Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HBO blinking channel


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   Hutchinshouse

Hutchinshouse

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,632 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 14 August 2010 - 11:11 AM

+1

I've seen this too. On channel other than HBO. The blink was in the recording. I could rewind and play the blink back in the same place. My connections are tiptop. Signal tiptop. With this many people seeing it on multiple channels. The issue is not on the end-user side.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   c152driver

c152driver

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 127 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2007

Posted 14 August 2010 - 11:54 AM

Yep, I've noticed this lately, too, on different channels. Most recently on Encore East HD during Air America today.

#23 OFFLINE   williammck

williammck

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
  • LocationAustin, TX
Joined: Jul 02, 2010

Posted 14 August 2010 - 01:08 PM

Blinking on 252-HD right now.

#24 OFFLINE   DTV77

DTV77

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2007

Posted 14 August 2010 - 02:53 PM

Blinking on 252-HD right now.


I checked and I am getting the 252 HD blink too. Audio continues normal but the picture blinks at least once a minute.

#25 OFFLINE   LanceTX

LanceTX

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 14 August 2010 - 04:00 PM

I'm seeing the blinking this afternoon periodically on MLB Network-HD (Ch 213) as well.
HR24-500, (2) H24-100, (2) D12-500
AU9-SL3-SWM Dish, DECA MRV, Wireless DCC Kit

#26 OFFLINE   williammck

williammck

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
  • LocationAustin, TX
Joined: Jul 02, 2010

Posted 14 August 2010 - 07:52 PM

Why is it the channels on D12 that have trouble?

#27 OFFLINE   syphix

syphix

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,113 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 15 August 2010 - 07:48 AM

This REALLY needs to be acknowledged and addressed by DirecTV. I don't pay extra money for movie channels that constantly blink! Nothing takes you out of the movie faster than video glitches.

HBO Zone is TERRIBLE today.
Nathan
setup:
- 50" Plasma 1080p HDTV (Samsung PN50A760), 46" LCD 1080p HDTV (Samsung LN-T4665F), 32" LCD 720p HDTV (Insignia). 1 Hopper, 2 Joeys.

#28 OFFLINE   Vinny*

Vinny*

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
Joined: May 17, 2008

Posted 15 August 2010 - 07:54 AM

Seems like all the channels on D12 are blinking. Its happening on all receivers.

#29 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,807 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 15 August 2010 - 09:00 AM

I am going out on a limb here.

For all the people that have the problem and have listed their equipment it appears that you all have SWM and a Multiswitch in the line.

I have not seen this problem on the 2 set ups I have. I have the old 4 cables from the dish directly to the units.

Could there be a link ?
Edit: Appears to have been a coincidence that I was looking at.

Edited by jimmie57, 15 August 2010 - 10:00 PM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#30 OFFLINE   Malibu13

Malibu13

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,341 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2004

Posted 15 August 2010 - 09:14 AM

I am going out on a limb here.
For all the people that have the problem and have listed their equipment it appears that you all have SWM and a Multiswitch in the line.

I have not seen this problem on the 2 set ups I have. I have the old 4 cables from the dish directly to the units.

Could there be a link ?


Had the same problem yesterday on The Travel Channel HD and i do not have an SWM setup.

#31 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,375 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 15 August 2010 - 10:09 AM

Could there be a link ?

It would be a major stretch to associate the problems with a handful of channels with SWiM technology. I would think it more likely a problem associated with HDCP or something more invested in the stream itself.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#32 OFFLINE   Vinny*

Vinny*

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
Joined: May 17, 2008

Posted 15 August 2010 - 10:12 AM

Seems like all the channels on D12 are blinking. Its happening on all receivers.


Mine is fine now, no problems for the last 1/2 hour or so.

#33 OFFLINE   syphix

syphix

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,113 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 15 August 2010 - 11:22 AM

I am going out on a limb here.

For all the people that have the problem and have listed their equipment it appears that you all have SWM and a Multiswitch in the line.

I have not seen this problem on the 2 set ups I have. I have the old 4 cables from the dish directly to the units.

Could there be a link ?

I do have SWM, but not on my main TV. It has two lines straight out of my multiswitch and the blinks continue. I'm seeing it only on D12 channels (Lifetime, HBO Zone, Starz Cinema, Encore), but I've seen reports of it occuring on non-D12 channels, too. So I don't know what to make of it.
Nathan
setup:
- 50" Plasma 1080p HDTV (Samsung PN50A760), 46" LCD 1080p HDTV (Samsung LN-T4665F), 32" LCD 720p HDTV (Insignia). 1 Hopper, 2 Joeys.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...