Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Rain issues, not happy!


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 22 July 2010 - 12:24 AM

The few times it did I knew we were going to get hit hard in 15 minutes, I kind of liked that aspect of it.


Yeah if mine goes out, my truck better be in the garage, grill and lawn furniture secured, and cat brought in because something big is overhead.
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   georule

georule

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,593 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2010

Posted 22 July 2010 - 06:11 AM

Yeah, the heavy rain doesn't actually have to be right over top of you. It could be a few miles to your south, and rain cells can be pretty focused. Your signal strengths look good to me, but if, as you sound like, you're pretty new, I'd give it a little more time to get a real feel for how much of a problem this is.

I logged all my outages the first year (just ended) in Minnesota, where we get even tornados in the vicinity every summer. I had 11, but most only lasted a few minutes (longest was 15 mins), and every time NOAA radar showed orange or red either right over us or just to our south.

DVR is nice for those, and I also got an AM21 to hook a small indoor antenna into the DVR to keep me up on locals and still navigated (and even record) them thru the D* stb. Of course, how far from your local antenna farm you are makes a difference if that is a reasonable strategy for you. As I said, we get tornardos coming thru, so I wanted to be able to monitor the local TV stations for weather coverage even if I'm having a rain fade.

#23 ONLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,045 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 22 July 2010 - 06:23 AM

If you're watching HD it's 99 and 103 that matter. Your signals should be 85+ at a minimum.

And by the way, it can be pouring down rain right on top of you and you won't lose a signal. It's the tall thunderstorms off in the distance between you and the satellite that can knock out your signal. But it should only happen in the most severe weather.

Yes - thanks for your post.

Said many times...heard less often. :D
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#24 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 22 July 2010 - 06:39 AM

Yeah, the heavy rain doesn't actually have to be right over top of you. It could be a few miles to your south, and rain cells can be pretty focused.


THIS... I bet this was the issue both times. you may have been on fring of storm but your aim point could have been direct at the cell.
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#25 OFFLINE   DanG48

DanG48

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 22 July 2010 - 08:22 AM

I have had Directv since 1995. During that time it has been in Florida except for the last 7 months that I have lived in North Ga. During the time I lived in Fl. and we had a fair share of storms, my rain fade was probably less than 3-4 times a year. I even had signal during the heaviest time of Hurricane Frances. I mind you the signal was only 30% but I had picture and watched movies, news with the help of a generator. Since I have moved to Ga. I have had it go out only once and that was for maybe 5 minutes. Yes there will be rain fade but I agree with other post that there is a lot of factors that can affect this.

#26 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 22 July 2010 - 08:26 AM

Over the 13 yrs I had DirecTV I'd have a couple rain fade events each year. May have had more but never noticed. Signal back in just a few minutes.

Compared to cable that would be out for 2-3 *days* after a storm or just some wind.

I know which I'd rather have. ;)

#27 OFFLINE   Machael

Machael

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 94 posts
Joined: Apr 20, 2008

Posted 22 July 2010 - 09:27 AM

The worst part of rain fade....it always seems to happen when my DVR is recording :nono2:

It rarely happens, but we do get some big arse Tstorms here. 99% of the time it's gone pretty fast.

HR23-700
HR20-700
WB68 multiswitch
Networked via Netgear XAVB101 Powerline (200MPS)
Sony KDL-52XBR4 (via HDMI)
Onkyo TX-SR302 (Coax DD input)
PS3
Remote: Logitech 600
UPS: APC


#28 OFFLINE   xceebeex

xceebeex

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 173 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2010

Posted 22 July 2010 - 10:17 AM

It was probably only out for about 5-10 minutes, but my wife called me earlier this week and said the same thing happened. I understand that weather is always a factor, but for it to happen twice in the same week, both were minor storms that passed pretty quickly it just seems kind of strange to me. Plus the signal dropped all the way to 0, not just low, but 0.

I guess we will see how things go. I will try and check the connections outside to make sure it is nothing obvious as well.

#29 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 22 July 2010 - 10:32 AM

It was probably only out for about 5-10 minutes, but my wife called me earlier this week and said the same thing happened. I understand that weather is always a factor, but for it to happen twice in the same week, both were minor storms that passed pretty quickly it just seems kind of strange to me. Plus the signal dropped all the way to 0, not just low, but 0.

I guess we will see how things go. I will try and check the connections outside to make sure it is nothing obvious as well.


Thing to check: Is it only going out when it's actually raining at your house? If so then I'd agree you may have a lose or bad connection. And not just at the dish but check all your lines from the dish to the entry point of the house for any splits or holes. And then check inside the house as well for splits or bends. Could just be a poor cable install.

Or even a bad LNB that is allowing water to seep into it. I had an LNB like that where I wouldn't actually lose signal in rain but it would drop a lot due to condensation inside the LNB cap. The big problem I had was in the winter when that condensation would freeze to ice, it would make most signals go out. Replaced the LNB and all was good.

#30 OFFLINE   georule

georule

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,593 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2010

Posted 22 July 2010 - 11:21 AM

Plus the signal dropped all the way to 0, not just low, but 0.


