installation necessary to get you going.

2. The receivers will be connected via a single coax. Since you have an HR21 and HR22, there will be a little box installed behind the receivers that the single coax will go to. From the DECA, a coax and an ethernet cable will go to the receiver. You might need a new LNB installed on your dish and a new splitter installed where the cable comes into your house. Once again, without knowing your full setup, I can't say for sure.

3. Trickplay is very close to what you have while sitting in front of the receiver.

- Merg


Thanks Merg

I have 2 lines running to each box and they are not connected to the internet.

So are you saying there is a slight delay in the trickplay?

#175 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,225 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 16 November 2010 - 02:11 PM

Thanks Merg

I have 2 lines running to each box and they are not connected to the internet.

So are you saying there is a slight delay in the trickplay?


With your setup, they will replace your dish LNB and run one line into your house. They will replace your multi-switch, if you have one, with a splitter and use one line for each receiver. If you have the ethernet hooked up to one of your receivers, they can use the current second line for a Broadband DECA to connect both receivers up to the Internet.

As for TrickPlay, I really never notice a difference between local and remote viewing. The biggest delay I see is when I first start to play a remote recording, but that is only a second or so more than normal.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#176 OFFLINE   bubbagumper6

bubbagumper6

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2010

Posted 17 November 2010 - 12:30 PM

Well I got my DECA adapters today, hooked them up and had it working within 5 minutes :)

Why the tech didn't put them in during my initial install is beyond me...but I do have a question, I didn't need any filters or power inserters...and they didn't send me one for my router. What does this mean? Does this mean I can't do VOD now or what? Basically what I'm asking is now that neither of my receivers are connected to the internet, what features will I not be able to use?

#177 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,225 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 17 November 2010 - 12:32 PM

Well I got my DECA adapters today, hooked them up and had it working within 5 minutes :)

Why the tech didn't put them in during my initial install is beyond me...but I do have a question, I didn't need any filters or power inserters...and they didn't send me one for my router. What does this mean? Does this mean I can't do VOD now or what? Basically what I'm asking is now that neither of my receivers are connected to the internet, what features will I not be able to use?


If you don't have a DECA to connect the DECA cloud to your router, you will not have access to VOD, PPV ordering via the Internet, MediaShare, or DirecTV2PC.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#178 OFFLINE   MISpat

MISpat

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2009

Posted 17 November 2010 - 12:50 PM

So are you saying there is a slight delay in the trickplay?


I notice a clear difference in performance with trickplay, rewind, and fast forward when watching remote recordings (both are HR24s with DECA built in). The 30 second skip takes longer to get there, and the RWD/FFD skips through the picture in chunks at a time (not very smooth) and if I'm going on one of the faster settings (usually when I hit it 4 times) it gives me a hard time coming out of it when I press play.
Patrick

Dish type – SWM3 LNB, 2 HR24-500, H23-600, Whole Home w/ broadband DECA (CCK)

#179 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,183 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 17 November 2010 - 02:49 PM

Anyone using 1080p Cinema movies over MRV? Just wondering if I download a 1080p/24 movie to the bedroom to save on storage space, will it play OK in the living room on the HR24?
65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / TiVo Roamio
 

#180 OFFLINE   bubbagumper6

bubbagumper6

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2010

Posted 17 November 2010 - 02:59 PM

If you don't have a DECA to connect the DECA cloud to your router, you will not have access to VOD, PPV ordering via the Internet, MediaShare, or DirecTV2PC.

- Merg


Is that all I need is one more DECA to connect the cloud to the internet? Won't I also need a power inserter for that DECA? Would I need any of the filters also? Basically I would like to get the "cloud" connected to the net and I'm just trying to figure out exactly what equipment I need to buy.




spam firewall