Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

All receivers dead this morning! (6/8) Had to RBR


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1222 replies to this topic

#101 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,942 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:35 AM

Pulling the plug, waiting about 30 seconds, and then plugging it back in did the trick for our receivers.

That seems to work but some have reported that once they went to the guide it locked up again, or even locked up on it's own.

I would suggest you do a menu restart just to make sure.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#102 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,942 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:36 AM

Mine worked fine this morning. Oh wait, I switched from Direct to uVerse 3 months ago. :lol:

Ummm....yeah. :rolleyes:

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#103 OFFLINE   DogLover

DogLover

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,510 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:36 AM

More like, different receivers are running different software, so something in the guide data that hangs one up may have no effect on a different model receiver.


And the "D" series are SD receivers, so they probably don't process the HD guide data at all.

I've mostly seen reports of HD DVRs having the problems, except for the HR24s. Has anyone had an HR24 lock up this morning? What about "H" receivers?
DogLover

My Setup

#104 OFFLINE   HDTVFreak07

HDTVFreak07

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 705 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:36 AM

Aww, shucks. I was hoping that my HR20-100 died this morning. Had to unplug, plug back in, wait a long time only to come to a black screen. Push red button reset, wait a long time and voila! It's back on again. I was hoping it died so DirecTV might possibly send me a new HR24 receiver with AM21. :(

#105 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:36 AM

More like, different receivers are running different software, so something in the guide data that hangs one up may have no effect on a different model receiver.


dvr have more requirements from the guide data then a standard receiver. most that does is tune to a channel at a specific tme while the dvr's maintain sl's.
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#106 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,942 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:37 AM

And the "D" series are SD receivers, so they probably don't process the HD guide data at all.

I've mostly seen reports of HD DVRs having the problems, except for the HR24s. Has anyone had an HR24 lock up this morning? What about "H" receivers?

When I left my house at 5:50 this morning, my HR24-500 was working fine.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#107 OFFLINE   Hdhead

Hdhead

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,231 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:38 AM

What a disaster! All 4 of my HR's out. Trying to restore now. Can only imagine what's going on at the D* call center right now, especially because one RBR doesn't do the job. Gonna be a lot of pissed off people when they come home from vacation this weekend!
2 - HR20-100s
1 - HR21-100
1 - HR21-700
1 - HR34 Genie
1 - H24-100
1 - H24-200
SWM16/DECA

#108 OFFLINE   Aztec Pilot

Aztec Pilot

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 253 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:38 AM

2 HR23's, HR20, and HR21 were dead this morning. The HR23's took two RBR to get them going. Must have been a rough night!
---------------------------------------------
My Setup

#109 OFFLINE   onan38

onan38

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 249 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:41 AM

Try to do a menu restart immediately after doing the initial RBR/unplug. It seems that if you hit the Guide button it will lock up again any you’ll have to do another RBR.

After it comes back up go right to the restart menu and restart the receiver.

Menu->Parental, Fav's & Setup->System Setup->Restart

We might be able to avoid a second RBR which is better for the receiver.

Mike


Thank you so much Microbeta! That did the trick unit back up with remote and front button commands working now.

#110 ONLINE   camo

camo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 490 posts
Joined: Apr 15, 2010

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:42 AM

I noticed all the banners and advertisements in the program guide are missing. So the guide must of been corrupt like others mentioned.

2-HR24-500
SWM Slimline Dish, MRV Ethernet, media share
70" Sharp AQUOS LC70LE640U
55"LG LH90, 47"JVC LCD's 32" Vizio plasma.
Onkyo SR876 SR receiver


#111 OFFLINE   DodgerKing

DodgerKing

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,041 posts
Joined: Apr 28, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:42 AM

Mine worked fine this morning. Oh wait, I switched from Direct to uVerse 3 months ago. :lol:


How is it watching 3 HD programs at the same time, or recording 2 at a time and watching another live HD program in another room? That's right, you can't. :lol:

#112 OFFLINE   mdwood

mdwood

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:42 AM

HR20-700 and HR20-100 both no response to the remote after two RBRs. Got one channel on each DVR clear as a bell though! H23-600 is fine.

edit:
another rbr and the 700 is back, 3D update. 100 still junk, finally got it to even turn on by unplugging for a bit and three rbrs later no fix yet. Nothing more fun than a kid waking you up an hour early to tell you "Dad the TV doesn't turn on again".

Edited by mdwood, 08 June 2010 - 08:25 AM.


#113 OFFLINE   RobertSeattle

RobertSeattle

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:43 AM

Me too - all four of mine we stuck on the prior channel and unresponsive to front panel or remote commands. HR 20/21/22 series. No HR 24s.

Edited by RobertSeattle, 08 June 2010 - 07:44 AM.
spelling


#114 OFFLINE   canesice

canesice

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2009

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:43 AM

DirecTV Tweet:

DIRECTV: If your HDDVR will NOT power on, unplug the unit from the wall, wait 15sec, then replug, & repeat 1x to restore service.



#115 OFFLINE   ThePrisoner

ThePrisoner

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 117 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2009

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:43 AM

Mine is resetting now. I tried to call D* to get the HD credit before I even read about this problem. That explains why I kept getting a busy signal.
Choice Xtra, HD Extra Pack, MRV, NFLST
HR24-100, Terk HDTVi, Panasonic TC-P60GT30, Oppo BDP-93, Anthem MRX-500, Paradigm Reference
HR21-700, Panasonic TH-50PZ800U

#116 OFFLINE   NewView

NewView

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:44 AM

I Woke up to the same issue early this morning on my HR21-200.

Remote & front buttons unresponsive and stuck on one channel (accidentally fell asleep on the sofa last night and TV was on all night).

I did the reset which did nothing . . . and then went to the DirecTV Forums to see if anyone else was having the same issues. There were numerous posts about the same thing happening and one post indicated they had to reset twice to get the receiver responsive again.

I followed the advice & reset mine again & then it came back to life . . . remote & front buttons working again.

Oddly . . . the DirecTV Forums are now unavailable to view now as of this posting.

#117 OFFLINE   Stewpidity

Stewpidity

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 292 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:44 AM

me too, just saw this on Twitter...

DIRECTV HDDVR customers: If your HDDVR will NOT power on, unplug the unit from the wall, wait 15sec, then replug, & repeat 1x to restore service.
less than 10 seconds ago via web

#118 OFFLINE   hobie346

hobie346

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 688 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:44 AM

Both of my HR2X boxes hung this AM (HR20-700, HR23-700). The HR20-700 just needed a RBR, the HR23-700 powered up OK but a few minutes later it failed to respond to the remote and the front panel. The only thing that worked was a RBR. After the box was back up and running it locked up again. Another RBR. My H23-600 box at times failed to respond to the remote.

#119 OFFLINE   prospero63

prospero63

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 330 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:44 AM

DirecTV Tweet:


Gotta give them credit for trying to make an effort here.

#120 OFFLINE   Vader14

Vader14

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 157 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:44 AM

All three DVR's needed to be unplugged this morning as well...
Setup:
Slimline 5lnb
Zinwell 6x8 switch
HR20-700, HR22-100, & R22-100

HR20-700 with a Western Digital - My Book AV 1TB eSATA DVR Expander connected to:
*TV - Sony KDS50A2000 connected with HDMI cable (native on)
*optical out from HR20 to Yamaha HTR5790E reciever with 6.1 polk audio speakers
*network is on and hard wired to Netgear WNDR3700 wireless router
*HR22-100 connected also on wired network
*R22-100 connected using linksys WGA600N gaming adapter using wireless 5GHZ network




Protected By... spam firewall...And...