Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV Satellite Discussion D-14


  • Please log in to reply
1783 replies to this topic

#641 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,867 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 13 February 2013 - 10:31 AM

From the filing, all transmission (including TT&C run on the edges of the uplink band) would be from and to Brazil.

The FCC generally doesn't hold sway to anything on or over international waters unless it is broadcast from a ship registered to the US so maybe that's what is going on here. IIRC, there are some Mexican broadcast stations located in the oceans that relay content under this exception.


Uplink and C&C aside, I would still think that the presence of the Intelsat satellite gives the FCC some jurisdiction due to their responsibilities to avoid harmful interference.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#642 ONLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,024 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 11 April 2013 - 07:14 AM

The latest with D14 17/24 GHz BSS testing:

http://licensing.fcc...ment_key=992739

Will have the D14 thread "live" soon. (locked at the moment)
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#643 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,247 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 11 April 2013 - 07:36 AM

Well, this document had to be filed "no later than 9 months prior to launch" and it is dated April 5 so the soonest it could launch is early January, 2014...at the very earliest.

That doesn't even account for getting scheduled at the launch facility, etc.

So best case to see it lit up what with parking, IOT, etc is roughly a year from now.

I'm not obsessing, am I?
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#644 ONLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,024 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 11 April 2013 - 07:50 AM

That's about right from what we know now.
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#645 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,103 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 12 April 2013 - 06:10 AM

Well, this document had to be filed "no later than 9 months prior to launch" and it is dated April 5 so the soonest it could launch is early January, 2014...at the very earliest.

That doesn't even account for getting scheduled at the launch facility, etc.

So best case to see it lit up what with parking, IOT, etc is roughly a year from now.

I'm not obsessing, am I?


D14 is still listed on the Arianespace launch manifest for "early 2014." It's fourth on the list right now, ahead on ATV-4 to the ISS, which has a definite launch date penciled in for April 12, 2014. The others will be slotted in pending payload availability, launch processing flow, range and tracking asset availability, etc.

Edited by LameLefty, 12 April 2013 - 06:57 AM.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#646 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,999 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 04 June 2013 - 07:09 PM

This thread has been somewhat quiet, but with D14/RB-1 being operational in about a year (+/-), iIt's probably a good time to wake it up and start discussing the implementation.

 

Have we determined what (if any) receiving equipment changes will be required for RB-1?  It could require a new LNB assembly with two downconverters sharing the 103 feedhorn or two feedhorns for the same location.  Would new SWMs be required?  Would there be interference issues with the image frequency? 

 

Edit:  That should be 99 rather than 103.



#647 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,175 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 04 June 2013 - 10:58 PM

First since D14/RB-1 is headed for 99w, it'll be the 99 feed horn ...  :)

 

And as Dish Network successfully demonstrates by using frequencies up to 3 GHz over RG-6 coax to feed their Hopper, My guess is that a new LNB will be designed to place the RDBS band of 17.3-17.7 GHz somewhere 200 MHz or more above 2150 MHz on the two 99/101 lines for RB-1. And the same for the 103/110/119 and 103/119 lines on a SL-5 for RB-2 when launched (two 101/103 lines for a SL-3).

 

I also suspect that since the Ka band feed horns already span a broadband all the way from 20,2 to 18.3 GHz, it will be little matter for its dimensions to accommodate the 17.3-17.7 GHz band which is just a tiny bit lower than the 18.8-18.3 GHz Ka lo-band. Therefore no need for additional feed horns for the RDBS band.

 

Just my personal speculations here...   


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#648 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,853 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 05 June 2013 - 11:06 AM

I have an SL-3 and one single wire coming down from the dish into the garage which feeds a green label 8-way (one port is CCK feed through to power inserter).

 

Bottom line, will I need new equipment?  Where and what?  At what cost to me?  How long would it take DirecTV to update the millions of people that would need this particular component update?  Why not move MPEG2 SD boxes to MPEG4 at that time as well.  Then when finished, they could move everything on 101 to MPEG4 and have even more bandwidth to play with.

 

HR24-200

H24-200


- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#649 ONLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,168 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 05 June 2013 - 11:55 AM

While no one here on the forum truly knows I would feel fairly confident saying that with a SWM-LNB such as you have the only thing that would have to be replaced would be the LNB. People with external SWM will need a new LNB, a new SWM 8 or 16 module and maybe another cable run if they cant stack it on one of the existing runs.  Legacy users will have to convert to SWM as I dont see them developing new receivers that can handle the new signals in legacy format.


