Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DTV recomments a 5-LNB with HD?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Ted M

Ted M

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2010

Posted 01 July 2010 - 08:46 AM

I live in northern New Hampshire, and use a Slim Line dish, Legacy, four-wire, 5-LNB setup. Non-SWiM. I use an HR23 and an HR24. Signed up for HD.

Tree trouble gives me weak signals on 119. I set the HR23 to "see" a 3-LNB, so I would no longer get messages about not getting guide information for xx hours. Several times a day I tune to channel 264, so I get guide information from 101. This seems to work fine.

I emailed DTV tech support about changing to a 3-LNB, so I would use 99, 101, and 103 only. I was advised that I should use a 5-LNB setup. They said when set for HD, that is what they recommend. If any new channels came along, they would be on 110 and/or 119.

I recall reading on this forum that most new installations use SL3 only. Huh? Maybe that is for Standard Definition only?

I’m going to install a 3-LNB and see how it works. No tree problems at 99, 101, and 103.

The only channels I will NOT get are the Standard Definition locals (from Portland-Auburn, ME).
The HD locals come in fine.

If any new channels come along, so what. There are more channels than I can ever watch now.

Any comments about having to use a 5-LNB?

Ted

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 July 2010 - 08:54 AM

You'll be "fine", though you're losing the SD locals.
There will be ZERO new HD going on 119.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   jpitlick

jpitlick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 01 July 2010 - 08:56 AM

I live in northern New Hampshire, and use a Slim Line dish, Legacy, four-wire, 5-LNB setup. Non-SWiM. I use an HR23 and an HR24. Signed up for HD.

Tree trouble gives me weak signals on 119. I set the HR23 to "see" a 3-LNB, so I would no longer get messages about not getting guide information for xx hours. Several times a day I tune to channel 264, so I get guide information from 101. This seems to work fine.

I emailed DTV tech support about changing to a 3-LNB, so I would use 99, 101, and 103 only. I was advised that I should use a 5-LNB setup. They said when set for HD, that is what they recommend. If any new channels came along, they would be on 110 and/or 119.

I recall reading on this forum that most new installations use SL3 only. Huh? Maybe that is for Standard Definition only?

I’m going to install a 3-LNB and see how it works. No tree problems at 99, 101, and 103.

The only channels I will NOT get are the Standard Definition locals (from Portland-Auburn, ME).
The HD locals come in fine.

If any new channels come along, so what. There are more channels than I can ever watch now.

Any comments about having to use a 5-LNB?

Ted


110 and 119 sats are mostly for foreign language programming, some locals and a music channel or two. They do not broadcast any HD programming. The HD sats are 99 and 103. If your SD locals some from 110 or 119, that is why D* is recommending the SL5-LNB.

HR20-700 attached via HDMI to an Onkyo TX-SR605S connected via HDMI to a Sony KDF-42WE655 42" Grand Vega Rear Projection LCD
H21-100 attached via HDMI to Sceptre X246W-1080P 24" LCD and attached via S-Video to Windows 7 PC w/Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600
HR22-100 attached via HDMI to a ProScan 32LB30Q 32" LCD
SWM-8/STS-4
SlimLine Dish w/SL5 LNB
All receviers connected to gigabit switches and 25/25 Mbps FiOS

#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 July 2010 - 08:58 AM

110 and 119 sats are mostly for foreign language programming, some locals and a music channel or two. They do not broadcast any HD programming. The HD sats are 99 and 103. If your SD locals some from 110 or 119, that is why D* is recommending the SL5-LNB.

110 is still carrying the old MPEG-2 HD [and only that].
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   jpitlick

jpitlick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 01 July 2010 - 09:00 AM

110 is still carrying the old MPEG-2 HD [and only that].


I thought they turned all of those off, but I haven't watched an MPEG-2 HD channel since they were the only HD channels out.

HR20-700 attached via HDMI to an Onkyo TX-SR605S connected via HDMI to a Sony KDF-42WE655 42" Grand Vega Rear Projection LCD
H21-100 attached via HDMI to Sceptre X246W-1080P 24" LCD and attached via S-Video to Windows 7 PC w/Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600
HR22-100 attached via HDMI to a ProScan 32LB30Q 32" LCD
SWM-8/STS-4
SlimLine Dish w/SL5 LNB
All receviers connected to gigabit switches and 25/25 Mbps FiOS

#6 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,529 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 01 July 2010 - 09:50 AM

I thought they turned all of those off, but I haven't watched an MPEG-2 HD channel since they were the only HD channels out.


Yeah, the 70 range mpeg2 channels were turned off in March. Those were the last ones, according to SatRacer.

#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 July 2010 - 09:56 AM

Yeah, the 70 range mpeg2 channels were turned off in March. Those were the last ones, according to SatRacer.

Shows how much I look at 110. You are correct, the HD has been removed.
A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 01 July 2010 - 09:59 AM

the MPEG2 HD channels are still alive for commercial accts. only....residential customers had them turned off a few months ago

#9 OFFLINE   paco1986

paco1986

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 574 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2007

Posted 01 July 2010 - 01:31 PM

110 and 119 sats are mostly for foreign language programming, some locals and a music channel or two. They do not broadcast any HD programming.


Actually Telefutura HD is on 119, IIRC.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...