Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DECA for sharing recordings


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jostarr

jostarr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 106 posts
Joined: Dec 14, 2006

Posted 09 June 2010 - 08:13 AM

This may have been asked before. If so, I apologize. But, the various threads are very confusing.

I do not want access via the internet, or cellphone or anything like that. I am a DTV subscriber since 1996 and have bought and installed all equipment and upgrades myself. Currently I have:

!. A 5 LNB Slimline Dish
2. A SWM-8 switch with 2, 1x4 splitters.
3 1, H20-100
4. 1, H21-200
5. 2, HR22-100
Several legacy Receivers.

All installed by me and working perfectly.

Question: If I buy 3, DECA MR-01 units on eBay (for the 2, Hr22 and 1, H21), is that all I need to share recorded programs between the 3 units?

No DTV installer required?
No router connection?
No internet connection?
No $ 3.00 fee and calls to CSR's?

I certainly hope so. If not, what else do I have to do?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 09 June 2010 - 08:15 AM

That should work, but you will need to pay the $3 fee. No way around that. You will have to call to activate it as well.

EDIT: You'll also need a band stop filter for every non-DECA receiver and the SWM, along with green label splitters to replace whatever splitters you have now.

#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,953 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 June 2010 - 08:18 AM

This may have been asked before. If so, I apologize. But, the various threads are very confusing.

I do not want access via the internet, or cellphone or anything like that. I am a DTV subscriber since 1996 and have bought and installed all equipment and upgrades myself. Currently I have:

!. A 5 LNB Slimline Dish
2. A SWM-8 switch with 2, 1x4 splitters.
3 1, H20-100
4. 1, H21-200
5. 2, HR22-100
Several legacy Receivers.

All installed by me and working perfectly.

Question: If I buy 3, DECA MR-01 units on eBay (for the 2, Hr22 and 1, H21), is that all I need to share recorded programs between the 3 units?

No DTV installer required?
No router connection?
No internet connection?
No $ 3.00 fee and calls to CSR's?

I certainly hope so. If not, what else do I have to do?

You won't get the H20 to work, since there is no network jack.
Splitters need to be changed.
To activate the service will cost $3/month.
You'll need to add some bandstop filters.
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   jostarr

jostarr

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 106 posts
Joined: Dec 14, 2006

Posted 09 June 2010 - 08:26 AM

Thanks for the quick replies.

If I do not use thew DECA approach and use CAT5 to my router and each of the 3 Receivers with jacks, can I share recordings without the $ 3.00 fee? Remember, I do not want to be able to access any of this from outside my home.

Or, is the $ 3.00\month fee required for any means of sharing recordings?

#5 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,089 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 09 June 2010 - 08:27 AM

$3 fee is a must for MRV, no matter what.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#6 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 June 2010 - 08:27 AM

You will need to pay the fee even if you're using unsupported equipment (like ethernet cables.)
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#7 OFFLINE   jostarr

jostarr

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 106 posts
Joined: Dec 14, 2006

Posted 09 June 2010 - 08:30 AM

Ok, thanks again.

BTW, what does the 'activation' accomplish?

#8 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 June 2010 - 08:33 AM

Well... it starts the fee :)
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#9 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 09 June 2010 - 08:34 AM

Ok, thanks again.

BTW, what does the 'activation' accomplish?


Well... it starts the fee :)


And allows the feature to function.

#10 OFFLINE   BruceS

BruceS

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 549 posts
  • LocationAlbany, NY
Joined: Sep 23, 2006

Posted 09 June 2010 - 08:36 AM

Ok, thanks again.

BTW, what does the 'activation' accomplish?


I don't know for sure, but I suspect that it sends a signal to each of your receivers that tells them they can now use the MRV portion of their firmware.
Hitachi P60X901 HDTV
HR21-200, HR20-700, HR24-500, HR44-500
Tivo S3, Tivo Premiere HDXL
Sony BDP-CX960 Blu Ray Player
Sony DVP-CX995V DVD Player
Marantz SR7001 A/V Receiver

#11 OFFLINE   jostarr

jostarr

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 106 posts
Joined: Dec 14, 2006

Posted 09 June 2010 - 08:50 AM

Yep ...I get it. So, if I activate and pay e fee, then I have access to all the functions including remote from outside my LAN.

hilmar2k said:
You'll also need a band stop filter for every non-DECA receiver and the SWM, along with green label splitters to replace whatever splitters you have now.

So equipment wise I would need;

2, MR-01 units for the 2, HR22's
1, MR-01 unit for the H20-100 ??
1, MR-01 unit for the SWM-8 Switch ??

What and why are green label splitters required??? Model Number & Source??

Anything else? I hope I won't have to make changes in my Programming Package.

#12 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,953 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 June 2010 - 08:52 AM

Yep ...I get it. So, if I activate and pay e fee, then I have access to all the functions including remote from outside my LAN.

hilmar2k said:
You'll also need a band stop filter for every non-DECA receiver and the SWM, along with green label splitters to replace whatever splitters you have now.

So equipment wise I would need;

2, MR-01 units for the 2, HR22's
1, MR-01 unit for the H20-100 ??
1, MR-01 unit for the SWM-8 Switch ??

What and why are green label splitters required??? Model Number & Source??

Anything else? I hope I won't have to make changes in my Programming Package.

:confused: you either have a typo or good luck finding a network port to connect a DECA to, or for that matter an ethernet cable. :confused:
A.K.A VOS

#13 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 09 June 2010 - 08:54 AM

Yep ...I get it. So, if I activate and pay e fee, then I have access to all the functions including remote from outside my LAN.

hilmar2k said:
You'll also need a band stop filter for every non-DECA receiver and the SWM, along with green label splitters to replace whatever splitters you have now.

So equipment wise I would need;

2, MR-01 units for the 2, HR22's
1, MR-01 unit for the H20-100 ??
1, MR-01 unit for the SWM-8 Switch ??

What and why are green label splitters required??? Model Number & Source??

Anything else? I hope I won't have to make changes in my Programming Package.


You need the following:

3 DECA adapters
2 4 way green label splitters
Band stop filters for every non-DECA receiver and the SWM

#14 OFFLINE   rsblaski

rsblaski

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 812 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2003

Posted 09 June 2010 - 09:57 AM

After looking at your requirements, I would suggest that for the same or slightly more money that you would spend to do it yourself, you could have D* do a WHDVR install which would also include an upgrade for your H20 as well as a brand new dish or lnb. This would also include a connection to your network.
Another advantage would be D* support if you ever had a MRV problem which would not be there for an unsupported system.
Remember, when it comes to audio/video, more is always better. (This does NOT apply to remote controls!)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...