Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Need a UI Reminder? "You are not watching live TV".


  • Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

Poll: Should the DIRECTV UI warn you about losing unsaved content? (166 member(s) have cast votes)

Should the DIRECTV UI warn you about losing unsaved content?

  1. Yes -- that would be great (23 votes [13.86%])

    Percentage of vote: 13.86%

  2. No -- clicking "ok" would be irritating (140 votes [84.34%])

    Percentage of vote: 84.34%

  3. Huh -- I don't understand the question (3 votes [1.81%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.81%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#51 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Registered
  • 37,060 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 July 2010 - 07:34 AM

I'm just a little "are you sure'd" out. I understand those who want it, and if it were an option that defaulted to "off" then fine. But I take my responsibility for my messed up button pushes and move on.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   Syzygy

Syzygy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,306 posts
Joined: Dec 05, 2005

Posted 01 July 2010 - 08:29 AM

It's all too easy to accidentally change channels by inadvertently pressing one of the more than a dozen buttons that are just begging for you to touch them by mistake.

Every DVR should have a fail-safe dialog that pops up when you're behind in the buffer by more than a few seconds. Some do.

If it were an option (defaulting to Off), those 80% who hate it when things change should not be too discomfited. ;)

NO
...it would take 8 seconds to come up and 12 to go away, each and every time you hit channel down.

matt1124 is saying to everyone:
• I didn't understand the original post.
• I'm used to getting my "opinion" heard by yelling as loud as I can.
• Exaggeration is good.

Edited by Syzygy, 01 July 2010 - 10:08 AM.

Frank TiVangelist since Aug 1999, HD since Dec 2002, DirecTV since Aug 2004, DECA/MRV since Nov 2010
HR24-100 > HDMI > Pio 5020FD plasma
HR24-100 > HDMI > Sony KV30HS420 tube

DirecTV & Dish HD Channel Spreadsheet
DirecTV & Dish HD Channels Listed by Package

#53 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,561 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 01 July 2010 - 08:34 AM

matt1124 is saying to me:


Or maybe he's not saying anything to you. Not sure if you realize this or not, but every post isn't directed at you, nor does every poster consider your personal thoughts before posting. I know, shocking, isn't it?

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#54 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Registered
  • 37,060 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 July 2010 - 08:35 AM

Gentlemen, please take your personal discussions to private message. Otherwise I will have no choice but to close this thread.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#55 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,359 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 01 July 2010 - 08:55 AM

Let's say you are watching a soccer game. You pause or rewind it, so now you are watching content from the buffer.

You accidentally change the channel. Or someone else picks up the remote, not realizing that you are watching from the buffer.

When you return to the game, you are now caught up to live TV. If you see that someone has scored, you can't rewind to watch the play.

Would you want DIRECTV to remind you that you are watching from the buffer before you lose it?


No

I can press play before changing a channel and see that the progress bar is green indicating I'm watching live TV or I can turn on DoublePlay.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#56 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,909 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 01 July 2010 - 09:16 AM

I'm going against the popular vote here. If I'm 45 minutes behind real time watching a ball game and I accidentally hit the wrong key as I remember I once hit the useless 'Active' button I want a failsafe. "Are you sure you want to clear the buffer and go back to live TV"? What's the big deal? Click 'Yes, I'm sure' and go surfing or whatever.

Having the option forced on me by the other company that Richard noted I can give some insight.

When I'm a minute or two behind because I skipped back to see something again and forgot that I had done that the screen is surprising and likely unneeded. But on longer pauses such as the 45 minutes in your example I am very happy to have a warning.

As far as pressing some buttons to check to see if I'm in live mode before leaving the channel, if I can't remember if I'm live or delayed do you expect be to remember to check? The feature is there for those who forgot they are not live, not for those who remember to press play to see if they are live before changing channels. Also note in JohnGalt's example "someone else" picks up the remote. You're asking "someone else" to verify live mode before changing channels, not the person who already has a clue if they are live or delayed.

On balance I am more often saved from losing something important by having this feature than I am annoyed when it pops up on a short buffer. Perhaps if implemented DirecTV could put up the warning if the delay is more than five minutes?

BTW: Having a whole bunch of options that can be turned on or off requires a place in the UI menus for such options. I'd rather see a standard set and followed than have every little feature have a disable function.

