Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Installing the HR24


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   420benz

420benz

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 580 posts
  • LocationGeorgia
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 27 May 2010 - 09:38 AM

I have an HR21[SLOW] I just ordered the HR24 from solid signal for 199.99.Hoe much of a problem to install it ? Is it just a mater of switching plugs? And what must be done after to activate it?
D* HR24-500
DVR R16-300
2 Std. D11-100
Samsung HL-R6167w TV
Onkyo Receiver HT-R340
Samsung DVD-HD 850
Panasonic DMR-ES 35V Combo

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   say-what

say-what

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,687 posts
  • LocationNew Orleans
Joined: Dec 13, 2006

Posted 27 May 2010 - 09:41 AM

You can connect it the same way the HR21 is connected (If you're using bbc's on the HR21, make sure to keep them for the HR24).

The setup routine for the HR24 will get to a screen displaying the reciever ID and access card number and a message to call DirecTV to activate..... everything after that is the same as with the HR21. The HR24 will need a software update (it usually does this automatically, but you can force it) to enable the newer features like double play and MRV.

#3 ONLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,084 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 27 May 2010 - 09:43 AM

I have an HR21[SLOW] I just ordered the HR24 from solid signal for 199.99.Hoe much of a problem to install it ? Is it just a mater of switching plugs? And what must be done after to activate it?


Yep, switch the cables and that's it. Make sure that you use the BBC's that were on your HR21 since the HR24 doesn't come with them (that's if you have the BBC's on the two coax lines).

During the initial setup the box will tell you to call DirecTV (gives you the phone number) and the rep will want to know the receiver ID and last 4 digits of the access card, which are displayed on the screen, and thats it.

After the box completes the initial setup/activation you should make sure that it downloads the latest software level. Go to the setup menus and select reset, then reset receiver. When you get the very first welcome screen enter 0 2 4 6 8 on the remote and no other button, this MUST be done on that 1st screen. If not hit the red reset button behind the door on the rigth front panel and try again, if you do it right you'll see the software download screen, just let it complete and then you can finish the setup for your remote and other preferences.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#4 OFFLINE   judson_west

judson_west

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 27 May 2010 - 09:51 AM

Just went through this a couple of days ago with my HR20. As has been said before, just transfer all of the cables from the old to the new. I didn't do the reset and the 0 2 4 6 8 as the HR24 downloaded the most current national firmware release by itself.
Video/Audio 1: DirecTV HR24-500 (HDMI)-> Sony STR-DA5200ES -> Sony KDL-52XBR9
Video/Audio 2: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-32EX500
Video/Audio 3: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-40EX500

#5 ONLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,084 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 27 May 2010 - 09:55 AM

You can either force the software download or wait for the box to do it.

Either way you might want to hold off on the remote setup since the software that originally comes on the HR24 doesn't know about the 2way remote for programming the two AUX and TV settings. Makes it MUCH easier to let the box assist with the programming.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#6 OFFLINE   judson_west

judson_west

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 27 May 2010 - 09:59 AM

Good point. Since I do not use the DirecTV remote, this wasn't an issue for me. However, it may be an issue for others.
Video/Audio 1: DirecTV HR24-500 (HDMI)-> Sony STR-DA5200ES -> Sony KDL-52XBR9
Video/Audio 2: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-32EX500
Video/Audio 3: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-40EX500

#7 OFFLINE   420benz

420benz

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 580 posts
  • LocationGeorgia
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 27 May 2010 - 03:53 PM

Thanks for all of your help. I am trying to get an HR24-500 but overstock.com is out.I am still working on D*
D* HR24-500
DVR R16-300
2 Std. D11-100
Samsung HL-R6167w TV
Onkyo Receiver HT-R340
Samsung DVD-HD 850
Panasonic DMR-ES 35V Combo

#8 OFFLINE   steinmeg

steinmeg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 169 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2006

Posted 27 May 2010 - 04:10 PM

Yep, switch the cables and that's it. Make sure that you use the BBC's that were on your HR21 since the HR24 doesn't come with them (that's if you have the BBC's on the two coax lines).

During the initial setup the box will tell you to call DirecTV (gives you the phone number) and the rep will want to know the receiver ID and last 4 digits of the access card, which are displayed on the screen, and thats it.

After the box completes the initial setup/activation you should make sure that it downloads the latest software level. Go to the setup menus and select reset, then reset receiver. When you get the very first welcome screen enter 0 2 4 6 8 on the remote and no other button, this MUST be done on that 1st screen. If not hit the red reset button behind the door on the rigth front panel and try again, if you do it right you'll see the software download screen, just let it complete and then you can finish the setup for your remote and other preferences.

The HR 23 does not require BBC's if you use them with the HR 23 you will get a message "searching for satallite" on the HD channels ....I doubt if the 24 require them as well..........

