Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Maximum # of DVR's Shown in Multi-Room Status


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,621 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 26 May 2010 - 05:01 PM

This probably will not affect that many people but I have noticed that only 5 networked DVR's will show up in the MRV status page in the set-up menu.

I have also confirmed this in my H24-100 which will only show 5 networked DVR's.

All recordings that are shared show up in the playlist. This seems kind of strange to me. Is this a limit to the GUI interface? :confused:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   mikeny

mikeny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,914 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 26 May 2010 - 05:56 PM

This probably will not affect that many people but I have noticed that only 5 networked DVR's will show up in the MRV status page in the set-up menu.

I have also confirmed this in my H24-100 which will only show 5 networked DVR's.

All recordings that are shared show up in the playlist. This seems kind of strange to me. Is this a limit to the GUI interface? :confused:


Is it consistent? Which unit doesn't show?
SL3 SWM, 3 HR24-500s, H25-500, DECA

#3 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,565 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 26 May 2010 - 05:58 PM

Can you see all unit's play lists?
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#4 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,827 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 26 May 2010 - 06:16 PM

He's right, only 5 show up here as well. Seems totally random of which show up. But all show up in the playlist.

#5 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,548 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 26 May 2010 - 06:44 PM

What happens when you hit CHANNEL DOWN on the status screen? I'm wondering if the other receivers are there and perhaps only the vertical scroll bar is missing?

Probably not the case, but maybe worth a try, if you haven't already.
/steve

#6 OFFLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,621 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 26 May 2010 - 07:02 PM

What happens when you hit CHANNEL DOWN on the status screen? I'm wondering if the other receivers are there and perhaps only the vertical scroll bar is missing?

Probably not the case, but maybe worth a try, if you haven't already.


Just tried that but it only changes the channel in the PIP window.

It is consistent though. I have 6 DVR's and when I check the status on each one, they all show up. When I check the status on my H24, it is always the same number. I utilize assigned IP's and the one that doesn't show is the highest number.

When I have time, I swap IP's and see if that changes. It's not a big deal as all of the playlists show up.

#7 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,917 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 26 May 2010 - 07:19 PM

I think the limit of MRV servers is 10 DVRs.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#8 OFFLINE   DBSNewbie

DBSNewbie

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 807 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2007

Posted 26 May 2010 - 09:05 PM

I think the limit of MRV servers is 10 DVRs.


With 10 DVRs, that would exceed the 16 tuner limit of a SWiM16. Would the 10 servers only be possible on an Ethernet setup?
Slimline, WB616 (2), SWM8 (2), OTA, MRV (U)
Den: Sony KDS-60A3000 -> HR20-700; Sony KDL-40S2000 (5) -> HR20-700 (2) & HR20-100 (3)
Master Bed: Kuro PDP-5020FD -> HR34-700
Master Bath: Sony KDL-26S3000 + PSP -> HR24-200
Daughter's: Sony KDL-40W3000 -> HR20-700
Son's: Sony KDL-40W3000 -> HR24-500
Kitchen: Sharp 20" -> H24-700
Guest: Sharp 20" -> H20-100
Patio: SunbriteTV 3220 -> H25-500
Living Room: Sony 42" XBR Plasma -> HR20-100

Diagram of Setup

#9 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,917 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 26 May 2010 - 09:11 PM

With 10 DVRs, that would exceed the 16 tuner limit of a SWiM16. Would the 10 servers only be possible on an Ethernet setup?


;) .. actually there are some theoretical ways to make it possible.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#10 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,303 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 26 May 2010 - 10:16 PM

With 10 DVRs, that would exceed the 16 tuner limit of a SWiM16. Would the 10 servers only be possible on an Ethernet setup?


One way would be to only enable one tuner on the DVR's...

Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99





spam firewall