Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV Satellite Discussion D-14 @99W


  • Please log in to reply
2977 replies to this topic

#526 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 18,283 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 21 May 2012 - 05:24 PM

Why couldn't they simply make the ka band transponders ku band? We know they have made changes to the frequencies of tpns before they where launched before from what we expected, and we have yet to see any real filings of technical data on d15 yet.

I was simply speculating that may happen after a successful launch of d14 to orbit and service. If it doesn't make it to orbit and service, then I would see d15 as a replacement to d14... They can wait to set or install tpns till they know if d14 is successful, can't they? Just like they did with d12?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#527 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,182 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 21 May 2012 - 05:49 PM

Why couldn't they simply make the ka band transponders ku band? We know they have made changes to the frequencies of tpns before they where launched before from what we expected, and we have yet to see any real filings of technical data on d15 yet.

I was simply speculating that may happen after a successful launch of d14 to orbit and service. If it doesn't make it to orbit and service, then I would see d15 as a replacement to d14... They can wait to set or install tpns till they know if d14 is successful, can't they? Just like they did with d12?


Nope, not really. Every single satellite vehicle is a specific "space station" in FCC terms and requires specific licensing authority to operate. The license for the satellite specifies the RF payload that the satellite is allowed to operate.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#528 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,383 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 21 May 2012 - 06:58 PM

Why couldn't they simply make the ka band transponders ku band? ...

By law of physics - dimensions of RF guides/tubes are different for Ka and Ku freqs.

#529 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,182 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 21 May 2012 - 07:32 PM

By law of physics - dimensions of RF guides/tubes are different for Ka and Ku freqs.


Changing physical transponder hardware is the least of the issues. FCC approval is far more important and harder to accomplish.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#530 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,119 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 23 May 2012 - 09:39 PM

For those interested, the beam footprints for all 47 D14 Beams are published and available here at DBSTALK at the Tips & Resources Forum, in the Beam Footprint Library thread.

These are all interactive displays which require that you have the GoogleEarth application. Details are all in the Footprint Library thread.


#531 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,583 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 24 May 2012 - 07:17 AM

For those interested, the beam footprints for all 47 D14 Beams are published and available here at DBSTALK at the Tips & Resources Forum, in the Beam Footprint Library thread.

These are all interactive displays which require that you have the GoogleEarth application. Details are all in the Footprint Library thread.


GREAT WORK!!
Thanks to spears61 for his expertise in this area.

Just a shame we have to wait 18 months. I'm so impatient!!

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#532 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,928 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 24 May 2012 - 11:20 AM

Yes ... great work indeed;

Though the Puerto Rico spotbeam assignment is a little confusing with the MS database reading it as if there will be two separate beams "B23" (LHCP or even channels ) and "B24" (RHCP or odd channels).

And spears61 list which has it as a single SB, "B23LR," to carry both L/RHCP channels on the same beam which like the Hawaii SB "CO1" makes more sense of course than having two overlapping spots for L/RHCP channel sets. But still confusing.

#533 OFFLINE   Carolina

Carolina

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 85 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2012

Posted 27 May 2012 - 05:12 AM

Did they skip D13 because they were afraid of bad luck? :lol: I have heard of building that don't have a floor called the 13th floor. They jump the numbers from 12 to 14.

#534 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,600 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 27 May 2012 - 06:48 AM

Did they skip D13 because they were afraid of bad luck? :lol: I have heard of building that don't have a floor called the 13th floor. They jump the numbers from 12 to 14.


D13 was a replacement for 5, but was cancelled.

#535 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,383 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 May 2012 - 09:29 AM

Did they skip D13 because they were afraid of bad luck? :lol: I have heard of building that don't have a floor called the 13th floor. They jump the numbers from 12 to 14.


It was 7th times when the same question asked here, in the thread. :lol:
First time it was : http://www.dbstalk.c...d13#post2856312

Perhaps It should be sticky at top of the thread ?

#536 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 18,283 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 27 May 2012 - 12:39 PM

Nope, not really. Every single satellite vehicle is a specific "space station" in FCC terms and requires specific licensing authority to operate. The license for the satellite specifies the RF payload that the satellite is allowed to operate.


Maybe I wasn't clear. I am saying if d14 is successful, who's to say they don't get approval to and setup d15 to be used at 101 and replace one or more of the aging satelites at that location?n they haven't asked for any authorization for that sat yet have they?

