Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Which sattellite to point 18x20 dish?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   trent741

trent741

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 03 June 2010 - 03:46 PM

Hi, I just got a 18x20 dish for when I go camping. I took it up there and found a signal & I get everything but my local channels. When I did the setup I did the dish pointing for 119. Where I go camping is 3 hours north of my home, is that why I am not getting my locals or should my dish be pointing somewhere else?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   GrumpyBear

GrumpyBear

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,233 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 03 June 2010 - 03:51 PM

Hi, I just got a 18x20 dish for when I go camping. I took it up there and found a signal & I get everything but my local channels. When I did the setup I did the dish pointing for 119. Where I go camping is 3 hours north of my home, is that why I am not getting my locals or should my dish be pointing somewhere else?


What DMA are you in. Your locals may not be on 119

#3 OFFLINE   trent741

trent741

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 03 June 2010 - 03:59 PM

Never heard of a DMA but googled it & Lansing,MI/48823 shows "There are no results for your search at this time." But I do get local channels at home with my slimline 5 dish.....

#4 ONLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,293 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 03 June 2010 - 04:06 PM

Last time I had any info, Lansing DMA SD locals were on 110° and HD on 61.5°.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#5 OFFLINE   trent741

trent741

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 03 June 2010 - 04:12 PM

Hmmmm.... can you get 110 & 119 together with a 18x20 dish?

#6 OFFLINE   GrumpyBear

GrumpyBear

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,233 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 03 June 2010 - 04:14 PM

Never heard of a DMA but googled it & Lansing,MI/48823 shows "There are no results for your search at this time." But I do get local channels at home with my slimline 5 dish.....

Looks like for SD you need to point at 110 not 119, and 61.5 for HD
Here is a link for you.
http://www.echostaruser.com/

#7 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,214 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 03 June 2010 - 04:17 PM

... with my slimline 5 dish.....

Are you a DISH customer or DirecTV?

DISH has Lansing, MI, locals on 110 (HD on 61.5). If you're a DirecTV customer we can move this to the appropriate forum.

#8 OFFLINE   GrumpyBear

GrumpyBear

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,233 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 03 June 2010 - 04:21 PM

Are you a DISH customer or DirecTV?

DISH has Lansing, MI, locals on 110 (HD on 61.5). If you're a DirecTV customer we can move this to the appropriate forum.


I was confused by the Slimline 5 as well.

#9 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 03 June 2010 - 04:59 PM

If you're from Tennessee, you will not get your locals from there being 3 hours north. You also will not get the locals for the area you're in.
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...

#10 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,214 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 03 June 2010 - 05:16 PM

If you're from Tennessee, you will not get your locals from there being 3 hours north. You also will not get the locals for the area you're in.

That is true. The spot that delivers the hometown Tennessee locals won't reach Lansing.

(I read it the wrong way around ... I was thinking he had Lansing locals and was traveling to Tennessee. The Lansing spotbeam isn't likely to cover Tennessee either. That's the beauty of spotbeams. The transponder can be reused for other local channels.)




spam firewall