My Setup

#650 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 June 2013 - 01:46 PM

Lets do little math..
LOF 18050
Range 17.4-17.7
getting
IF 650...350 MHz (need Inversion )

Conclusion : if current LNBF has wider range, down to 17 GHz, then changing SL3 FW should be enough.

Edited by P Smith, 05 June 2013 - 01:47 PM.


#651 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,175 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 05 June 2013 - 01:59 PM

While I can't know for sure until I see the FCC filed LOA tech. data when submitted for Intelsat 31;

 

I also wonder if the future World Direct service (currently at 95w) is destined for the RDBS band at 99 and 103.

 

I noticed looking at the tech. info. filing for the coming Intelsat 30 satellite, there are no 11.7-12.2 GHz Ku band CONUS beam transponders available to serve the current 95w WD service. The entire Ku band payload is for south of the border Latin America/Caribbean service.

 

So assuming Intelsat 31 is the same in this respect as well, what happens to the World Direct service when the ageing Galaxy 3C bird reaches the end of its operational lifetime?

 

Could the need of a secondary WD dish aimed at 95w for International programming days be numbered?  


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#652 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,175 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 05 June 2013 - 02:19 PM

Lets do little math..
LOF 18050
Range 17.4-17.7
getting
IF 650...350 MHz (need Inversion )

Conclusion : if current LNBF has wider range, down to 17 GHz, then changing SL3 FW should be enough.

 

P. Smith;

 

I remember VOS once suggesting that either a separate L.O. could be added in a new LNB for the RDBS band.

 

Or perhaps an LNB with a L.O. of 20.45 GHz for both the Ka and RDBS bands. This would mean the current Ka high and low bands would need to switch positions and invert their spectrums, but it would place the (also inverted) RDBS band between 2750-3150 MHz just within the coax bandwidth.

 

Of course this would mean new LNBs and any needed SWiM module swap outs along with firmware updates to the receivers for the new frequency positions and inversions this would result in.  


Edited by HoTat2, 05 June 2013 - 02:26 PM.

DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#653 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 June 2013 - 02:46 PM

I'm wondering if current SL3 is capable to tune/cover the 17 GHz range ...

If I would know there is a signal, I could try.

Nay, it must be filtered out or it would interfere with current signals...


Edited by P Smith, 05 June 2013 - 02:49 PM.


#654 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,175 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 05 June 2013 - 03:57 PM

I'm wondering if current SL3 is capable to tune/cover the 17 GHz range ...

If I would know there is a signal, I could try.

Nay, it must be filtered out or it would interfere with current signals...

 

Agreed;

 

The LNB cannot let 17.3-17.7GHz RDBS signals reach the Ka band mixer or they will generate image frequencies of 350-750 MHz by mixing on the low side of the 18.05 GHz L.O. which will interfere with the 250-750 MHz Ka-lo band.  


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#655 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,853 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 05 June 2013 - 04:16 PM

Well sounds like DirecTV service personnel are going to be pretty swamped with LNB replacements.

 

I mean if D14 adds a bunch of new HD channels and other things... I know I'm going to have to pay for a service call to get it working.


Edited by cypherx, 05 June 2013 - 04:16 PM.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#656 ONLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,024 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 05 June 2013 - 04:29 PM

Similar to D12 (which shares with D10), D14 will have lots of regular Ka bandwidth and share with D11, besides the new reverse bandwidth, thus expecting the mainstream new adds to be available to everyone with no change, just as D12 does.


DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#657 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 June 2013 - 05:06 PM

Agreed;

 

The LNB cannot let 17.3-17.7GHz RDBS signals reach the Ka band mixer or they will generate image frequencies of 350-750 MHz by mixing on the low side of the 18.05 GHz L.O. which will interfere with the 250-750 MHz Ka-lo band.  

There is still a chance, Ka-Lo is not that taking all "slots", it has many gaps now, so with smart placing a many RDBS tpns could co-exist with Ka-Lo.



#658 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,377 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 05 June 2013 - 06:37 PM

Pretty sure it's been said no upgrading of any current equipment is needed. Don't know if that's cause it won't be used For mainstream or what.

#659 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,175 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 05 June 2013 - 07:33 PM

Pretty sure it's been said no upgrading of any current equipment is needed. Don't know if that's cause it won't be used For mainstream or what.

For the Ka band reception, true, no need of new equipment.

 

To receive the RDBS band, needs for new equipment and FW updates is a certainty I'm sure. 


Edited by HoTat2, 05 June 2013 - 07:38 PM.

DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#660 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,763 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 05 June 2013 - 08:47 PM

Would this include having to get new receivers as well?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...