Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Bigger dish or inline amp?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   marklar

marklar

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2010

Posted 01 July 2010 - 05:53 PM

Is it possible to use a bigger dish or inline amplifier to boost signal when there is bad weather? This year we have had alot of rain and its almost like there's a funny filter on my DVR, I swear every time there's a good joke the signal goes out just long enough to block the punch line. Its getting really irritating and there's no way I'm switching to cable and their crap DVR with no features I wouldn't mind having a bigger dish if it means less signal drop.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 01 July 2010 - 05:59 PM

Your signal drops are about the same as mine during bad weather, just on the edge.
In our cases, an Alaska/Hawaii 1.2M dish would probably help with the minor outages, although not the ones that last 5 or 10 minutes. Problem is, they cost about $350.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,981 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 July 2010 - 05:59 PM

Is it possible to use a bigger dish or inline amplifier to boost signal when there is bad weather? This year we have had alot of rain and its almost like there's a funny filter on my DVR, I swear every time there's a good joke the signal goes out just long enough to block the punch line. Its getting really irritating and there's no way I'm switching to cable and their crap DVR with no features I wouldn't mind having a bigger dish if it means less signal drop.

Mother nature will overpower anything, "but" you can pick up a couple of dB with the 1.2 meter dish.
If you don't have a SWiM system now, then I'd upgrade to it first, because as the signals drop, it will kick in 15 dB of gain.
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   marklar

marklar

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2010

Posted 01 July 2010 - 06:13 PM

I just looked and this is the dish I got but I don't have that power inserter, all 4 lines go directly from the dish to my two DVRs 2 lines for each DVR.

Posted Image

#5 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,100 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 01 July 2010 - 06:16 PM

In that case, you don't have that dish but the non-SWM model.

#6 OFFLINE   marklar

marklar

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2010

Posted 01 July 2010 - 06:21 PM

Should I call directv and ask them for it or is it something I will have to get on my own?

#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,981 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 July 2010 - 06:28 PM

Should I call directv and ask them for it or is it something I will have to get on my own?

More than likely this would be a DIY upgrade.
A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   marklar

marklar

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2010

Posted 01 July 2010 - 06:54 PM

After looking at the installation videos this looks a bit confusing with all the splitters and multiplexers and alignment tools needed.

#9 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,709 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 01 July 2010 - 07:04 PM

Maybe your dish alignment just needs some tweaking. That might be something you can handle yourself.


Please post back with your signal readings for each satellite's transponders (and both tuners if applicable). You'll find these readings under "Menu" -> "Setup" -> "System Setup" -> Satellite -> "View Signal Strength". Note the "+" and "-" symbols next to the "Satellite" and "Tuner" entries where you can toggle the readings between the various satellites and both DVR tuners.

Fill in your readings for each satellite and tuner using these examples. A properly aligned dish will show 80-90s on most of the relevant transponders (although some will be low or zero):


Satellite transponders (32 total at 101º)
[Most of your standard definition channels are beamed from 101ºW]
1-8 # # # # # # # #
9-16 # # # # # # # #
17-24 # # # # # # # #
25-32 # # # # # # # #

Satellite transponders (3 total at 110º)
[No channels are currently beamed from this satellite]
1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA #
9-16 NA # NA # NA NA NA NA

Satellite transponders (11 total at 119º)
[Local SD channels for some cities, Spanish package]
17-24 NA NA NA NA NA # # #
25-32 # # # # # # # #

Satellite transponders (16 total at 99º(s)) [or 99º(b)]
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8 # # # # # # NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA # #
17-24 # # # # # # # #
[Note: these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (14 total at 99º©) [or 99º(a)]
[National HD channels]
1-8 # # # # # # # #
9-16 # # # # # # NA NA
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(s)) [or 103º(a)]
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8 # # # # # # NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA # #
17-24 # # # # # # # #
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(ca))
[National HD channels beamed from D12 satellite]
1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA
9-16 # # # # # # # #
17-24 # # # # # # # #

Satellite transponders (14 total at 103º(cb)) [or 103º(b)]
[National HD channels beamed from D10 satellite]
1-8 # # # # # # # #
9-16 # # # # # # NA NA
17-24 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA

Satellite transponders (9 total at SWM)
[You'll only see this if you have a Single Wire Multiswitch (SWM) dish]
1-8 # # # # # # # #
9-16 # NA NA NA NA NA NA NA
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#10 OFFLINE   marklar

marklar

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2010

Posted 01 July 2010 - 07:26 PM

Satellite transponders (32 total at 101º)
[Most of your standard definition channels are beamed from 101ºW]
1-8 95 91 95 0 93 98 91 97
9-16 92 91 89 100 90 98 91 99
17-24 95 0 91 100 89 99 95 100
25-32 96 70 96 0 98 100 96 100