#57 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,203 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 July 2010 - 09:24 AM

BTW: Having a whole bunch of options that can be turned on or off requires a place in the UI menus for such options. I'd rather see a standard set and followed than have every little feature have a disable function.

I'd agree if the "standard set" would include the option to turn off scoreguide.
I know there can be never enough "options" for everyone to be happy, but on the other side, having things [crap to me] being forced on us, that wasn't there when we first got the receivers, is a bit annoying too.
A.K.A VOS

#58 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,428 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 01 July 2010 - 10:21 AM

No it would be annoying as the tv mail


TV mail annoying? How so? A little envelope shows up on a status screen, that's all.
Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#59 OFFLINE   djousma

djousma

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Jan 22, 2007

Posted 01 July 2010 - 01:12 PM

Let's say you are watching a soccer game. You pause or rewind it, so now you are watching content from the buffer.

You accidentally change the channel. Or someone else picks up the remote, not realizing that you are watching from the buffer.

When you return to the game, you are now caught up to live TV. If you see that someone has scored, you can't rewind to watch the play.

Would you want DIRECTV to remind you that you are watching from the buffer before you lose it?


I kinda agree with this. If I'm watching live TV, then I dont plan on watching from the buffer, it just happens. pause, go get a beer, come back, press play. The other day, I hit the channel up instead of volume up, and missed 30 minutes of FIFA that I wanted to watch, but was not recording(because I was intended on watching live, but fell behind).

The scenario doesnt happen too much for me, so having a popup wouldnt be a big hassle for me. Not too often do I watch live TV from the buffer, it is usually something recorded, or at current time in live TV.

Setup

  • Slimline Dish connected to SWM-16
  • Whole home DVR with DECA
  • HR44-500 connected via HDMI to 70" Vizio 4K P702ui-B3
  • HR24-500 connected via HDMI to 42" LG LCD
  • HR24-500 connected via HDMI to 39" Samsung
  • Apple Airport Extreme
  • 30/5 Charter Cable

#60 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • Registered
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 01 July 2010 - 01:29 PM

Let's say you are watching a soccer game...

Lost me there.


:P
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#61 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,524 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 01 July 2010 - 03:28 PM

TV mail annoying? How so? A little envelope shows up on a status screen, that's all.


Since realizing that the TV Mail messages are all worthless to me, the envelope doesn't bother me. Before I came to that realization, I felt the need to check the messages when the envelope appeared, thinking there might be useful or important info contained therein. The waste of my time doing that was annoying. YMMV.

HR23-700 --> Samsung UN65F6350AF LCD
HR23-700 --> JVC JLC47BC3002 LCD
H24-200 -->
Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma


#62 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 01 July 2010 - 05:09 PM

A horrible idea. No more video/audio intrusions on what I've recorded than absolutely necessary.

What's next? ....oh, yeah, for MRV we could have it pop up every few minutes and tell us what DVR we are actually using as the source. :)
...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#63 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,091 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 01 July 2010 - 05:22 PM

I would not mind ANY option to assist the general users (we are all power users here right?) navigate and keep from screwing up, AS LONG AS those options are placed on the general options screen to be able to be toggled off.

It makes no sense to deny someone a feature that would probably be easily implemented, provided its use is optional.

That said, Id agree. Add to the option list the ability to disable the screensaver, the scoreguide, the ACTIVE BUTTON...Change the default font, etc etc.

I didnt vote, since a YES vote without a disable option would be bad for me.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#64 OFFLINE   mx6bfast

mx6bfast

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationDelray Beach, FL
Joined: Nov 08, 2006

Posted 02 July 2010 - 12:37 PM

If someone changes the channel I just yell at them. However if it is that important to me I'll record it.

I'm sick of pop ups on the screen, from either D* or the channel I am watching.

I DO HAVE A BRAIN!!!!
Glory, Glory Man United

My setup with pictures

#65 OFFLINE   Darcaine

Darcaine

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2009

Posted 03 July 2010 - 10:28 AM

"Another" satellite company pops up the screen below when you try to change channels while watching from the buffer:

Posted Image
It works quite well and takes under a second and two button pushes to work.



And that's exactly why I've refused to switch to that satallite provider even though they have my local's in HD (and it looks like DTV has no plans to ever have them), they have the worst DVR hardware/software in the industry.

As an option, couldn't care less so long as it wasn't default, but having it forced upon me would be disgusting.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...