Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

All receivers dead this morning! (6/8) Had to RBR


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1222 replies to this topic

#161 OFFLINE   ptuck874

ptuck874

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:11 AM

havent checked the r22's, but the living room hr23 stuck, 1 rbr so far :(

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#162 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,299 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:12 AM

Both HR20-700 and HR21-200 needed RBR, all looked like recovering but neither HR20-700 recovered. HR21 looks fine

#163 OFFLINE   Hutchinshouse

Hutchinshouse

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,632 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:13 AM

People, help me here.

I remember an incident a couple of years ago when DirecTV had bad guide data and they did a nationwide software download for the HR20 (the only DVR at that time) in the middle of the afternoon to flush the system clean. Anybody else remember this? I wonder if DirecTV will have to do it again?


I remember. :nono2:

#164 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Administrators
  • 17,176 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:13 AM

I did two RBR's and that did the trick.

#165 OFFLINE   rocket68

rocket68

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:13 AM

Give me a break. Not 1% of DirecTV subscribers will have 3D by Saturday. At least give us a chance to choose if we want the 3D upgrade and cause these kind of issues this morning.

#166 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,913 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:13 AM

So guide data isn't the same for all receivers? Cuz my D12-500 was unaffected.


yes and no .. It's the same stream, but the HR2x systems make use of significantly more data than the D12 does.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#167 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,485 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:14 AM

Both HR20-700 and HR21-200 needed RBR, all looked like recovering but none responding to remote or any picture

You have to restart twice within 30 minutes to force a guide data flush. Wait for picture and sound before the second restart.

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#168 OFFLINE   max1

max1

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 386 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2005

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:15 AM

Same thing happened to mine has well I did hard reboot and then also hit the reset button. She seems to be working fine now. Something must have happened overnight. We had storms here last night thats what i thought but must have been a download problem. Shes working now. Am sure D is aware of it.

#169 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,485 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:16 AM

Give me a break. Not 1% of DirecTV subscribers will have 3D by Saturday. At least give us a chance to choose if we want the 3D upgrade and cause these kind of issues this morning.

It's likely not related to the update, just coincidence. It's most likely bad or corrupt guide data.

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#170 OFFLINE   onan38

onan38

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 240 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:16 AM

Just spoke to someone at Directv they told me " power failure at the Denver service center might be to blame for the issue" and to reboot twice.

#171 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,913 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:16 AM

RBR wont work on two of my boxes, no matter how many times I tried. Unplugging the receivers worked. What a bunch of bs.


The Red Button is behind the Access Card door on the front of the receiver. It is NOT the red button on your remote control.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#172 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,824 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:17 AM

Give me a break. Not 1% of DirecTV subscribers will have 3D by Saturday. At least give us a chance to choose if we want the 3D upgrade and cause these kind of issues this morning.

Who said anything about this being a 3D problem? :scratchin

AFAIK, this has nothing to do with 3D. Besides, there will only be one firmware version for a given receiver so having the option isn't going to happen.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#173 OFFLINE   lost4now

lost4now

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2010

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:17 AM

actually good news for me, I just got a "new" HR20-700 on Friday and thought I had killed it already:) was dreading the call to D*

#174 OFFLINE   DogLover

DogLover

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,510 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:18 AM

People, help me here.

I remember an incident a couple of years ago when DirecTV had bad guide data and they did a nationwide software download for the HR20 (the only DVR at that time) in the middle of the afternoon to flush the system clean. Anybody else remember this? I wonder if DirecTV will have to do it again?


I think that's why they added code to flush the guide data when 2 reboots are performed within 30 minutes. So my guess would be no.
DogLover

My Setup

#175 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,485 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:20 AM

Who said anything about this being a 3D problem? :scratchin

AFAIK, this has nothing to do with 3D. Besides, there will only be one firmware version for a given receiver so having the option isn't going to happen.

Mike

You know, I didn't put my glasses on before I did my first reboot - maybe it was working and I couldn't see it. :grin::grin:

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#176 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,299 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:22 AM

hr20s recovered after 2 rbrs

#177 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,913 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:22 AM

How about they send out an email as well. I have no desire to follow DTV on Twitter and be spammed even more with ads.


They probably will, but unfortunately I don't think that they can push that out as quickly. Yeah, I know it seems crazy, but they still have to follow certain protocols and procedures for the e-mails and e-mail deliver isn't always instantaneous anyway.

Heck, I found out about it here when I got in to work this morning .. :lol:
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#178 OFFLINE   ChrisPC

ChrisPC

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 437 posts
Joined: Jun 16, 2003

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:22 AM

My HR20-700 is frozen at the lowest channel, even after reboot. My mother-in-law's HR23 is doing the same thing.

#179 OFFLINE   kareztt

kareztt

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2007

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:23 AM

Had to do 2 RBR's to get it to work on the HR's. After the first the unit was totally unresponsive to remote or front panel commands. Seem that the CE process was not used here, clearly a mistake. I hate to think of the support headache this caused.:nono2:
__________________
HR-20-700 Networked Wired, Seagate 750 GB e-Sata
HR-20-700 Networked Linksys Ethernet over Powerline
HR-21-100 Networked Wireless-N - WGA600N
Yamaha RX-V661 AV Receiver
Samsung 50" 1080P Plasma
PS3 for Blu-Ray (Wow!)
Samsung 32" 720P LCD

#180 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:23 AM

Just spoke to someone at Directv they told me " power failure at the Denver service center might be to blame for the issue" and to reboot twice.

It also could be caused by oil in the gulf, but I doubt it.

I'm sure DirecTV has sufficient generator and battery back-up in their main upload center to not have issues with a power failure.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A




spam firewall