Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

All receivers dead this morning! (6/8) Had to RBR


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1222 replies to this topic

#141 OFFLINE   BJM

BJM

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 338 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:00 AM

My HR20-700 wouldn't power up this AM. RBR briefly restored function until I paused a program (was able to check system menus prior), then unresponsive again.
Power off (unplug, wait, plugin) seems to have restored normal function.

I suggest RBR, then if still frozen, Power off.

I thought after 03DF update last week the box was sluggish.

Edited by BJM, 08 June 2010 - 08:02 AM.
RBR seems necessary before of after "power off"?

THR-22 (3/2012 - DirecTiVo) | 720p Pillar Box
HDMI to Panasonic 32" LCD | No OTA
Network: Mac OS 10.7.3 <-> Belkin router <-> WGA600N wireless adapter
Live TV rarely, trickplay often (esp. 30sec slip) | ~ 30 shows in Season Pass
DirecTV since 12/2004
[previous HR20-700 12/2006-3/2012]
[retired: TiVo Series 1 (!), 150+ hrs., 1/2000-1/2007]
Sacramento/Stockton/Modesto DMA

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#142 OFFLINE   mganga

mganga

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 250 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:00 AM

just a few more seconds...

#143 OFFLINE   Xsabresx

Xsabresx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 981 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:01 AM

RBR = Red Button Reboot

Do it twice within 30 seconds to force a guide data refresh.

The first time, unplug the unit and plug it back in 30 seconds later.

For the second time, as soon as you have picture and sound after plugging it back in, reboot from the menu.

All should be fine after you do that.

EDIT: Dave M. - we must have been posting at the same time........ :lol:


Have folks been able to do the second reboot from the menu? When my boxes came up after the first reboot they were frozen (on the last channel they were on). Had to actually do a RBR the second time as well.
since 2001

HR20-700 -- LG 55LH55 LCD
HR23-700 -- Sony KDL-60EX500 LCD
HR21-100 --Vizio VA26LHDTV10T
H24-100 -- Hitachi 51F59 Rear Projection
H24-100 -- Some tube that wont die

#144 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,913 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:01 AM

What exactly is "doing a RBR" people refer to in this thread?

A friend of mine is having this problem and asking me to help him out.
2 of his boxes are locked up; one powered off and back on seems to work although the REMOTE now does not function?!?! Does that make any sense?

-h

Red Button under the access card door. If at all possible tell your friend to try to do a menu restart for the second restart. It's prefered over the red button reboot.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#145 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,679 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:02 AM

Anyone ever figure out what's going on?

Bad guide data. Two restarts in thirty minutes force a guide data refresh, and the guide data has been fixed.

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#146 OFFLINE   vtfan99

vtfan99

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 118 posts
Joined: Apr 11, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:03 AM

HR20-700 unresponsive this morning. Unplugged for few minutes and then turned it back on only for it to freeze after a minute of viewing. Did a RBR after that and it appears to be working now. Updated at 3:28am this morning. At least I didn't lose anything.

#147 OFFLINE   Hutchinshouse

Hutchinshouse

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,632 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:03 AM

Red Button under the access card door. If at all possible tell your friend to try to do a menu restart for the second restart. It's prefered over the red button reboot.

Mike


Not having to reboot at all is the preferred method.;):lol:

#148 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,679 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:04 AM

Have folks been able to do the second reboot from the menu? When my boxes came up after the first reboot they were frozen (on the last channel they were on). Had to actually do a RBR the second time as well.

You may have to do it that way. Some have been lucky enough to use the menu. I was, but I did it right away, before it locked up again.

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#149 OFFLINE   kiknwing

kiknwing

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 495 posts
  • LocationOgden, UT
Joined: Jun 24, 2009

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:05 AM

Well now I'm on my 5th restart. Let's see if it will respond once the restart is done , I don't want to watch PBS all day.

#150 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,913 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:05 AM

Bad guide data. Two restarts in thirty minutes force a guide data refresh, and the guide data has been fixed.

We think it's the guide data. We don't know that for sure. While it reacts like corrupted data it's possible it could be something else. I doubt it but it's possible. :)

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#151 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,679 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:06 AM

We think it's the guide data. We don't know that for sure. While it reacts like corrupted data it's possible it could be something else. I doubt it but it's possible. :)

Mike

If it walks and sounds like a duck........ :):):lol::):)

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#152 OFFLINE   AceGopher

AceGopher

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:06 AM

Before I knew there was an upgrade to 0x3de, my HR-22 was locked up this morning with no picture (but receiver had turned itself on over night).

RBR'ed, picture came up, but neither remote nor front buttons worked. Unplugged and came up, buttons worked. So went to self test, started it, and it locked up after pressing menu item. That's when I noticed on the info screen that it had been updated.

Trying to unplug again and see what happens.

My HR-20 also was turned on, no picture, and frozen. Power button on box worked and system powered down. However would not power back up. Unplugging now to see if that fixes.

I'm thinking of leaving unplugged for a while to see what people suggest.

Crazy...was an early HR-20 user and remember the early instability, but things have been rock solid for a year or two now.

Feel sorry for all the CSR's today.

#153 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,913 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:07 AM

Have folks been able to do the second reboot from the menu? When my boxes came up after the first reboot they were frozen (on the last channel they were on). Had to actually do a RBR the second time as well.

You may or may not be able to do a menu restart. If it comes back up and you can't access the menu from the remote or the front panel then you have no choice but to do the RBR.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#154 OFFLINE   Grydlok

Grydlok

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 749 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:07 AM

LOL why guy tweeted about this
Hypocrites with fake rumors need not apply.

#155 OFFLINE   lgsvette

lgsvette

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2004

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:07 AM

All is well finally after a forced update and 3rd reset on my HR20 700. Time for a purchase of the HR24?

#156 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:07 AM

over 2 hours and all 4 units ok here, key is the twice within 30 minutes or sooner for the reboots.
flush the crap (guide data) down the toilet :)
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#157 OFFLINE   jimbop99

jimbop99

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:08 AM

Double reboots on both HD boxes. Silly.

#158 OFFLINE   mikeinthekeys

mikeinthekeys

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 360 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:10 AM

Double reboot worked for both HR20-700s. Irony: only one banner ad, $100 referral program!
Working hard every day to stay retired!:
D* since 1994 Setup:
Den - H21-200 Sony 34XBR910
LR - HR24-200 Vivitek proj, Vizio SV420SVT
BR - H20 Olevia 26"

#159 OFFLINE   Gary16

Gary16

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 96 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:11 AM

Had 4 bad boxes this morning. A hard reset (unplugging the box) twice on some and three times on another fixed everything. I still have 2 more boxes to check tonight.

#160 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:11 AM

People, help me here.

I remember an incident a couple of years ago when DirecTV had bad guide data and they did a nationwide software download for the HR20 (the only DVR at that time) in the middle of the afternoon to flush the system clean. Anybody else remember this? I wonder if DirecTV will have to do it again?
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A




Protected By... spam firewall...And...