Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV Satellite Discussion D-14 @99W


  • Please log in to reply
2977 replies to this topic

#626 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,264 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 17 December 2012 - 02:54 PM

Why would they want to give up the 32 Ku transponders at 101, IMHO that makes no sense?

See post My Setup for configuration info.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#627 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,930 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 17 December 2012 - 03:07 PM

Why would they want to give up the 32 Ku transponders at 101, IMHO that makes no sense?


That's where the confusion comes in.

AdvancedTelevision.com in March has Goswitz saying Ku signals will eventually end.

Yet later at October 1st Swanni also allegedly quotes from AdvancedTelevision.com (no date given) has Goswitz now saying the Ku band will be used in the future for Ultra HD channels.

http://www.tvpredict...m/dhd100112.htm

#628 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 18,308 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 December 2012 - 03:56 PM

That's where the confusion comes in.

AdvancedTelevision.com in March has Goswitz saying Ku signals will eventually end.

Yet later at October 1st Swanni also allegedly quotes from AdvancedTelevision.com (no date given) has Goswitz now saying the Ku band will be used in the future for Ultra HD channels.

http://www.tvpredict...m/dhd100112.htm


I think he probably meant that he sess sd mpeg2 from Ku ending, thus implying it will be retasked for other uses at some point than core sd programing that it is used for now. Possibly 4/8k. I also wouldn't be surprised if they use some bss at some point to get all the local sub channels. Maybe even some of the ku capacity at some point down the road, after its emptied.

#629 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,172 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 17 December 2012 - 06:17 PM

I think that the Ku band with its better signal to noise ratio and better ability to plow through rain fade (as opposed to Ka) would allow them to utilize higher order modulation rates (like 8PSK). This higher spectrum efficiency poses a great asset to high bandwidth 4k / 8k ultra definition content. Paired with new advanced codecs, there could be a capacity for a half decent lineup of 4k or even 8k channels.

I don't think they can bounce 8PSK off of many Ku transponders today because all the old equipment deployed out there that doesn't have the ability to demodulate that type of signal. I could see it being a gradual transition as old receivers are swapped out, much like some Echostar birds have a mix of 8PSK and QPSK.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST: Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#630 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,930 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 18 December 2012 - 12:35 PM

I think that the Ku band with its better signal to noise ratio and better ability to plow through rain fade (as opposed to Ka) would allow them to utilize higher order modulation rates (like 8PSK). This higher spectrum efficiency poses a great asset to high bandwidth 4k / 8k ultra definition content. Paired with new advanced codecs, there could be a capacity for a half decent lineup of 4k or even 8k channels.

I don't think they can bounce 8PSK off of many Ku transponders today because all the old equipment deployed out there that doesn't have the ability to demodulate that type of signal. I could see it being a gradual transition as old receivers are swapped out, much like some Echostar birds have a mix of 8PSK and QPSK.


Yes, but I wonder if the regulations for the Ku band BSS service will need to be entirely revamped first, as they were firmly established by the FCC and ITU long ago (AP30/AP30A standards) for 32 24 MHz wide transponder channels per slot (For "our" ITU region 2) at 9 degree longitude spacing.

Doubt you can do much with only 24 MHz wide transponders for UHD even with higher level modulation like 8-PSK or new greater compression formats beyond MPEG-4.

Edited by HoTat2, 06 February 2013 - 09:46 AM.


#631 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,220 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 06 February 2013 - 05:49 AM

Brazil:

http://licensing.fcc...ment_key=984691

http://licensing.fcc...erC/File Number



#632 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 21,166 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 08 February 2013 - 12:15 AM

Brazil:

Isn't 45W outside the purview of the FCC?
Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK

#633 OFFLINE   yosoyellobo

yosoyellobo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 2,353 posts
  • LocationJacksonville Fl
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 08 February 2013 - 06:50 AM

When would D14 be operational more or less.

#634 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,930 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 08 February 2013 - 07:10 AM

When would D14 be operational more or less.


Estimate late first quarter to early second quarter 2014.

#635 OFFLINE   yosoyellobo

yosoyellobo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 2,353 posts
  • LocationJacksonville Fl
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 08 February 2013 - 08:16 AM

Thanks.

#636 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,941 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 08 February 2013 - 09:06 AM

Estimate late first quarter to early second quarter 2014.

Has a launch date been set yet?

#637 OFFLINE   lwilli201

lwilli201

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,097 posts
  • LocationMissouri
Joined: Dec 22, 2006

Posted 08 February 2013 - 09:39 AM

Isn't 45W outside the purview of the FCC?


Very good question. 45W appears to be directly above Brazil. The filing indicates that the uplinks will be in Brazil. The US may be the coordinator of the geosynchronous orbit in the western hemisphere. Now who coordinates all the GPS and spy satellites running around up there is any ones guess.

1-HR24-100
1-HR21-100
2-HR21-700
H21-100
SWM16

Wired network, unsupported MRV. AT9 Dish(110 & 119 disabled)


#638 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,930 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 08 February 2013 - 10:20 AM

Has a launch date been set yet?


Nothing definitive yet, other than the launch window estimate DIRECTV filed with the FCC in the Schedule S document.

From 1/15/2014 to 3/1/2014.

#639 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,106 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 11 February 2013 - 03:20 PM

Isn't 45W outside the purview of the FCC?


Intelsat has a satellite at 45°WL that is authorized for service into the US and Canada, so I guess that gives the FCC some control. Also, since command and control, if not some uplink of content, could presumably originate in the US, that could also give the FCC a say.

