Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DVR not working as it should


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   sprint100

sprint100

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: May 23, 2010

Posted 27 June 2010 - 02:09 PM

I currrently have a SWM setup so I'll only need one cable for the DVR. The problem is I can't record one show while watching another. I have reset the receiver numerous times and changed the tuners from single to dual in the settings menu. What I found when I changed the tuners is that on single I get all the channels including the HD channels. When I set it to dual I can get all the SD channels but the HD channels do not come in at all, I get a Searching for Satellite message. I can only record a channel while watching it in that single mode. Any ideas?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   azarby

azarby

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,037 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 27 June 2010 - 02:30 PM

I currrently have a SWM setup so I'll only need one cable for the DVR. The problem is I can't record one show while watching another. I have reset the receiver numerous times and changed the tuners from single to dual in the settings menu. What I found when I changed the tuners is that on single I get all the channels including the HD channels. When I set it to dual I can get all the SD channels but the HD channels do not come in at all, I get a Searching for Satellite message. I can only record a channel while watching it in that single mode. Any ideas?


Is the cable connected to the correct input?

#3 ONLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,991 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 27 June 2010 - 02:32 PM

Make sure you're connected to the tuner marked "SWM" and make sure when you hit the dash, "-", key it says "SWiM Connected".
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#4 OFFLINE   sprint100

sprint100

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: May 23, 2010

Posted 27 June 2010 - 06:03 PM

I just checked and it is connected to Satellite Input 1(SWM input) and the box recognizes that it is a SWiM setup with the correct satellite. D* tech support is of no help for this situation. I'm thinking it is the box itself.

#5 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 27 June 2010 - 06:21 PM

I just checked and it is connected to Satellite Input 1(SWM input) and the box recognizes that it is a SWiM setup with the correct satellite. D* tech support is of no help for this situation. I'm thinking it is the box itself.


Why isn't tech support helpful? If you go to Setup-Satellite-View Signal Strength and the signals on the tuners aren't almost the same, or you have weird results on any of 99©, 101, 103(ca) or 103(cb), then there's a problem... either the receiver or the SWM. D* needs to fix it.

Edited by dwcolvin, 27 June 2010 - 06:28 PM.

DIRECTV and NFL-ST since 1994, Slimline w/SL5 LNB, SWiM-16
HR44-700; 2x HR24-500; HR22-100; H25-500; C31-700; GenieGo
Gigabit Ethernet (DirecTV DECA); 2.4 and 5GHz 802.11n; HD Slingbox


#6 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,920 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 27 June 2010 - 06:43 PM

Since this is a SWiM, it might help to pull the power on everything.
Then let the SWiM power up for a few mins and then go to each receiver and power it up one at a time.
[by "pull the power" I mean the AC power cords]
A.K.A VOS

#7 OFFLINE   sprint100

sprint100

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: May 23, 2010

Posted 27 June 2010 - 07:18 PM

Why isn't tech support helpful? If you go to Setup-Satellite-View Signal Strength and the signals on the tuners aren't almost the same, or you have weird results on any of 99©, 101, 103(ca) or 103(cb), then there's a problem... either the receiver or the SWM. D* needs to fix it.


The same things I was thinking especially since the strength signals were more than OK. They finally agreed to send out a tech without being on the phone forever so I'll let them worry about it. Hopefully the problem can be pinpointed so I can spread the knowledge. Hopefully I get my usual tech:D

#8 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,267 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 27 June 2010 - 08:12 PM

How many receivers and what types do you have on your account?

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#9 OFFLINE   sprint100

sprint100

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: May 23, 2010

Posted 01 July 2010 - 10:44 AM

Sorry I didn't reply sooner Merg. We have 2 receivers an R22 w/HD and a HR-23. The tech just left and wound up replacing the LNB. We both thought it was wierd since we are used to either the LNB working or not working, not doing half the job LOL Luckily, he wasn't one of those lazy techs and he pretty much replaced everything except the receiver to piinpoint and address the problem.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...