Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV2PC and Macintosh Support


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Joe D

Joe D

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2007

Posted 06 June 2010 - 01:31 PM

If this is posted somewhere, I apologize because I couldn't find it.

Anyone have any information about when there will be Macintosh support?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   cmac

cmac

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2010

Posted 06 June 2010 - 06:41 PM

I've been searching for the same info. DirecTv does not even address Mac compatabbility. I've not found this addressed anywhere.

#3 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,858 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 06 June 2010 - 07:05 PM

This has come up a few times. IIRC, it seems it isn't going to happen any time soon. :shrug:

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#4 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,964 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 06 June 2010 - 07:09 PM

I'm not holding my breath!

#5 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,860 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 07 June 2010 - 07:21 AM

I think if you use Parallels, Boot Camp, vmware, or one of that sort of solution you can run DIRECTV2PC with some success. It probably depends on how fast your Mac is.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#6 OFFLINE   moop

moop

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: May 16, 2009

Posted 08 June 2010 - 12:27 PM

I think if you use Parallels, Boot Camp, vmware, or one of that sort of solution you can run DIRECTV2PC with some success. It probably depends on how fast your Mac is.


I can say with almost complete certainty that it will refuse to run under Parallels or VMWare due to the DTCP requirement.

#7 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,046 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 12:32 PM

I can say with almost complete certainty that it will refuse to run under Parallels or VMWare due to the DTCP requirement.


Which is patently silly, since OS X itself is as secure or moreso than most Windows installations, and any Mac hardware made in the last few years is HDCP-compliant.

I just don't get why Directv doesn't port it over. :nono:

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#8 OFFLINE   DishDog

DishDog

    ke6cdn

  • Registered
  • 424 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 01:37 PM

I got my 21" iMac to run DTV2PC using Boot Camp 3.1, XP Pro w/SP3, and OS X 10.6.3

PQ is great and all the controls work as well, so I'm real pleased.
Pete
[FONT=;Comic Sans MS"]
DirecTV-8/96,HR34-700s(0x57d),HR24-200(0x5d3),SL5S Dish,D-Link DIR 655-Hardwired with Cat6e,Gigabit LAN,MRV-DECA,DirecTV2PC(XP Pro/Boot Camp 3.1),HRV-RS15-2187 HD-OTA Antenna,Sony Bravia KDL-40S20L1,LG 20LS7D Bedroom TV,Sony RDR-GX330 DVD,Bose Cinemate,Harmony A1 & 880,Belkin UPS 550 VA,Targus Chill Matt
[/FONT]

#9 OFFLINE   boulder_gp

boulder_gp

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2003

Posted 08 June 2010 - 01:42 PM

I can say with almost complete certainty that it will refuse to run under Parallels or VMWare due to the DTCP requirement.


I can say with complete certainty that that it refuses to run under VMware Fusion due to the DTCP requirement. It WILL run successfully if you are using Boot Camp and boot to the Windows partition (running a Fusion session that uses your Boot Camp Windows partition will still fail).
HR20-700 connected via HDMI to Samsung LN-52A650 (R.I.P. Toshiba 50H81) (networked)
HR20-100 connected via HDMI to Samsung LN-S2651D (networked)
HR20-700 connected via HDMI to Samsung LN-S3251D (networked)

#10 OFFLINE   Yog-Sothoth

Yog-Sothoth

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 02:01 PM

Same problem running Windows within Virtualbox... the virtual display adapter is not HDCP compliant.
HR21-700 | HR23-700 (2) | H24-700
DECA MRV setup, including one module connected to a WAP/switch (for PS3 and Xbox 360) and another connected directly to a Slingbox

#11 OFFLINE   ziggy29

ziggy29

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 691 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2004

Posted 08 June 2010 - 03:29 PM

I can say with complete certainty that that it refuses to run under VMware Fusion due to the DTCP requirement. It WILL run successfully if you are using Boot Camp and boot to the Windows partition (running a Fusion session that uses your Boot Camp Windows partition will still fail).

I can believe it. I have a Mac with Boot Camp, a native Windows partition and VMWare Fusion to use on the Boot Camp partition. For light duty stuff, the virtual machine is fine while using Mac OS, but for heavy duty, CPU and graphics-intensive stuff you pretty much need to boot natively into Windows. Wouldn't even know you're using a Mac in that case except for the Apple logo on the box. :)
My stuff: D* HR20-700 (living room) / R15 (bedroom) / OTA 91XG+YA1713+HDP269 / Harmony 880




spam firewall