Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Need a New Router (TV Apps "friendly")


  • Please log in to reply
71 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 26 June 2010 - 09:27 AM

Sadly, Linksys has gone significantly downhill since it was bought by Cisco. :mad: My WRT350N (which is a great piece of hardware) wouldn't work in N mode with a Linksys N adapter, and support was abysmal. DD-WRT worked perfectly.

The 2.4 GHz radio in my WRT600N (another great piece of hardware) recently failed and I called to ask about repair price. All they would say, after making me jump through a few hoops, was "that's not under warranty". I already knew that. Since there's not really an equivalent available, what stock remains is fetching a premium price. I configured DD-WRT to make it a 5 GHz N AP and resurrected an ancient WRT54G as a 2.4 GHz AP.

I've found D-Link to be doing a better job these days.

DIRECTV and NFL-ST since 1994, Slimline w/SL5 LNB, SWiM-16
HR44-700; 2x HR24-500; HR22-100; H25-500; C31-700; GenieGo
Gigabit Ethernet (DirecTV DECA); 2.4 and 5GHz 802.11n; HD Slingbox


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,311 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 26 June 2010 - 10:48 AM

My WRT160N has twice recently forgotten how to do DHCP. Existing routing still works but it won't make any new DHCP assignments until I reboot the router. I'll probably replace it with a D-Link and go dual-band at the same time. :(

#28 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 26 June 2010 - 11:05 AM

My WRT160N has twice recently forgotten how to do DHCP. Existing routing still works but it won't make any new DHCP assignments until I reboot the router. I'll probably replace it with a D-Link and go dual-band at the same time. :(


There's not a lot available in the simultaneous Dual-Band Router or AP category, but the selectable Dual-Band APs are so cheap, it isn't much of a problem.

Edit: the D-Link DIR-825 looks awfully good, at an attractive price (and it can even run DD-WRT firmware).

Edited by dwcolvin, 26 June 2010 - 12:27 PM.


#29 OFFLINE   Yog-Sothoth

Yog-Sothoth

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2006

Posted 27 June 2010 - 12:19 AM

I just got an Asus RT-N16 yesterday and loaded it with "Tomato" firmware (VPN version). After enabling DLNA and setting up the shares on the connected USB hard disk (connected to the router itself), my HR2X DVRs, my Xbox 360s, and my PS3 all see/play the media. And, of course, TV Apps works fine. :)
HR21-700 | HR23-700 (2) | H24-700
DECA MRV setup, including one module connected to a WAP/switch (for PS3 and Xbox 360) and another connected directly to a Slingbox

#30 OFFLINE   -Draino-

-Draino-

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 350 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire
Joined: May 18, 2008

Posted 27 June 2010 - 02:06 AM

I have a WRT54GS
Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp1 (07/27/08) micro

Since upgrading the firmware I have never had to reboot the router. When I had the "stock" firmware I had to reboot at least 2 time a day!!!

Samsung 55" LED 240Hz HDTV 1080P UN55B8000

​Insignia NS-40D510NA15

Insignia NS-32D512NA15
(1) HD DVR HR34-700 - 0x9f6
(2) HD DVR HR24-500
(3) HD H24-100


Dell Studio XPS 8700 - Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4790 CPU @ 3.60GHz, 3601 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)

Memory: 24GB Dual-Channel
Hard Drive: (2) 500GB RAID 0 / 1 Corsair SSD 240GB
Video: Nvidia GeForce GT 720 1.5GB
27" Viewsonic VX2753MH-LED Digital HDMI
Win10 x64


#31 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,379 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 27 June 2010 - 04:02 AM

D-Link DGL-4500 :righton:

#32 OFFLINE   caseyf5

caseyf5

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 227 posts
  • LocationBethpage, NY 11714
Joined: Mar 21, 2009

Posted 27 June 2010 - 07:46 AM

I have a Buffalo Technology WZR-HP-G300NH NFinity wireless N router that has worked since I first installed it some time ago. Not only TV Apps but also VOD and yes it has uPnP as well as many other features. Good luck with whatever router you decide to purchase. :)

#33 OFFLINE   tsbrady1

tsbrady1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 27 June 2010 - 09:40 AM

Installed dlink DIR825 yesterday and my TV apps finally downloaded! everything seems to be faster and I did not have to reboot to use it this morning. I did have to re-run the advanced settings on Network tab to get my boxes to show up. only problem now is my 2 laptops will no loner connect to my home network, gonna have to figure that one out some time or other.

#34 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,408 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 27 June 2010 - 09:45 AM

Installed dlink DIR825 yesterday and my TV apps finally downloaded! everything seems to be faster and I did not have to reboot to use it this morning. I did have to re-run the advanced settings on Network tab to get my boxes to show up. only problem now is my 2 laptops will no loner connect to my home network, gonna have to figure that one out some time or other.

