Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

All receivers dead this morning! (6/8) Had to RBR


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1222 replies to this topic

#121 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:44 AM

Add my two HR22s to the garbage heap. :P

DIRECTV and NFL-ST since 1994, Slimline w/SL5 LNB, SWiM-16
HR44-700; 2x HR24-500; HR22-100; H25-500; C31-700; GenieGo
Gigabit Ethernet (DirecTV DECA); 2.4 and 5GHz 802.11n; HD Slingbox


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#122 OFFLINE   cartrivision

cartrivision

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,862 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:46 AM

Mine worked fine this morning. Oh wait, I switched from Direct to uVerse 3 months ago. :lol:


Sorry, but downgrading to one single HD program at a any time coming into my home isn't a viable alternative for avoiding HR2x freeze-ups. :down:

#123 OFFLINE   Tygh

Tygh

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: May 07, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:47 AM

Gotta give them credit for trying to make an effort here.


How about they send out an email as well. I have no desire to follow DTV on Twitter and be spammed even more with ads.

#124 OFFLINE   Hdhead

Hdhead

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,231 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:47 AM

All telephone lines down to Directv now. Phone will not even ring! God help them!
2 - HR20-100s
1 - HR21-100
1 - HR21-700
1 - HR34 Genie
1 - H24-100
1 - H24-200
SWM16/DECA

#125 OFFLINE   dacoop2

dacoop2

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 67 posts
Joined: Feb 06, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:47 AM

Looks like the "double reboot" trick will do the trick. I had to unplug and replug my HR 20-700 this morning as it was completely unresponsive. Power button wasn't even working. After the power cycle it went through the reboot steps and then just went to a black screen. A RBR after that got me back up and running.

#126 OFFLINE   harley3k

harley3k

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:48 AM

I woke up this morning to find my 3 HR20-700s with the same problems listed on this thread. I have done a RBR and pulled the plug and still no response.

DirecTV is becoming a disgusting joke. Following the MRV rollout fail and non-support of those of us who invested in wiring Ethernet cables in our homes in favor of DECA only, DirecTV proceeds to make things worse.

DirecTV, Comcast and Dish all suck. I wish I could get FiOs in Houston


Haha - the FIOS DVRs have had plenty of their moments too, which is why I only use TivoHDs on my FIOS service now.

#127 OFFLINE   Mr. Bungle

Mr. Bungle

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:49 AM

From their Twitter account:

HDDVR customers: If your HDDVR will NOT power on, unplug the unit from the wall, wait 15sec, then replug, & repeat 1x to restore service.

#128 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,565 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:50 AM

So guide data isn't the same for all receivers? Cuz my D12-500 was unaffected.

Non-DVR guides don't go as far into the future (3-1/2 days on the D12), so they may seem immune initially.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#129 OFFLINE   Grydlok

Grydlok

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 749 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:50 AM

nevermind been posted
Hypocrites with fake rumors need not apply.

#130 OFFLINE   prospero63

prospero63

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 330 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:50 AM

How about they send out an email as well. I have no desire to follow DTV on Twitter and be spammed even more with ads.


You are preaching to the choir. A basic tenet of good customer service is to over-communicate. They should use all medium available. Twitter, facebook, support.directv.com, emails, whatever is available (and that folks have agreed to use, for example opt in for email notification of TS issues). It will reduce calls and improve customer perception.

#131 OFFLINE   CTJon

CTJon

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 274 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:51 AM

Assuming this is bad guide data which it seems to be - the last time I remember this happening, several years ago, they had put guide data up which needed later software or hardware which may explain why HR24's don't seem to be affected.
Nothing like a little testing before anything is loaded or updated.

#132 OFFLINE   harley3k

harley3k

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:52 AM

What exactly is "doing a RBR" people refer to in this thread?

A friend of mine is having this problem and asking me to help him out.
2 of his boxes are locked up; one powered off and back on seems to work although the REMOTE now does not function?!?! Does that make any sense?

-h

#133 OFFLINE   bigmac94

bigmac94

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 99 posts
  • LocationSneads Ferry NC
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:53 AM

I don't think it is a software download issue. My HR21 was updated on 5/26 and it locked up this morning at about 5:30 MDT.

After rbr appeared OK, then froze on rewind. When finally rewound to start of buffer it starting playing was not responding to remote or front panel. Pull the plug for a few minutes. Now appears to be OK. Need to check other receivers.


Did RBR on all 3 HR21-700s that Froze no joy... Then Pulled plug on all 3 ...1 came up good to go... still working on other 2...
whats up with this?
If Its Worth Doing,Its Worth Doing Best You Can.

#134 OFFLINE   Dave Carney

Dave Carney

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2004

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:54 AM

Red Button Reboot

#135 OFFLINE   Hdhead

Hdhead

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,231 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:56 AM

You are preaching to the choir. A basic tenet of good customer service is to over-communicate. They should use all medium available. Twitter, facebook, support.directv.com, emails, whatever is available (and that folks have agreed to use, for example opt in for email notification of TS issues). It will reduce calls and improve customer perception.


Yup, time to bring out the CEO! Really.
2 - HR20-100s
1 - HR21-100
1 - HR21-700
1 - HR34 Genie
1 - H24-100
1 - H24-200
SWM16/DECA

#136 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:56 AM

What exactly is "doing a RBR" people refer to in this thread?

A friend of mine is having this problem and asking me to help him out.
2 of his boxes are locked up; one powered off and back on seems to work although the REMOTE now does not function?!?! Does that make any sense?

-h


red button reset.
the small reset button under cover on dvrs used to reboot unit when menu is not available.
after doing this do a normal (if possible) menu reset to flush the guide data out.
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#137 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,527 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:57 AM

What exactly is "doing a RBR" people refer to in this thread?

A friend of mine is having this problem and asking me to help him out.
2 of his boxes are locked up; one powered off and back on seems to work although the REMOTE now does not function?!?! Does that make any sense?

-h

RBR = Red Button Reboot

Do it twice within 30 minutes to force a guide data refresh.

The first time, unplug the unit and plug it back in 30 seconds later.

For the second time, as soon as you have picture and sound after plugging it back in, reboot from the menu.

All should be fine after you do that.

EDIT: Dave M. - we must have been posting at the same time........ :lol:

Edited by Athlon646464, 08 June 2010 - 08:03 AM.

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#138 OFFLINE   Hutchinshouse

Hutchinshouse

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,632 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:58 AM

Around 4:30 AM PST my bedroom HR20-700 automatically rebooted. I’m at work now, my wife just called me. Too funny!

When I answered the phone I said "DVR", she said "how did you know"? :lol:

FIX IT!

#139 OFFLINE   susanandmark

susanandmark

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 411 posts
Joined: Feb 15, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:59 AM

Same problem here. 5 HR units (all HR20, one HR22) in the house, all dead when we got up. Pulled plug to reset and no dice. Had to pull plug and hold power button. Restarting now. I know the HR22 got the 3D update earlier this week, because there was a splash screen announcing it. Anyone ever figure out what's going on?

Edited by susanandmark, 08 June 2010 - 08:05 AM.


#140 OFFLINE   harley3k

harley3k

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 07:59 AM

Red Button Reboot


Thanks!




spam firewall