Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

All receivers dead this morning! (6/8) Had to RBR


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1222 replies to this topic

#181 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,788 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:24 AM

My HR20-700 is frozen at the lowest channel, even after reboot. My mother-in-law's HR23 is doing the same thing.

Do 2 reboots within 30 minutes to force a guide data refresh. Be sure to wait for picture and sound before initiating the second reboot.

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#182 OFFLINE   DogLover

DogLover

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,510 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:25 AM

Just spoke to someone at Directv they told me " power failure at the Denver service center might be to blame for the issue" and to reboot twice.


Hmm. When I first read this, I thought "just a CSR making things up." But then I thought if power went out during the processing or uploading of guide data, perhaps that corrupted the data.

Since guide data corruption has happened before, I wondered why more data checks haven't been put into place. However, maybe they were, but the data was corrupted after it had been checked.

We'll probably never know. As a programmer, I'm curious. As a customer, I'm just glad I know about this place to find out the fix.
DogLover

My Setup

#183 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,927 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:26 AM

People, help me here.

I remember an incident a couple of years ago when DirecTV had bad guide data and they did a nationwide software download for the HR20 (the only DVR at that time) in the middle of the afternoon to flush the system clean. Anybody else remember this? I wonder if DirecTV will have to do it again?


Anything is possible ..
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#184 OFFLINE   Talos4

Talos4

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:27 AM

HR-22 one RBR did not clear it up, controls still frozen, Pulled power 15 sec, rebooted and then fine.

Quite annoying.

#185 OFFLINE   prospero63

prospero63

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 330 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:28 AM

http://backporch.fan...gers-customers/

#186 OFFLINE   Earlyadopt

Earlyadopt

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:28 AM

First things first - This is the FIRST problem I've had in a really long time. Maybe over 18 months or more. I just can't remember.

_______________________________________________________
PROBLEM - 3 DVRs all DOA this morning (2xHR22, 1xHR21).

I wasn't recording MATT LAUER talking to the president . . . Not that I'm a fan of Obama's politics, but he's the President of the USA . . . and he was talking to Matt. . . . oh c'mon . . .

1 of the HR22s came up on the first rbr.

The other 2 had picture after the first rbr, but required a second rbr to get the remote control working.

BALLS!!!!!

What is the world coming to when we can't watch TV. . . :nono2:

Thanks to all you DBS folks as I was crawling out of my skin that there was a problem.

I'll be enrolling in a 12 step program for TV addiction soon. . .

#187 OFFLINE   m4p

m4p

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 238 posts
Joined: Apr 12, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:29 AM

I woke up to the blue ring all lit up so I knew there was probably an update. Everything worked fine until I tried to dim the blue light. The front panel on my HR20-700 froze up and would not respond to physical touch or to the remote. I did a RBR.

Left the room for a few and when I came back, the tv screen was blank. After waiting a while, I did another RBR. Things went well that time. However, I started watching a recorded show. It played for about 30 seconds, and then the show stopped playing and the screen went back to regular live tv. I played the show again, and this time all seems okay.

So is this update only for 3D on sports channel? I don't see anything different or improved.

HR24-500 HDMI to Sharp LC-52D62U LCD, native on
Networked using Netgear R6300
Harmony 670 remote


#188 OFFLINE   Piratefan98

Piratefan98

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 685 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:29 AM

I'm no expert, so this question is asked from a purely lay-person standpoint ...... When an update like this is developed and eventually pushed out, wouldn't DirecTV first have tested it on at least a couple hundred units to make sure that no particular model experienced any issues? I have no idea what the protocol is for sending out software updates .... but it just seems as if there must be some sort of comprehensive testing first, isn't there?
If I can't ameliorate it, it ain't broke --- Mr. T

#189 OFFLINE   ChrisPC

ChrisPC

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 437 posts
Joined: Jun 16, 2003

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:29 AM

Do 2 reboots within 30 minutes to force a guide data refresh. Be sure to wait for picture and sound before initiating the second reboot.


I tried that already, and it worked.

#190 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,944 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:32 AM

I'm no expert, so this question is asked from a purely lay-person standpoint ...... When an update like this is developed and eventually pushed out, wouldn't DirecTV first have tested it on at least a couple hundred units to make sure that no particular model experienced any issues? I have no idea what the protocol is for sending out software updates .... but it just seems as if there must be some sort of comprehensive testing first, isn't there?

It's independent of firmware version. It doesn't matter which version you have, you DVR is most likely locked up this morning.

IMHO, this has nothing to do with any update.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#191 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,927 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:32 AM

Give me a break. Not 1% of DirecTV subscribers will have 3D by Saturday. At least give us a chance to choose if we want the 3D upgrade and cause these kind of issues this morning.


This issue, while not good, has zero to do with the software update ... Folks that received the update 2 weeks ago were working fine until the issue today.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#192 OFFLINE   c152driver

c152driver

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 127 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:32 AM

The fact that there is no notice on DirecTV's website is a pretty big fail on their part. Once they determined the solution to the problem, you'd think that would be the first thing they'd do. It would deflect a lot of call center calls.

#193 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,788 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:32 AM

Anything is possible ..

I thought this was supposed to happen on 6-16-10. :grin:

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#194 OFFLINE   bigmouthindc

bigmouthindc

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2005

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:32 AM

double boot worked, HR21-700

#195 OFFLINE   susanandmark

susanandmark

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 411 posts
Joined: Feb 15, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:33 AM

Third reboot worked on 2 of 5 receivers (or so it seems at first glance). Still working on other 3, on 4th reboot bow (by the way the 2 that came up were HR20s). When those two that came up, BOTH had 3D splash screen for first time. So, yeah, I think this IS the 3D update, no matter what DirecTV tries to say.

#196 OFFLINE   jcc

jcc

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2010

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:33 AM

Nothing worked until I unplugged the receiver and plugged it back in but I need a HR23-700 remote control code as I had to replace my batteries. I went to DirecTV's website and can't find one?! Please help/ thanks.

#197 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,927 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:33 AM

My HR20-700 is frozen at the lowest channel, even after reboot. My mother-in-law's HR23 is doing the same thing.


Reset it one more time .. You have to do it twice total, not just once.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#198 OFFLINE   prospero63

prospero63

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 330 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:34 AM

This issue, while not good, has zero to do with the software update ... Folks that received the update 2 weeks ago were working fine until the issue today.


This is my observation as well. My receivers all updated at least a week ago. The first one that locked up, I was actually watching TV about the time it happened, so around 3AM or so central time. I don't know if that's the time that something routinely gets pushed or not, but it definitely didn't seem to be a "download occurred in the middle of the night and boom goes the dynamite" kind of thing. It was much more a "land of the lost has to be the stupidest movie I have ever seen. Wait. What kind of fresh hell is this that I can't change the channel".

#199 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,927 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:34 AM

http://backporch.fan...gers-customers/


Still has zero to do with the software update .. The article may be bad press, but it's also inaccurate.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#200 OFFLINE   dlvh

dlvh

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Dec 14, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:35 AM

I had these troubles with my HR21 & HR23, but not with my HR24...anyone else?
D* Subscriber since 2006
1 HR21-700
1 HR23-700
1 HR24-500
SlimLine 5-LNB Ka/Ku Dish




Protected By... spam firewall...And...