Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DISH Network vs Cable (Insight)


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Cable Lover

Cable Lover

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 14 June 2010 - 07:46 PM

I'm getting kind of tired of my cable company. My rates just jacked to $73.90/month. This is what I get http://www.myinsight...neupCardKEN.pdf


I don't get or want any HBO, Showtime etc. I just want Fox News, Nickeloden and Disney for the three year old and the ESPNs without breaking the bank, and the HD for life has me curious. Would Dish be a good fit for me? :eek:
RIP Insight.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 14 June 2010 - 07:53 PM

How many TVs? How many need HD and/or DVR service?

We need those answers before we can have any idea of what you would pay with Dish.

#3 OFFLINE   Cable Lover

Cable Lover

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 14 June 2010 - 08:17 PM

How many TVs? How many need HD and/or DVR service?

We need those answers before we can have any idea of what you would pay with Dish.


Only 1 HD, and 2 SD. I'm only worried about a DVR on the HD TV.
RIP Insight.

#4 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 14 June 2010 - 08:58 PM

So 722/211, Top 120 + locals for $39.99, free HD promo, $6 DVR fee, $7 additional receiver fee, $15 off for 12 months with commitment.
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...

#5 OFFLINE   Cable Lover

Cable Lover

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 15 June 2010 - 07:16 AM

So 722/211, Top 120 + locals for $39.99, free HD promo, $6 DVR fee, $7 additional receiver fee, $15 off for 12 months with commitment.


That's what I was thinking. I'd lose WGN, but save about $35.00/month.
RIP Insight.

#6 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,727 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 15 June 2010 - 07:43 AM

Go up to AT200 , lose about $14-$16 / month savings and you would pickup WGN America.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#7 OFFLINE   Bigg

Bigg

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 279 posts
Joined: Feb 26, 2010

Posted 15 June 2010 - 11:27 AM

If you don't need more than 2 TV's at the same time, you can get a single 722 with AT120, and same some serious money.

#8 OFFLINE   Cable Lover

Cable Lover

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 15 June 2010 - 03:04 PM

I kid you not. I just got my mail and my cable price is going up another $5.00/month. Looks like I'm coming to Dish
RIP Insight.

#9 OFFLINE   Cable Lover

Cable Lover

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 15 June 2010 - 03:06 PM

I noticed that Dish has a Superstation package for $7.00/month. How does KWGN differ from WGN America? Do they carry Cubs games?
RIP Insight.

#10 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 15 June 2010 - 03:24 PM

I noticed that Dish has a Superstation package for $7.00/month. How does KWGN differ from WGN America? Do they carry Cubs games?


KWGN is the CW affiliate from Denver.
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...

#11 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 657 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 15 June 2010 - 04:01 PM

No cubs games on KWGN. Might see some Rockies games though? w/ the superstations package you should also get the occasional Yankees game on WOR, clippers games on KTLA, and Mets games on WPIX

http://shad.is.dream...fl/collect.html 1000 AFL games and counting......





spam firewall