Everything's works here as well with my DIR655 (the predecessor to your model). I looked at the 825 recently in action at a friends home - nice unit.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#35 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,363 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 27 June 2010 - 10:05 AM

Everything's works here as well with my DIR655 (the predecessor to your model). I looked at the 825 recently in action at a friends home - nice unit.


Any big differences?
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#36 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,408 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 27 June 2010 - 10:06 AM

Any big differences?

Not major ones...a few additional settings, and the UI has better help.

Both work. VOD, TVApps, DirecT2PC, streaming Mediashare (photos, music, and video)....all work very, very well here.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#37 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,604 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 27 June 2010 - 10:37 AM

In my case, the problem wasn't my router but my DSL modem.
Zyxel modem was blocking things. Had to go in there and open up a few ports.

If you still have problems, investigate your modem.

#38 OFFLINE   Yog-Sothoth

Yog-Sothoth

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2006

Posted 27 June 2010 - 10:41 AM

Zyxel modem was blocking things. Had to go in there and open up a few ports.


Set the ZyXel to bridge mode; otherwise, you have two routers going.
HR21-700 | HR23-700 (2) | H24-700
DECA MRV setup, including one module connected to a WAP/switch (for PS3 and Xbox 360) and another connected directly to a Slingbox

#39 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,604 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 27 June 2010 - 01:54 PM

Set the ZyXel to bridge mode; otherwise, you have two routers going.


That was done long before ever connecting the DVR's to the network years ago. But the zyxel modem was a royal PIA with the default settings.

Cable modems apparently more "open".

#40 OFFLINE   RCKYMTN

RCKYMTN

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2006

Posted 27 June 2010 - 02:33 PM

I had a buffalo wireless N router, and seemed to disconnect daily from the internet after deca was installed - not sure if this was a coincidence or not, couldn't figure out the issue after talking to buffalo and qwest.

I then purchased a netgear wndr3700 dual band router - now marketed as the wndr37av (which is the same exact router - I had the 3700 and exchanged it for the 37av).

they are marketing it as an "audio video" router for what that is worth, and has worked flawless with my deca, swim 16, etc. I can also tell my wireless pc's have a faster connection as well. For me, it has worked well, and I like the router..

http://www.netgear.c...e/WNDR37AV.aspx

#41 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,539 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 27 June 2010 - 03:44 PM

That one and the D-Link DIR-655 were 2 I was looking at. http://www.newegg.co...N82E16833127215

DIR-655 is what I have. Just make sure you have the latest firmware and you'll have no problems.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#42 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,311 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 27 June 2010 - 04:04 PM

I just ordered the DIR-655 ($70 at Newegg with free shipping and a bluetooth dongle I have no use for).

#43 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,408 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 27 June 2010 - 06:52 PM

DIR-655 is what I have. Just make sure you have the latest firmware and you'll have no problems.

Yup - the latest firmware is a must have - easy to download and install from the DLink site.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#44 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,363 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 27 June 2010 - 07:00 PM

I'm deciding between the DIR-655 & DIR-825...Decisions, decisions. :lol:
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#45 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,408 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 27 June 2010 - 07:39 PM

I'm deciding between the DIR-655 & DIR-825...Decisions, decisions. :lol:

Money money... :lol::lol:
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#46 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 27 June 2010 - 08:10 PM

I'm deciding between the DIR-655 & DIR-825...Decisions, decisions. :lol:


Personally, I hate my DIR-655. As soon as the budget allows I'm going to get something else and go all office space on the 655. It's be put on notice. :)
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#47 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,363 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 27 June 2010 - 08:13 PM

Personally, I hate my DIR-655. As soon as the budget allows I'm going to get something else and go all office space on the 655. It's be put on notice. :)



Edited by sigma1914, 27 June 2010 - 09:13 PM.

If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#48 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,539 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 27 June 2010 - 09:10 PM

The URL contained a malformed video ID.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#49 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,363 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 27 June 2010 - 09:14 PM

The URL contained a malformed video ID.


Oops, fixed. ;)
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#50 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,408 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 28 June 2010 - 06:14 AM

Personally, I hate my DIR-655. As soon as the budget allows I'm going to get something else and go all office space on the 655. It's be put on notice. :)

I'm still trying to figure out why you have that experience...knowing that 2 others plus me equals 3 folks I know that love theirs and have no issues.

Hmmm...I'm thinking you may just have a defective unit. Solid as a rock here.

I know when I went down the Linksys road a few years back, I went through 3 of them before i got one that worked, and that one was not that great. After 3 months with Linksys, I moved over to DLink and haven't looked backa after 2 different units the past 3 years.

Edited by hdtvfan0001, 28 June 2010 - 06:20 AM.

DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996




Protected By... spam firewall...And...