Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

New Sub and Install....remote location.


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mattclarke

mattclarke

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2010

Posted 21 July 2010 - 11:13 AM

Hi All,

I recently signed up for DTV and WHV for my cottage. The problem is, the cottage is in a remote area and is without telephone and internet.

The install is scheduled for this weekend, and I have ordered 2 HDPVR and one HD receiver. The reason for 2 HDPVR is because there is a studio/guest house on the property that I want to have a second HDPVR in case I cannot get the WHV working (over 100ft away from main house.).

Can anyone suggest any potential pitfalls for my install? and offer any suggestions.

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,420 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 21 July 2010 - 11:19 AM

No internet will just keep you from doing the On Demand feature.
No phone line will prevent you from ordering a PPV with the remote.
Other than that there should be no problems.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#3 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,893 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 22 July 2010 - 04:52 AM

You may have some trouble with that much cabling in the system. The SWiM/DECA system appears to be pretty sensitive to signal degradation.
"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."

#4 OFFLINE   mattclarke

mattclarke

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2010

Posted 22 July 2010 - 08:40 AM

what if I used a slimeline dish WITHOUT SWiM?

#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,726 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 July 2010 - 09:08 AM

what if I used a slimeline dish WITHOUT SWiM?

How much "over 100ft away" is it really?
Normally you have about 150' without issues.
You can use RG11, instead of RG6, for longer runs which may be a good idea for this as you could still use the DECA network to interconnect all the receivers.
150' of RG6 with SWiM would have about 13 dB loss, where RG11 would be closer to 220' for the same loss.
A.K.A VOS




spam firewall