Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Installation issues


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Dish Novice

Dish Novice

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2010

Posted 13 June 2010 - 07:07 PM

I recently moved from cable to Dish - so far so good....

I also go camping and would like to take my 211 with me - I've purchased a 1000.2 antenna and off I went.

I could not get the system running - set up the antenna with AZ, SK & EL from book - antenna was level - could not pull in 110, 119 or 129.

I use 3 quad shield rg6 cables to a Dish Network triplex to get one cable to the 211 receiver.

What an I missing?

Do I need a DPP44 switch - and if I do, do I need the power pack as well????

Thanks for any and all help.

Dish Novice

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,757 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 13 June 2010 - 07:45 PM

I use 3 quad shield rg6 cables to a Dish Network triplex to get one cable to the 211 receiver.

From a 1000.2 dish you should be able to connect a single cable from the first output on the DISH to the receiver and not have anything else in between.

#3 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 14 June 2010 - 08:01 AM

Try setting up the dish in your back yard to gain experience. I would suggest a dish 300 as a better camping dish it only sees 1 satellite but it is much easier to set up because you are looking for only one satellite.

#4 OFFLINE   VDP07

VDP07

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 482 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 15 June 2010 - 12:48 PM

I assume you are trying to use your system in some sort of RV. If so, I suspect you are running the sat cable through your RV's factory installed cabling. Most newer RV's (last 5 years or so) have connections for both satellite and park cable. If yours does not, there is most likely a splitter in the line somewhere. If there is more than 1 outlet in your RV there is definatly a splitter somewhere. If this is the case you'll have to modify your RV's factory cabling or run a direct cable from your dish to the receiver.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...