Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Directv on Demand


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Chinatown

Chinatown

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 95 posts
Joined: Dec 13, 2003

Posted 29 June 2010 - 08:43 PM

As I await my installation.................

Does the ethernet connection have to be directly to the HD DVR, in a whole home scenario.............or can it be hooked up to one of the companion HD receivers.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,913 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 29 June 2010 - 08:45 PM

Coax goes to 1 DECA box, which connects to your router. All units share that via DECA.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#3 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 30 June 2010 - 03:08 AM

And that DECA unit is powered via Power Inserter (PI) since it is not connected to a receiver.

Make sure the installer hooks it up that way. Do not let them hook an ethernet cable up to the second port on one of your receivers or to the ethernet port on an HR24.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#4 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,859 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 30 June 2010 - 03:43 AM

As I await my installation.................

Does the ethernet connection have to be directly to the HD DVR, in a whole home scenario.............or can it be hooked up to one of the companion HD receivers.

I have my Ethernet DECA in the same room as my router. The coax in my house runs throug that room so it seemed the logical location.

I don't have any receivers in that room.

The DECA that connects to you network can be almost anywhere where you have a power outlet, a way to connect to your network, and place to split off of your coax. :)

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.





spam firewall