Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Help with Slinglink


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jedi5

jedi5

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2010

Posted 13 July 2010 - 09:56 PM

Recently had my 2nd leased receiver (722) installed and while the tech was here, he also installed a slinglink.

He was showing me screen on the TV and at the time, it set both receivers were online. Now, I'm getting my receivers are offline.

I'm trying to figure this out and maybe I'm doing something wrong here...

So from the menu screen if I go to dishcom setup, it shows both receivers are online.

But if I go to web activation, it says activation failed.
Also, if I go to broadband set up, it says receivers are off line.

Ideas?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 14 July 2010 - 07:24 AM

Did he install a SlingLink or a DishComm modem? While they work similarly (over your power lines), the SlingLink is for Ethernet while the DishComm modem is for phone line.

Also, note that when using these devices, both the SlingLink/DishComm modem and the receivers must be plugged straight into the wall, and NOT into a power strip or surge protector, as those will filter out the data signals out of the line.

#3 OFFLINE   jedi5

jedi5

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2010

Posted 14 July 2010 - 12:57 PM

Thanks BZ!

The tech installed a slinglink.

It was plugged onto a surge protector but that was my doing from moving things around. I just connected it to a wall and saw both lights light up.
I'll test it out again and see if anything changes.

#4 OFFLINE   jedi5

jedi5

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2010

Posted 14 July 2010 - 09:05 PM

BZ -

Can you tell me how to add a receiver to the list?
While messing around with the remote, I accidentally removed one of my receivers off the list.

Thanks.

#5 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 15 July 2010 - 10:33 AM

Go to DishComm setup and click Search.

#6 OFFLINE   jedi5

jedi5

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2010

Posted 15 July 2010 - 12:48 PM

Thanks again BZ!

Now I have both receivers online and activated.
I can access them online and control them via the Dish site.

I also have the Dish app on my 3GS iPhone.

I can access my DVRs thru the iPhone/Dish app but I can't seem to watch anything on the phone.
Reading the FAQ in the Dish site, both my receivers (722 & 722K) are compatible.
It says I must first use the remote access online which I've done... I think.

So what I am doing wrong that I can't play any recordings on my phone?

On a side note...

Still learning on this but with slinglink, I should be able to watch to recordings off my DVR on my phone, right?
Should I be able to watch live TV as well?

Thanks

#7 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 15 July 2010 - 03:31 PM

Watching recordings remotely requires Sling technology, which for the moment is limited to the ViP922 receiver. There is a Sling add-on for the 722k (only) that will be released soon to give the 722k integrated Sling capability. Or you could buy a stand-alone SlingBox. But without Sling, you can't few content remotely.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...