Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

MRV Limits? Eight HD Dvrs not all programs showing up


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   spunkyvision

spunkyvision

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 403 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2006

Posted 09 July 2010 - 01:20 AM

I am confused as to the limits of MRV. I have 6 HR24s, 1 HR20 and 1HR21.
From every HD DVR I can see recordings from all boxes but not ALL recordings. If I look at the sharing status it seems like the screen under MUlti Room has a limit of 5 (display issue?). I do see some programs from each receiver on the Play List but not ALL programs on each of the boxes.

For Example: My HR20 box in labeled OFFICE I see "That 70s Show" and other programs but not "Breaking Bad". If I go to a different receiver I see all programs that are on the OFFICE HD DVR but do not see all of the programs from the Kitchen.

Is there a bug or a limitation?

I can go to each of the 8 receivers and test by recording 2 programs on each receiver (Total of 16 recordings at once) but I do not see the same recordings from each box.
Any ideas?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,252 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 09 July 2010 - 02:04 AM

Make sure all your dvrs are set to share all their playlists.

After that, you should see everything on every one of them.. The 5 listed ont he one screen is simply a limitation of that particular screen, and has nothing to do with actually seeing the playlists...

I have had over 8 dvrs and an h24 showing all shows from all playlists, you haven't hit a max yet.

Also, are you sure that you aren't seeing all the recordings? Folders from multiple units of the same show or movie get combined into one on the unified playlist.

#3 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,497 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 09 July 2010 - 05:38 AM

Did you scroll down?

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#4 OFFLINE   mobandit

mobandit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,142 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 09 July 2010 - 07:08 AM

I am confused as to the limits of MRV. I have 6 HR24s, 1 HR20 and 1HR21.
From every HD DVR I can see recordings from all boxes but not ALL recordings. If I look at the sharing status it seems like the screen under MUlti Room has a limit of 5 (display issue?). I do see some programs from each receiver on the Play List but not ALL programs on each of the boxes.

For Example: My HR20 box in labeled OFFICE I see "That 70s Show" and other programs but not "Breaking Bad". If I go to a different receiver I see all programs that are on the OFFICE HD DVR but do not see all of the programs from the Kitchen.

Is there a bug or a limitation?

I can go to each of the 8 receivers and test by recording 2 programs on each receiver (Total of 16 recordings at once) but I do not see the same recordings from each box.
Any ideas?


The MultiRoom tab does have a limit on displaying boxes, and yes, it is 5. I thought that all recordings still showed up in the playlist...

ETCM (SS/SW), USN (RET)
22 years, 4 months, 9 days


#5 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 09 July 2010 - 07:56 AM

There is a limitation in the number of DVRs, but that number is 10. You're not there. How is everything connected? Do all open splitter ports have terminators? Are all playlists shared?
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#6 OFFLINE   spunkyvision

spunkyvision

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 403 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2006

Posted 09 July 2010 - 12:29 PM

All Playlists are Shared.

I do see some shows from every box but not every show. For Example:
Bedroom 1: Recording Law and Order
Bedroom 2: Recording Dexter
Family Room: Recording Jeopardy

I go downstairs to the Kitchen and I don't see Bedroom 1's current Recording of Law and Order yet I see other Law and Order's that have already been recorded in Bedroom 1 (folder list in the playlist). I do see Bedroom 2 and Family Room current Recordings.

If I go to the Living Room I will see all 3 shows being recorded.

If I go to the Office I see 2 of the shows.
Its really odd.

From EVERY Receiver I can see some of the recorded shows from all 8 Receivers but sometimes I cannot see the current show that is being recorded. It is weird.

As a test I went and recorded something on all 16 tuners. Some boxes see all 16 shows some don't. Even with the boxes that don't show all of the current recording programs I do see some old recorded shows on those boxes (old shows from all 8 dvrs).

I didn't setup any of this Directv did the install. I would say it was a wiring problem if some boxes couldn't see any other boxes. Its odd.

#7 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 09 July 2010 - 01:07 PM

I didn't setup any of this Directv did the install. I would say it was a wiring problem if some boxes couldn't see any other boxes. Its odd.


If DIRECTV set this up, then I am assuming you have DECA .. I'll see if I can find anything out.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV




Protected By... spam firewall...And...