Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Directv Digital OTA Reciever


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gomezma1

gomezma1

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2006

Posted 10 July 2010 - 05:59 PM

Can anyone tell me what model Directv receivers are capable for digital reception for OTA? Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,825 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 10 July 2010 - 06:02 PM

HR20 and H20 have built in OTA tuners.

HR21, 22, 23, 24, H21, 23, 24, and R22 with the AM21 add-on OTA tuner.
HR34-700, HR24-500, HR22-100, HR20-100, R22-100, R16

My Setup

Diagram of my Directv setup by Milkman

#3 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 10 July 2010 - 06:17 PM

But note: all of these receivers require a sat signal and an active sat subscription in order for the OTA portion to work.

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,744 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 10 July 2010 - 06:24 PM

FTA != OTA

Usually FTA acronym using for free channels from satellites, while OTA - for aerial channels.

#5 OFFLINE   mcbeevee

mcbeevee

    97% Complete

  • Registered
  • 1,281 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 11 July 2010 - 08:11 AM

Some of the older Directv HD receivers like the Hughes HIRD-E86 can receive digital OTA signals without a satellite connection. Every HD receiver since the H10 requires the satellite connection for OTA (if it has an OTA tuner).

:)

#6 OFFLINE   whitepelican

whitepelican

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 291 posts
Joined: May 09, 2007

Posted 11 July 2010 - 08:16 AM

Some of the older Directv HD receivers like the Hughes HIRD-E86 can receive digital OTA signals without a satellite connection. Every HD receiver since the H10 requires the satellite connection for OTA (if it has an OTA tuner).

:)


I don't believe that's true for the H10. It's definitely not the case for the HR10-250, which can tune OTA without a satellite connection. The HR10-250 just doesn't receive any guide data without the satellite connection.

#7 OFFLINE   mcbeevee

mcbeevee

    97% Complete

  • Registered
  • 1,281 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 14 July 2010 - 05:59 AM

I don't believe that's true for the H10. It's definitely not the case for the HR10-250, which can tune OTA without a satellite connection.

It's definitely true that the H10 does not get OTA w/o an active sat connection. That's the reason my old H10 is buried in the closet!

:)

#8 OFFLINE   The_Law

The_Law

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2010

Posted 21 July 2010 - 09:31 AM

I have an H10

So, I have this stuff after discontinuing cableTV, satTV, etc....and was wondering if I can use this to start learning about and playing with FTA satellite feeds.

I had DirecTV for a couple of years. I got laid...off...and they left the dish on the house. Additionally, I just cleaned out my basement and found an older DirecTV HD Receiver H10.

The dish they left is a Slimline Model AU9 with Ka/Ku LNBs.

Can I somehow use this stuff to beginning pointing at different satellites?

ps...never done this before, but...it's looks interesting.

#9 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,833 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 21 July 2010 - 10:52 AM

Sorry, DIRECTV equipment will only work with their own satellite feeds.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#10 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,558 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 21 July 2010 - 10:59 AM

Can we get a moderator to fix the title of this thread?
The Hughes HTL-HD receiver can also receive OTA without an active DirecTV connection.

Edit: It looks like a moderator updated the title. :)

Edited by jdspencer, 22 July 2010 - 10:28 AM.

DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.




spam firewall