Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SWM 16 installation problem


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   sat tech

sat tech

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2006

Posted 09 July 2010 - 01:39 PM

My techs installed a SWM 16 to 2-HR24's, 6-D12's. No problem with the D12's but could not pass the test on the HR24's. No decca's needed and no MRV
These guys are good so I am sure the peaked the dish out right.
They used a regular 4 port KAKU lnb so I'm wondering if They make a green label 4 port?
As anyone here experienced the same problem?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   njblackberry

njblackberry

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 653 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 09 July 2010 - 01:44 PM

Did they use BBCs on the HR24s?

#3 OFFLINE   sat tech

sat tech

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2006

Posted 09 July 2010 - 01:46 PM

Do you mean band stops?
If so no they didn't

#4 OFFLINE   njblackberry

njblackberry

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 653 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 09 July 2010 - 01:57 PM

B Band Converters - required on the HR24 unelss it is connected properly to the SWM. Since you wrote SWM, I just was double checking that they did not use the B Band Converters.

#5 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,564 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 09 July 2010 - 02:01 PM

Did they connect the SWM to the correct sat input?

And why did they leave if the HR24s didn't pass?
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#6 OFFLINE   sat tech

sat tech

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2006

Posted 09 July 2010 - 02:01 PM

I think you are referring to B-band converters. I have the tech there right now trying it out. There is no way to run a second line to these so I hope this works. No one seems to know how these are supposed to be installed.. Not even the people we buy the equipment from lol.
Thanks for the info!!!

#7 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 09 July 2010 - 02:10 PM

I think you are referring to B-band converters. I have the tech there right now trying it out. There is no way to run a second line to these so I hope this works. No one seems to know how these are supposed to be installed.. Not even the people we buy the equipment from lol.
Thanks for the info!!!


Your wasting their and your time installing BBCs on a H24 (or any other H or HR unit for that matter) that is connected to a SWiM 16.

As to your other questions, no there is not a "green label" legacy LNB. No need for one to exist.

Installing SWiM16s are no different than installing a SWiM8, WB68 or WB616.

Now, onto the actual problem.

What isn't passing the test? Specificly, what is the error?

Confirm that the LNB type 3 or 5 is correctly selected from the setup menu.
Confirm that NO MORE than 8 TUNERS not receivers are on either of the SWiM ports.
Confirm that all 4 lines from the LNB tone out and are terminated and connected to the appropriate inputs on the SWiM16.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#8 OFFLINE   sat tech

sat tech

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2006

Posted 09 July 2010 - 03:09 PM

B bands didn't work didn't think they would. To The guy as to why they left....... A satellite install wasn't the only thing we were doing. Had to go back anyways and no offense but leaving has absolutely nothing to do with the problem so stick to topic.

#9 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,696 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 July 2010 - 03:30 PM

"yeah" BBCs were a waste of time on a SWiM.
Make sure they didn't overload each SWiM output, since the SWiM-16 is really 2 SWM8s
http://www.dbstalk.c...01&d=1261069733
A.K.A VOS

#10 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 09 July 2010 - 04:12 PM

I'll ask again

Now, onto the actual problem.

What isn't passing the test? Specificly, what is the error?

Confirm that the LNB type 3 or 5 is correctly selected from the setup menu.
Confirm that NO MORE than 8 TUNERS not receivers are on either of the SWiM ports.
Confirm that all 4 lines from the LNB tone out and are terminated and connected to the appropriate inputs on the SWiM16
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#11 OFFLINE   azarby

azarby

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,019 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 09 July 2010 - 05:25 PM

My techs installed a SWM 16 to 2-HR24's, 6-D12's. No problem with the D12's but could not pass the test on the HR24's. No decca's needed and no MRV
These guys are good so I am sure the peaked the dish out right.
They used a regular 4 port KAKU lnb so I'm wondering if They make a green label 4 port?
As anyone here experienced the same problem?


Did they split the outputs fron the SWiM16? Each ouput only supports 8 tuners. Also, how did they connect the Power injector. Best method is to multiplex it into output #1.

#12 OFFLINE   dminches

dminches

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 417 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 06 August 2010 - 05:28 PM

Did they split the outputs fron the SWiM16? Each ouput only supports 8 tuners. Also, how did they connect the Power injector. Best method is to multiplex it into output #1.


Better than using the dedicated DC/PWR port?

DirecTV subscriber since 1994
HR44 (5 TB eSata) -> Runco LS-5 via HDMI

HR24-500 (2 TB eSata) -> Samsung 50" via HDMI
HR24-100 (1.5 TB eSata) -> Sony 50E2000 via HDMI
HR24-700 - owned (2 TB internal) -> Samsung LN32A550 via HDMI
HR20-100s - owned -> Sony Bravia 40"

 


#13 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,860 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 06 August 2010 - 05:40 PM

Actually I believe that using SWM1 or PWR is fine, doesn't matter.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.




spam firewall