Jump to content

Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HR24 / H24 Remote Help


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   StangGT909

StangGT909

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 171 posts
Joined: Mar 09, 2007

Posted 15 July 2010 - 06:27 AM

Hi,

I have a new HR24 connected to a Sony TV and Yamaha AV receiver and a separate H24 connected to Olevia TV.

With my HR20, I could program the remote to communicate with the Yamaha. Channel up/down controlled DTV and volume up/down controlled the audio, all with the switch on the DTV location. I could slide the switch to AV1 and press the center PWR button and turn the Yamaha on/off or press the "1" or "5" keys and switch between inputs.

On my HR24, I programmed it for the Yamaha and it correctly does the volume up/down however when I slide it to AV1 I cannot get it to turn the power off or switch inputs.


On my H24 with my Olevia TV I have a similar but different issue. If I press the DTV+TV Power button, it turns on the DTV box but NOT the TV. If I slide it to TV and press the center PWR button, the turn turns on.

I've tried different yamaha/olevia model choices and just can't get it to work.

What's wrong? I can't believe the newer equipment took a step backwards but I can't figure out how to fix it.

Any suggestions?

#2 OFFLINE   bobwaz

bobwaz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2007

Posted 24 August 2010 - 03:46 PM

Hi,

I have a new HR24 connected to a Sony TV and Yamaha AV receiver and a separate H24 connected to Olevia TV.

With my HR20, I could program the remote to communicate with the Yamaha. Channel up/down controlled DTV and volume up/down controlled the audio, all with the switch on the DTV location. I could slide the switch to AV1 and press the center PWR button and turn the Yamaha on/off or press the "1" or "5" keys and switch between inputs.

On my HR24, I programmed it for the Yamaha and it correctly does the volume up/down however when I slide it to AV1 I cannot get it to turn the power off or switch inputs.


On my H24 with my Olevia TV I have a similar but different issue. If I press the DTV+TV Power button, it turns on the DTV box but NOT the TV. If I slide it to TV and press the center PWR button, the turn turns on.

I've tried different yamaha/olevia model choices and just can't get it to work.

What's wrong? I can't believe the newer equipment took a step backwards but I can't figure out how to fix it.

Any suggestions?

I have the same issue with my H24 and Olevia LCD. Have you come up with a fix?

#3 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,869 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 24 August 2010 - 06:42 PM

I've noticed something similar with the HR24 RC65RX remote.

The original RF remote from the HR20 would change the TV input but the new HR24remote using the same TV setting won't change the TV input. A strange and annoying nuance that the newer remotes act differently on the same TV vs the old remote.

#4 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,249 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 24 August 2010 - 08:42 PM

Code 960 enables the TV input. The latest remote works identical to older models except for the new 2-way comms.

As for the Olevia, it probably has no discretes, so the OP is out of luck. I have no idea why the yamaha won't work on the new remote. It doesn't make sense.

#5 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,869 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 26 August 2010 - 07:08 PM

Yes I know, still no workie on my Sharp TV with that one remote.




spam firewall