Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

All receivers dead this morning! (6/8) Had to RBR


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1222 replies to this topic

#151 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 3,045 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:06 AM

We think it's the guide data. We don't know that for sure. While it reacts like corrupted data it's possible it could be something else. I doubt it but it's possible. :)

Mike

If it walks and sounds like a duck........ :):):lol::):)

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 C41W-100, 1 WVBR0-01, 1 HR24-500

Original install on Apr. 20, 2008 - C41W & WVB self installed on Dec. 27, 2014 - HR34 & C31 installed on Aug. 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#152 OFFLINE   AceGopher

AceGopher

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:06 AM

Before I knew there was an upgrade to 0x3de, my HR-22 was locked up this morning with no picture (but receiver had turned itself on over night).

RBR'ed, picture came up, but neither remote nor front buttons worked. Unplugged and came up, buttons worked. So went to self test, started it, and it locked up after pressing menu item. That's when I noticed on the info screen that it had been updated.

Trying to unplug again and see what happens.

My HR-20 also was turned on, no picture, and frozen. Power button on box worked and system powered down. However would not power back up. Unplugging now to see if that fixes.

I'm thinking of leaving unplugged for a while to see what people suggest.

Crazy...was an early HR-20 user and remember the early instability, but things have been rock solid for a year or two now.

Feel sorry for all the CSR's today.

#153 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 14,019 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:07 AM

Have folks been able to do the second reboot from the menu? When my boxes came up after the first reboot they were frozen (on the last channel they were on). Had to actually do a RBR the second time as well.

You may or may not be able to do a menu restart. If it comes back up and you can't access the menu from the remote or the front panel then you have no choice but to do the RBR.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#154 OFFLINE   Grydlok

Grydlok

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 749 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:07 AM

LOL why guy tweeted about this
Hypocrites with fake rumors need not apply.

#155 OFFLINE   lgsvette

lgsvette

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2004

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:07 AM

All is well finally after a forced update and 3rd reset on my HR20 700. Time for a purchase of the HR24?

#156 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:07 AM

over 2 hours and all 4 units ok here, key is the twice within 30 minutes or sooner for the reboots.
flush the crap (guide data) down the toilet :)
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#157 OFFLINE   jimbop99

jimbop99

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:08 AM

Double reboots on both HD boxes. Silly.

#158 OFFLINE   mikeinthekeys

mikeinthekeys

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 360 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:10 AM

Double reboot worked for both HR20-700s. Irony: only one banner ad, $100 referral program!
Working hard every day to stay retired!:
D* since 1994 Setup:
Den - H21-200 Sony 34XBR910
LR - HR24-200 Vivitek proj, Vizio SV420SVT
BR - H20 Olevia 26"

#159 OFFLINE   Gary16

Gary16

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 124 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:11 AM

Had 4 bad boxes this morning. A hard reset (unplugging the box) twice on some and three times on another fixed everything. I still have 2 more boxes to check tonight.

#160 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • Registered
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:11 AM

People, help me here.

I remember an incident a couple of years ago when DirecTV had bad guide data and they did a nationwide software download for the HR20 (the only DVR at that time) in the middle of the afternoon to flush the system clean. Anybody else remember this? I wonder if DirecTV will have to do it again?
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#161 OFFLINE   ptuck874

ptuck874

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:11 AM

havent checked the r22's, but the living room hr23 stuck, 1 rbr so far :(

#162 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,304 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:12 AM

Both HR20-700 and HR21-200 needed RBR, all looked like recovering but neither HR20-700 recovered. HR21 looks fine

#163 OFFLINE   Hutchinshouse

Hutchinshouse

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,632 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:13 AM

People, help me here.

I remember an incident a couple of years ago when DirecTV had bad guide data and they did a nationwide software download for the HR20 (the only DVR at that time) in the middle of the afternoon to flush the system clean. Anybody else remember this? I wonder if DirecTV will have to do it again?