Satellite transponders (3 total at 110º)
[No channels are currently beamed from this satellite]
1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA 90
9-16 NA 96 NA 91 NA NA NA NA

Satellite transponders (11 total at 119º)
[Local SD channels for some cities, Spanish package]
17-24 NA NA NA NA NA 97 90 99
25-32 79 98 98 96 97 99 82 99

Satellite transponders (16 total at 99º(s)) [or 99º(b)]
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8 0 0 12 0 18 0 NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA 0 0
17-24 87 0 0 0 72 77 0 0
[Note: these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (14 total at 99º©) [or 99º(a)]
[National HD channels]
1-8 92 89 94 88 92 88 93 86
9-16 91 86 95 88 95 91 NA NA
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(s)) [or 103º(a)]
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8 0 0 0 0 0 0 NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA 95 40
17-24 36 50 74 60 97 94 88 #18 is 10 on tuner 2
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(ca))
[National HD channels beamed from D12 satellite]
1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA
9-16 95 95 92 91 94 91 89 88
17-24 89 89 91 86 91 90 89 89 **fluctuate alot between 70-90

Satellite transponders (14 total at 103º(cb)) [or 103º(b)]
[National HD channels beamed from D10 satellite]
1-8 85 93 91 87 9283 88 74
9-16 89 71 86 83 85 85 NA NA
17-24 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA

#11 OFFLINE   azarby

azarby

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,061 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 01 July 2010 - 08:20 PM

Satellite transponders (32 total at 101º)
[Most of your standard definition channels are beamed from 101ºW]
1-8 95 91 95 0 93 98 91 97
9-16 92 91 89 100 90 98 91 99
17-24 95 0 91 100 89 99 95 100
25-32 96 70 96 0 98 100 96 100

Satellite transponders (3 total at 110º)
[No channels are currently beamed from this satellite]
1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA 90
9-16 NA 96 NA 91 NA NA NA NA

Satellite transponders (11 total at 119º)
[Local SD channels for some cities, Spanish package]
17-24 NA NA NA NA NA 97 90 99
25-32 79 98 98 96 97 99 82 99

Satellite transponders (16 total at 99º(s)) [or 99º(b)]
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8 0 0 12 0 18 0 NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA 0 0
17-24 87 0 0 0 72 77 0 0
[Note: these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (14 total at 99º©) [or 99º(a)]
[National HD channels]
1-8 92 89 94 88 92 88 93 86
9-16 91 86 95 88 95 91 NA NA
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(s)) [or 103º(a)]
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8 0 0 0 0 0 0 NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA 95 40
17-24 36 50 74 60 97 94 88 #18 is 10 on tuner 2
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(ca))
[National HD channels beamed from D12 satellite]
1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA
9-16 95 95 92 91 94 91 89 88
17-24 89 89 91 86 91 90 89 89 **fluctuate alot between 70-90

Satellite transponders (14 total at 103º(cb)) [or 103º(b)]
[National HD channels beamed from D10 satellite]
1-8 85 93 91 87 9283 88 74
9-16 89 71 86 83 85 85 NA NA
17-24 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA


Those numbers look fine. No dish alignment needed. Unless they are consistenly in the 60s or lower DTV won't send anyone out to check them.

#12 OFFLINE   Dave DFW

Dave DFW

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Jun 11, 2008

Posted 02 July 2010 - 10:37 AM

If you don't have a SWiM system now, then I'd upgrade to it first, because as the signals drop, it will kick in 15 dB of gain.


Thanks VOS, didn't know about the 15dB gain.

#13 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,981 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 July 2010 - 10:43 AM

Thanks VOS, didn't know about the 15dB gain.

"Remember" though if the signal doesn't get to the LNB, then adding gain after it isn't going to do anything.
This should help though when the signal is weak and it's the receiver that is losing signal [first].
A.K.A VOS

#14 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 02 July 2010 - 01:11 PM

don't even touch the dish and get an swm-8 of ebay .
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#15 OFFLINE   ffemtreed

ffemtreed

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 960 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 02 July 2010 - 02:36 PM

don't even touch the dish and get an swm-8 of ebay .


I support this 100%! Its exactly what I did.

PS -- don't forget to get the power inserter and splitter as well.

#16 OFFLINE   marklar

marklar

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2010

Posted 02 July 2010 - 03:55 PM

I have an HR20-700 and a HR10-200 will the HR10 work with this? Ill have to still use the dual line with it correct?

#17 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,524 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 02 July 2010 - 04:00 PM

I have an HR20-700 and a HR10-200 will the HR10 work with this? Ill have to still use the dual line with it correct?


Yes, the HR10-250 can be used w/ the SWM unit, dual lines connected to the legacy ports.

HR23-700 --> Samsung UN65F6350AF LCD
HR23-700 --> JVC JLC47BC3002 LCD
H24-200 -->
Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma





Protected By... spam firewall...And...