Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Installer is here now! (6/25/2010) SWM 16 is extra???


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   ffemtreed

ffemtreed

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 958 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 26 June 2010 - 05:51 AM

SWM? I thought that means "single wire multiswitch". I thought your HR24's will only need one cable connected so you then have 3 available left.


the 4 cables are from the dish to the switch. Not to each receiver.

This allows for an easy upgrade to the SWM 16 switch.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   ciurca

ciurca

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 428 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2009

Posted 26 June 2010 - 06:05 AM

Why not just call Directv and add an additional H2X receiver in a few months. Politely remind them that it would be your 9th tuner, and a SWM 16 is going to be needed.

I'm sure that would be less than the $300.00 that was quoted.
HR34
HR23
Slingbox Pro HD

Twitter -> @saltwater_rider
Facebook -> facebook.com/craig.ciurca

#23 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 26 June 2010 - 08:33 AM

I had them put in an SWM-8 for now. They are supposed to "check again" if I can get the SWM 16 for free. Doesn't matter right now; they don't have any in stock anyway. It is kind of hard to get. So in the meantime one of the DVRs is going to have only one active tuner.

The SD receiver I got was supposed to run a couple of TVs that aren't going to be used much anyway. I am thinking about sending that one back and using the output of the HD receiver to run the other SD receiver. Hook up a Modulator and get some RF remotes.

Does anyone know if both HDMI and component outputs are active at the same time from the HD receiver?


That was a good move. But, you should call D* immediately and insist that the SWM-8 be replaced with a SWiM-16.

All the outputs from DirecTV receivers are active (which is a lot better than the idiotic Scientific Atlanta cable boxes that won't output anything when the TV that HDMI is attached to is turned off). (But, I don't know what, if anything, comes out of component when HDMI is 1080p. I would assume composite and s-video, if there is one, have 480i like always.)




spam firewall