#537 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,182 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 28 May 2012 - 07:33 AM

Maybe I wasn't clear. I am saying if d14 is successful, who's to say they don't get approval to and setup d15 to be used at 101 and replace one or more of the aging satelites at that location?n they haven't asked for any authorization for that sat yet have they?


Yeah, they might do that. As far as I recall, there have been no public FCC filings about D15 yet. There was an investor presentation a year or so ago showing the estimated lifespan of the satellite fleet and yeah, there will need to be some vehicles in the pipeline to replace the Ku birds at 101. I suspect, however, they we may not see FCC documents about them until they are well underway. Approval to replace existing satellites in a slot and bandwidth segment for which they already have an operating license is probably pretty pro forma.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#538 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,218 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 02 June 2012 - 10:40 PM

More on the Spectrum battle, hopefully over now:

http://licensing.fcc...ment_key=953571


DirecTV: Genie HR44, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/75)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#539 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,091 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 02 June 2012 - 11:03 PM

More on the Spectrum battle, hopefully over now:

http://licensing.fcc...ment_key=953571


Sure is a long document to tell the Netherlands to take their satellite and shove it :)

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#540 OFFLINE   bjlc

bjlc

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 996 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2004

Posted 03 June 2012 - 07:03 AM

do we actually have a launch date time frame? is it this year? or next.. Its been a real long time since we got the last satellite..

#541 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,367 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 03 June 2012 - 10:42 AM

do we actually have a launch date time frame? is it this year? or next.. Its been a real long time since we got the last satellite..


If you look through the thread, you can find an estimate of late 2013 for D14.

#542 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,928 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 04 June 2012 - 03:33 AM

If you look through the thread, you can find an estimate of late 2013 for D14.


The LOA document actually states a launch window of late 2013 to early 2014;

From the PDF:

"DIRECTV anticipates that Space Systems/Loral will complete construction of DIRECTV 14 in the fourth quarter of 2013 and that the satellite will be launched by the end of that year or in early 2014."

#543 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,600 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 04 June 2012 - 05:17 AM

Well, there has to be some leeway for weather and such. Not sure if there are launch windows.

#544 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,182 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 04 June 2012 - 07:12 AM

If you look through the thread, you can find an estimate of late 2013 for D14.


The LOA document actually states a launch window of late 2013 to early 2014;

From the PDF:

"DIRECTV anticipates that Space Systems/Loral will complete construction of DIRECTV 14 in the fourth quarter of 2013 and that the satellite will be launched by the end of that year or in early 2014."


Well, there has to be some leeway for weather and such. Not sure if there are launch windows.


Well there are launch windows but that's more due to the availability of the launch range assets (exclusionary zones and tracking assets, plus the personnel and crews to operate the equipment and enforce the keep-out areas downrange) and orbital operations and tracking personnel availability. Not to mention the biggest "window" of them all, which is the availability of a launch vehicle. That depends mostly on the launch operator chosen. Both Directv 14 and Directv 15 will fly on Ariane V rockets from Kourou, French Guiana.

http://www.arianespa...011-directv.asp

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#545 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,600 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 04 June 2012 - 07:33 AM

Thanks. I figured since it was going to the type of orbit they use, that the launch windows weren't quite as complicated that NASA can end up with when they have to intercept an object, or hit a particular sequence of planets.

#546 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,182 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 27 June 2012 - 06:43 AM

Of some interest to the future of the Directv satellite constellation, Space Systems/Loral (SS/L) is being acquired by the Canadian firm MDA. Shouldn't affect things really, but some of us do like to follow the major comings and goings in the aerospace industry.

http://spaceref.biz/...uster-deal.html

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#547 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,218 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 27 June 2012 - 06:54 AM

Also was some earth station items last week.

http://licensing.fcc...erC/File Number

http://licensing.fcc...erC/File Number

http://licensing.fcc...erC/File Number


"DIRECTV Enterprises, LLC requests authority to license a new earth station to communicate with DIRECTV's Ka-band satellites."

"DIRECTV Enterprises, LLC requests authority to operate a new DBS earth station at its Virginica facility."
DirecTV: Genie HR44, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/75)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#548 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,600 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:21 AM

I hope the FCC aren't sticklers for typos.

#549 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,928 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:43 AM

I hope the FCC aren't sticklers for typos.


Yeah ...;

Unless there's a state of "Virginica" no one knows about. ;)

#550 ONLINE   yosoyellobo

yosoyellobo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 2,351 posts
  • LocationJacksonville Fl
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 27 June 2012 - 10:08 AM

One of my nieces lives their.:)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...