Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

New MRV INSTALL NOT WORKING


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rc10j1

rc10j1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jun 11, 2010

Posted 11 June 2010 - 07:45 PM

I have had directv for several years with no problems. Yesterday I had a tech come out to install the multi room dvr. It is not working. In my setup menu on all my recievers if I go to multi room and status, it says no networked dvr found. Attached is a picture of how he set it up. Also with this setup will my DVR be hooked to the internet with the router hooked up to the deca of another receiver as pictured? Or do I need to add one more ethernet cable from the HR21-700 to its deca or does the internet go through the coax?

Thanks for the help guys.

Attached Thumbnails

  • DTV SETUP.JPG


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Directvlover

Directvlover

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 221 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2007

Posted 11 June 2010 - 07:53 PM

Are all your DECA's getting power? Do you see the lights light up on them.

#3 OFFLINE   wallfishman

wallfishman

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 509 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2008

Posted 11 June 2010 - 07:54 PM

I have had directv for several years with no problems. Yesterday I had a tech come out to install the multi room dvr. It is not working. In my setup menu on all my recievers if I go to multi room and status, it says no networked dvr found. Attached is a picture of how he set it up. Also with this setup will my DVR be hooked to the internet with the router hooked up to the deca of another receiver as pictured? Or do I need to add one more ethernet cable from the HR21-700 to its deca or does the internet go through the coax?

Thanks for the help guys.


that setup isnt right. the network line of that last deca needs to goto that receiver not the router. either way that router needs its own deca and it would also need a power supply. right now that last dvr is out of the loop

#4 OFFLINE   rc10j1

rc10j1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jun 11, 2010

Posted 11 June 2010 - 07:59 PM

Yes all my DECA's have the green lights all lit up, but still no networked dvr found.
Have rebooted all several times. Is there a setting somewhere to change?

As far as connecting the internet. The installer said I could just hook my router to that DECA and The internet would connect to the DVR in the other room via the DECA. Can I install a splitter before that deca and add a deca and power supply to hook to the router?

#5 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,797 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 11 June 2010 - 07:59 PM

Is each DECA hooked to the ethernet on the HRs?
The router one is wrong. You need an extra DECA, PI on it, and coax to it then to your modem.
Is there no band stop filter?
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#6 OFFLINE   rc10j1

rc10j1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jun 11, 2010

Posted 11 June 2010 - 08:02 PM

No band stop filter. My DVR used to have 2 coax going to it but he said with the swim system I only need one now. Is this correct?

#7 OFFLINE   rc10j1

rc10j1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jun 11, 2010

Posted 11 June 2010 - 08:03 PM

No each deca is not hooked up to each HR. He said it didn't need to but it should be correct? That is how they share an internet connection right?

#8 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,797 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 11 June 2010 - 08:04 PM

No band stop filter. My DVR used to have 2 coax going to it but he said with the swim system I only need one now. Is this correct?


Correct. Only 1 line.

Band stop filter is not BBCs, which you had.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#9 OFFLINE   barryb

barryb

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,935 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 11 June 2010 - 08:07 PM

I keep looking at that picture and something isn't sitting right with me.

There is no splitter? I most cases the DVRs would terminate to a splitter, and then to the SWiM.
Barry
MY SETUP
You can usually find me helping out in the Quiet Room on Friday chat night.

#10 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,797 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 11 June 2010 - 08:08 PM

No each deca is not hooked up to each HR. He said it didn't need to but it should be correct? That is how they share an internet connection right?


It looks like this. http://www.dbstalk.c...76&d=1274537286
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#11 OFFLINE   barryb

barryb

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,935 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 11 June 2010 - 08:08 PM

We are all in chat right now, so if you want to talk to some experts: http://www.dbstalk.com/addonchat.php
Barry
MY SETUP
You can usually find me helping out in the Quiet Room on Friday chat night.

#12 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,552 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 11 June 2010 - 08:09 PM

Is that one line connected to the #1 input?
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#13 OFFLINE   rc10j1

rc10j1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jun 11, 2010

Posted 11 June 2010 - 08:16 PM

Yes its on #1 input

#14 OFFLINE   rc10j1

rc10j1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jun 11, 2010

Posted 11 June 2010 - 09:08 PM

looks like the tech screwed me on the ethernet cables!

#15 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 11 June 2010 - 09:16 PM

looks like the tech screwed me on the ethernet cables!


You're also short a DECA adapter. Each receiver and your router need their own adapter. In addtion, the DECA adapter on your router needs a power supply since it won't be powered by a receiver.

#16 OFFLINE   rc10j1

rc10j1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jun 11, 2010

Posted 11 June 2010 - 09:21 PM

Problem solved guys! the tech didn't leave me the ethernet cables but now I got it going thanks to all your help! I really appreciate it!

#17 ONLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,238 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 11 June 2010 - 09:38 PM

This is why you should make sure everything is tested and works before the tech leaves. If it isn't right you don't sign off on the work. Not trying to bust on you, but making sure other people know this as well.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#18 ONLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,238 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 11 June 2010 - 09:40 PM

Problem solved guys! the tech didn't leave me the ethernet cables but now I got it going thanks to all your help! I really appreciate it!


Glad it works. Be sure to contact DirecTV and let them know that they tech did not leave you a DECA and PI for you to connect to the Internet. They will either have a tech come back out or in some cases they are just shipping the parts to the customer.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#19 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,617 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 June 2010 - 09:41 PM

Glad it works. Be sure to contact DirecTV and let them know that they tech did not leave you a DECA and PI for you to connect to the Internet. They will either have a tech come back out or in some cases they are just shipping the parts to the customer.

- Merg

Out of the chatroom, he has the tech's cell number and is coming back out
A.K.A VOS

#20 OFFLINE   mikemyers

mikemyers

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: May 18, 2010

Posted 12 June 2010 - 11:50 AM

Having listened in on the 'chat' last night, I now think it would have been nice had there been a way to capture the chat session and somehow post it here. A lot was said last night that would have been a help to people reading this, beyond just saying the problem was solved.




spam firewall