#9 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,117 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 27 May 2010 - 04:13 PM

The HR 23 does not require BBC's if you use them with the HR 23 you will get a message "searching for satallite" on the HD channels ....I doubt if the 24 require them as well..........


The 24 DOES require BBCs if on a non-SWM.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#10 OFFLINE   steinmeg

steinmeg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 169 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2006

Posted 27 May 2010 - 04:18 PM

The 24 DOES require BBCs if on a non-SWM.

The tech told no BBC's needed...I have none connected with my HR 23 and it plays perfectly......

#11 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,117 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 27 May 2010 - 04:23 PM

The tech told no BBC's needed...I have none connected with my HR 23 and it plays perfectly......


The tech lied. The 23 does not require them, that's why yours works. ;)

The 24s need BBC if not on SWM...period.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#12 OFFLINE   420benz

420benz

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 580 posts
  • LocationGeorgia
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 01 June 2010 - 02:04 PM

The tech lied. The 23 does not require them, that's why yours works. ;)

The 24s need BBC if not on SWM...period.


OK: let me get this straight. I have two DVR'S HR23-700 and R16-300. Both have two cables connected to each one. I assume i do not have SWM. So i need two BBC'C 1 on each cable from the new HR24. If this is the case,should i buy them or will D* send me them free?
D* HR24-500
DVR R16-300
2 Std. D11-100
Samsung HL-R6167w TV
Onkyo Receiver HT-R340
Samsung DVD-HD 850
Panasonic DMR-ES 35V Combo

#13 ONLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,084 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 01 June 2010 - 02:18 PM

OK: let me get this straight. I have two DVR'S HR23-700 and R16-300. Both have two cables connected to each one. I assume i do not have SWM. So i need two BBC'C 1 on each cable from the new HR24. If this is the case,should i buy them or will D* send me them free?


If you want to verify SWiM or not go to SETUP, SYSTEM SETUP, INFO & TEST then MORE SYSTEM INFO. On the first screen of the more system info if you have SWiM it will have two lines, SWM Firmware version and SWM Library version.

If you don't have SWiM then yes you need two BBC's for your HR24, call DirecTV and they'll send them to you, should be free, maybe shipping charges.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#14 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,902 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 June 2010 - 02:20 PM

DIRECTV should send them for free.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#15 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,902 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 June 2010 - 02:21 PM

If you want to verify SWiM or not go to SETUP, SYSTEM SETUP, INFO & TEST then MORE SYSTEM INFO. On the first screen of the more system info if you have SWiM it will have two lines, SWM Firmware version and SWM Library version.

If you don't have SWiM then yes you need two BBC's for your HR24, call DirecTV and they'll send them to you, should be free, maybe shipping charges.


I believe if you push the {DASH} button on the remote it will say "SWiM Connected" if you are. If it doesn't, you aren't.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#16 ONLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,084 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 01 June 2010 - 02:27 PM

I believe if you push the {DASH} button on the remote it will say "SWiM Connected" if you are. If it doesn't, you aren't.


Gee, I like doing things the hard way:D

Actually, just forgot about that way.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#17 OFFLINE   420benz

420benz

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 580 posts
  • LocationGeorgia
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 01 June 2010 - 02:56 PM

I believe if you push the {DASH} button on the remote it will say "SWiM Connected" if you are. If it doesn't, you aren't.

Just pressed DASH and got Receiver 907311
Also did what Rad said and i see nothing about SWM or SWIM So i ordered two BBC's from D* and they are free. Thanks for the info.
D* HR24-500
DVR R16-300
2 Std. D11-100
Samsung HL-R6167w TV
Onkyo Receiver HT-R340
Samsung DVD-HD 850
Panasonic DMR-ES 35V Combo

#18 OFFLINE   420benz

420benz

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 580 posts
  • LocationGeorgia
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 02 June 2010 - 03:15 PM

Just received 2 BBC's from D* and i am waiting for the HR24 from Solid Signal to arrive. Since the HR24 did not come from D* but they have already credited my Acct. for 200.00 will it still be covered by my insurance,or is this one my problem?

Edited by 420benz, 02 June 2010 - 08:17 PM.

D* HR24-500
DVR R16-300
2 Std. D11-100
Samsung HL-R6167w TV
Onkyo Receiver HT-R340
Samsung DVD-HD 850
Panasonic DMR-ES 35V Combo

#19 OFFLINE   wiggo

wiggo

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2010

Posted 09 June 2010 - 08:12 PM

Thanks for this thread!!!

When I activated my new HR24 the CSR told me to remove the BBCs. Needless to say, no joy. Spent an hour on the phone and they finally scheduled a service call for Monday. Came here, read this, put the BBCs back on, forced the firmware download, and I'm ready for 3D! My Samsung C7000 even auto-3Ds on channel 106. Canceled the service call, and life is good.

This forum rocks.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...