I would imagine that DirecTV also needs to file an application with Brazil to authorize broadcasting into that country.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#640 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 21,166 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 12 February 2013 - 12:16 AM

Intelsat has a satellite at 45°WL that is authorized for service into the US and Canada, so I guess that gives the FCC some control. Also, since command and control, if not some uplink of content, could presumably originate in the US, that could also give the FCC a say.

From the filing, all transmission (including TT&C run on the edges of the uplink band) would be from and to Brazil.

The FCC generally doesn't hold sway to anything on or over international waters unless it is broadcast from a ship registered to the US so maybe that's what is going on here. IIRC, there are some Mexican broadcast stations located in the oceans that relay content under this exception.
Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK

#641 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,106 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 13 February 2013 - 10:31 AM

From the filing, all transmission (including TT&C run on the edges of the uplink band) would be from and to Brazil.

The FCC generally doesn't hold sway to anything on or over international waters unless it is broadcast from a ship registered to the US so maybe that's what is going on here. IIRC, there are some Mexican broadcast stations located in the oceans that relay content under this exception.


Uplink and C&C aside, I would still think that the presence of the Intelsat satellite gives the FCC some jurisdiction due to their responsibilities to avoid harmful interference.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#642 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,220 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 11 April 2013 - 07:14 AM

The latest with D14 17/24 GHz BSS testing:

http://licensing.fcc...ment_key=992739

Will have the D14 thread "live" soon. (locked at the moment)

#643 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,329 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 11 April 2013 - 07:36 AM

Well, this document had to be filed "no later than 9 months prior to launch" and it is dated April 5 so the soonest it could launch is early January, 2014...at the very earliest.

That doesn't even account for getting scheduled at the launch facility, etc.

So best case to see it lit up what with parking, IOT, etc is roughly a year from now.

I'm not obsessing, am I?
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#644 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,220 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 11 April 2013 - 07:50 AM

That's about right from what we know now.

#645 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,182 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 12 April 2013 - 06:10 AM

Well, this document had to be filed "no later than 9 months prior to launch" and it is dated April 5 so the soonest it could launch is early January, 2014...at the very earliest.

That doesn't even account for getting scheduled at the launch facility, etc.

So best case to see it lit up what with parking, IOT, etc is roughly a year from now.

I'm not obsessing, am I?


D14 is still listed on the Arianespace launch manifest for "early 2014." It's fourth on the list right now, ahead on ATV-4 to the ISS, which has a definite launch date penciled in for April 12, 2014. The others will be slotted in pending payload availability, launch processing flow, range and tracking asset availability, etc.

Edited by LameLefty, 12 April 2013 - 06:57 AM.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#646 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,371 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 04 June 2013 - 07:09 PM

This thread has been somewhat quiet, but with D14/RB-1 being operational in about a year (+/-), iIt's probably a good time to wake it up and start discussing the implementation.

 

Have we determined what (if any) receiving equipment changes will be required for RB-1?  It could require a new LNB assembly with two downconverters sharing the 103 feedhorn or two feedhorns for the same location.  Would new SWMs be required?  Would there be interference issues with the image frequency? 

 

Edit:  That should be 99 rather than 103.



#647 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,930 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 04 June 2013 - 10:58 PM

First since D14/RB-1 is headed for 99w, it'll be the 99 feed horn ...  :)

 

And as Dish Network successfully demonstrates by using frequencies up to 3 GHz over RG-6 coax to feed their Hopper, My guess is that a new LNB will be designed to place the RDBS band of 17.3-17.7 GHz somewhere 200 MHz or more above 2150 MHz on the two 99/101 lines for RB-1. And the same for the 103/110/119 and 103/119 lines on a SL-5 for RB-2 when launched (two 101/103 lines for a SL-3).

 

I also suspect that since the Ka band feed horns already span a broadband all the way from 20,2 to 18.3 GHz, it will be little matter for its dimensions to accommodate the 17.3-17.7 GHz band which is just a tiny bit lower than the 18.8-18.3 GHz Ka lo-band. Therefore no need for additional feed horns for the RDBS band.

 

Just my personal speculations here...   


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#648 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,172 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 05 June 2013 - 11:06 AM

I have an SL-3 and one single wire coming down from the dish into the garage which feeds a green label 8-way (one port is CCK feed through to power inserter).

 

Bottom line, will I need new equipment?  Where and what?  At what cost to me?  How long would it take DirecTV to update the millions of people that would need this particular component update?  Why not move MPEG2 SD boxes to MPEG4 at that time as well.  Then when finished, they could move everything on 101 to MPEG4 and have even more bandwidth to play with.

 

HR24-200

H24-200


- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST: Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#649 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,592 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 05 June 2013 - 11:55 AM

While no one here on the forum truly knows I would feel fairly confident saying that with a SWM-LNB such as you have the only thing that would have to be replaced would be the LNB. People with external SWM will need a new LNB, a new SWM 8 or 16 module and maybe another cable run if they cant stack it on one of the existing runs.  Legacy users will have to convert to SWM as I dont see them developing new receivers that can handle the new signals in legacy format.


My Setup

#650 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,387 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 June 2013 - 01:46 PM

Lets do little math..
LOF 18050
Range 17.4-17.7
getting
IF 650...350 MHz (need Inversion )

Conclusion : if current LNBF has wider range, down to 17 GHz, then changing SL3 FW should be enough.

Edited by P Smith, 05 June 2013 - 01:47 PM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...