I remember. :nono2:

#164 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Administrators
  • 17,233 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:13 AM

I did two RBR's and that did the trick.

#165 OFFLINE   rocket68

rocket68

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:13 AM

Give me a break. Not 1% of DirecTV subscribers will have 3D by Saturday. At least give us a chance to choose if we want the 3D upgrade and cause these kind of issues this morning.

#166 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,938 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:13 AM

So guide data isn't the same for all receivers? Cuz my D12-500 was unaffected.


yes and no .. It's the same stream, but the HR2x systems make use of significantly more data than the D12 does.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#167 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 3,045 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:14 AM

Both HR20-700 and HR21-200 needed RBR, all looked like recovering but none responding to remote or any picture

You have to restart twice within 30 minutes to force a guide data flush. Wait for picture and sound before the second restart.

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 C41W-100, 1 WVBR0-01, 1 HR24-500

Original install on Apr. 20, 2008 - C41W & WVB self installed on Dec. 27, 2014 - HR34 & C31 installed on Aug. 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#168 OFFLINE   max1

max1

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2005

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:15 AM

Same thing happened to mine has well I did hard reboot and then also hit the reset button. She seems to be working fine now. Something must have happened overnight. We had storms here last night thats what i thought but must have been a download problem. Shes working now. Am sure D is aware of it.

#169 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 3,045 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:16 AM

Give me a break. Not 1% of DirecTV subscribers will have 3D by Saturday. At least give us a chance to choose if we want the 3D upgrade and cause these kind of issues this morning.

It's likely not related to the update, just coincidence. It's most likely bad or corrupt guide data.

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 C41W-100, 1 WVBR0-01, 1 HR24-500

Original install on Apr. 20, 2008 - C41W & WVB self installed on Dec. 27, 2014 - HR34 & C31 installed on Aug. 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#170 OFFLINE   onan38

onan38

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:16 AM

Just spoke to someone at Directv they told me " power failure at the Denver service center might be to blame for the issue" and to reboot twice.

#171 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,938 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:16 AM

RBR wont work on two of my boxes, no matter how many times I tried. Unplugging the receivers worked. What a bunch of bs.


The Red Button is behind the Access Card door on the front of the receiver. It is NOT the red button on your remote control.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#172 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 14,019 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:17 AM

Give me a break. Not 1% of DirecTV subscribers will have 3D by Saturday. At least give us a chance to choose if we want the 3D upgrade and cause these kind of issues this morning.

Who said anything about this being a 3D problem? :scratchin

AFAIK, this has nothing to do with 3D. Besides, there will only be one firmware version for a given receiver so having the option isn't going to happen.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#173 OFFLINE   lost4now

lost4now

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2010

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:17 AM

actually good news for me, I just got a "new" HR20-700 on Friday and thought I had killed it already:) was dreading the call to D*

#174 OFFLINE   DogLover

DogLover

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,510 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:18 AM

People, help me here.

I remember an incident a couple of years ago when DirecTV had bad guide data and they did a nationwide software download for the HR20 (the only DVR at that time) in the middle of the afternoon to flush the system clean. Anybody else remember this? I wonder if DirecTV will have to do it again?


I think that's why they added code to flush the guide data when 2 reboots are performed within 30 minutes. So my guess would be no.
DogLover

My Setup

#175 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 3,045 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:20 AM

Who said anything about this being a 3D problem? :scratchin

AFAIK, this has nothing to do with 3D. Besides, there will only be one firmware version for a given receiver so having the option isn't going to happen.

Mike

You know, I didn't put my glasses on before I did my first reboot - maybe it was working and I couldn't see it. :grin::grin:

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 C41W-100, 1 WVBR0-01, 1 HR24-500

Original install on Apr. 20, 2008 - C41W & WVB self installed on Dec. 27, 2014 - HR34 & C31 installed on Aug. 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...