Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Help Please!


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   wanderer666

wanderer666

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2008

Posted 08 June 2010 - 11:09 PM

OK the software download froze up my DVR last night. It went into a scandisk and after 18 hours and over 7000 errors it finally completed and said passed.
However when I try rebooting it gets stuck on the "Checking satellite settings" screen and freezes there. I have tried multiple reboots and the tech at D is clueless. He told me he will have a grade 1 tech call me or something which i am highly skeptical of. It worked fine before the software download. any suggestions are much appreciated!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,486 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 09 June 2010 - 12:37 AM

Do you have other Receivers/DVRs? Are they working OK?
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   jasonki32

jasonki32

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 327 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 09 June 2010 - 01:41 AM

Pull the cord on it for about 15 seconds and then let it reboot. See if that helps at all.
HR24-500 Sony 46" LCD
HR24-500 Samsung 52" LCD
HR22-100 Sony 46" LCD
HR21-200 Sony 27"LCD
SWiM16 + DECA

#4 OFFLINE   mobouser

mobouser

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: May 23, 2007

Posted 09 June 2010 - 11:37 AM

Kill the power cord twice wait about 5 seconds between disconnects

#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,621 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 June 2010 - 11:39 AM

Pull the cord on it for about 15 seconds and then let it reboot. See if that helps at all.

5 to 10 mins is better. ;)
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   johns70

johns70

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 200 posts
Joined: May 02, 2010

Posted 09 June 2010 - 02:38 PM

5 to 10 mins is better. ;)


Why ? :confused:

#7 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,202 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 09 June 2010 - 03:33 PM

Why ? :confused:


...gives you a chance to get a cup of coffee or a cold one from the fridge. :D

15 seconds may be a bit too short. Ten minutes may be unnecessarily long.

Edited by billsharpe, 09 June 2010 - 03:34 PM.
changed 5 seconds to 15

Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#8 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,621 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 June 2010 - 03:50 PM

Why ? :confused:


...gives you a chance to get a cup of coffee or a cold one from the fridge. :D

15 seconds may be a bit too short. Ten minutes may be unnecessarily long.

More than a few seconds is needed. 3 mins "or so" is what's in the manual, and from all the testing we do here, 10 mins seems to be a good time for all the voltages to bleed off and be able to do a true "cold boot".
A.K.A VOS




spam firewall