Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Can an OTA signal be combined into a SWM setup?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ejjames

ejjames

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 896 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2006

Posted 18 July 2010 - 11:58 PM

My father has a 4:3 36" HDTV in his family room. They also have a tivo HR10-250. They are interested in upgrading both tv and receiver. he has a HR20-100 in his theater.

The problem is he only has one coax to the family room, and he needs ota, as locals from directv are from 100 miles away and fox is not offered. i have him set up with a combiner after the multi switch, it then is split at the receiver. they only use one tuner. I think the answer is no, but can the antenna be combined into SWiM, or does he need a second line?

thanks
Former USSB uplink operator.

USSB from '95 to '99

DirecTv since '95

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,265 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 19 July 2010 - 05:16 AM

Yes, you can diplex OTA with DirecTV in a SWiM setup. However, if he decides to use DECA at any point for MRV, you will not be able to anymore.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#3 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 19 July 2010 - 05:37 AM

Keep in mind that this would be 100% DIY upgrade. Diplexing is not approved or supported by DirecTv in any way, shape or form.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#4 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,265 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 19 July 2010 - 06:12 AM

Keep in mind that this would be 100% DIY upgrade. Diplexing is not approved or supported by DirecTv in any way, shape or form.


Is that any diplexing whatsoever or just OTA? When I had DirecTV installed in my current house, the installer diplexed DirecTV onto my current cable runs to save himself from running new cable.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#5 OFFLINE   chefwong

chefwong

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 250 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2008

Posted 19 July 2010 - 06:34 AM

I've had sucess with AM21/HR21 , SWIM8 (not using diplext on that)...perfect vision diplexers on both ends and it worked just fine.

However, it stopped working when I swapped to a LNB 5SWM

#6 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 19 July 2010 - 08:14 AM

Is that any diplexing whatsoever or just OTA? When I had DirecTV installed in my current house, the installer diplexed DirecTV onto my current cable runs to save himself from running new cable.

- Merg


Diplexing is not approved...period. Auto QC fail for non-approved parts. Potential chargeback.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#7 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,265 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 19 July 2010 - 08:25 AM

Diplexing is not approved...period. Auto QC fail for non-approved parts. Potential chargeback.


Will be interesting to see what the tech says when I move up to DECA/SWiM and my house gets re-wired for that.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#8 OFFLINE   ejjames

ejjames

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 896 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2006

Posted 19 July 2010 - 09:44 PM

If my dad wants to simply swap a 10-250 for a new box (knowing he will still have one tuner) no wiring would need to be changed, correct?

If he calls, will they schedule a service call, or can they just ship the box?
Former USSB uplink operator.

USSB from '95 to '99

DirecTv since '95




Protected By... spam firewall...And...