I don't know about older equipment, but my rig being a year-old, that's what I see when it happens too. Signal strength will fade into maybe the upper 40's while keeping a picture, and then boom --0 and no picture. I can't say I have ever seen a situation where I had no picture and some signal strength showing on the meters. As I said, I don't know about older stuff, but the new stuff just doesn't seem to do a smooth curve on the signal strength independent of whether there is a picture produced or not. No picture = 0 in my experience of the last year.

#31 OFFLINE   georule

georule

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,593 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2010

Posted 22 July 2010 - 11:32 AM

Over the 13 yrs I had DirecTV I'd have a couple rain fade events each year. May have had more but never noticed. Signal back in just a few minutes.

Compared to cable that would be out for 2-3 *days* after a storm or just some wind.

I know which I'd rather have. ;)


Yeah, a lot of people don't consider that. Cable goes out less often, but in *much* larger chunks.

#32 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 22 July 2010 - 12:01 PM

Or even a bad LNB that is allowing water to seep into it. I had an LNB like that where I wouldn't actually lose signal in rain but it would drop a lot due to condensation inside the LNB cap. The big problem I had was in the winter when that condensation would freeze to ice, it would make most signals go out. Replaced the LNB and all was good.


Same here. It was a SWM LNB and I went to a SWM 16 so I just popped a legacy back in there and I haven't had any problems. I actually noticed a spot where there was no sealant on the caps. One of these days I will put back and call protection plan since that is what it is for... but I needed this other setup right away. :)
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#33 OFFLINE   cosmo

cosmo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2005

Posted 22 July 2010 - 12:36 PM

Here are my readings:

Satellite transponders (32 total at 101º)
[Most of your standard definition channels are beamed from 101ºW]
1-8 96 94 95 85 92 99 94 100
9-16 95 96 96 83 95 100 95 100
17-24 91 100 95 74 97 100 97 100
25-32 95 95 96 86 97 100 95 100

Satellite transponders (16 total at 99º(s)) [or 99º(b)]
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8 0 73 0 0 0 65 NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA 21 68
17-24 73 54 0 71 95 92 23 37
[Note: these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (14 total at 99º©) [or 99º(a)]
[National HD channels]
1-8 96 95 95 95 95 95 95 94
9-16 95 95 95 92 96 95 NA NA
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(s)) [or 103º(a)]
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8 0 0 0 98 0 0 NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA 80 91
17-24 0 42 96 94 98 96 74 75
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(ca))
[National HD channels beamed from D12 satellite]
1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA
9-16 94 84 92 92 89 86 86 91
17-24 87 89 88 92 88 90 89 94

Satellite transponders (14 total at 103º(cb)) [or 103º(b)]
[National HD channels beamed from D10 satellite]
1-8 95 93 95 88 94 88 94 88
9-16 94 88 95 88 94 87 NA NA
17-24 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA

Satellite transponders (9 total at SWM)
[You'll only see this if you have a Single Wire Multiswitch (SWM) dish]
1-8 98 100 100 0 97 96 96 97
9-16 96 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA


For 99(s) and 103(s) if there are signals there, does that mean I am picking up someone's locals? Mine are not available yet in this area. Does the 0 on the SWM transponder mean anything?


i think the dish needs to be dithered(centered or balanced)
i notice with a dithered dish the range of the readings should be
94 95 95 97 100 94 95 97 on any of the 3 sats.
when i see
94 97 85 96 91 87 the readings are a little eratic
i would make sure the dish is dithered right. take 2 minutes.

#34 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 22 July 2010 - 12:43 PM

i think the dish needs to be dithered(centered or balanced)
i notice with a dithered dish the range of the readings should be
94 95 95 97 100 94 95 97 on any of the 3 sats.
when i see
94 97 85 96 91 87 the readings are a little eratic
i would make sure the dish is dithered right. take 2 minutes.


2 minutes? It takes longer than that for me to even find my 1/2" socket much less drag a TV out where I can see the readings! :lol:
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#35 OFFLINE   xceebeex

xceebeex

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 173 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2010

Posted 22 July 2010 - 12:44 PM

i think the dish needs to be dithered(centered or balanced)
i notice with a dithered dish the range of the readings should be
94 95 95 97 100 94 95 97 on any of the 3 sats.
when i see
94 97 85 96 91 87 the readings are a little eratic
i would make sure the dish is dithered right. take 2 minutes.


Ok, well I have no clue what that means or how to go about doing that. I don't want to do anything that could potentially make this worse either.

#36 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,956 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 July 2010 - 12:51 PM

Ok, well I have no clue what that means or how to go about doing that. I don't want to do anything that could potentially make this worse either.

Dithering is where you detune the signal by moving it off center to a given level, then move it back through center to the other side and the same drop in the level using the fine tuning adjustment and count how many turns this was. Next you move it half way [half the number of turns] back and this should be the center.
A.K.A VOS

#37 OFFLINE   xceebeex

xceebeex

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 173 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2010

Posted 22 July 2010 - 01:01 PM

Dithering is where you detune the signal by moving it off center to a given level, then move it back through center to the other side and the same drop in the level using the fine tuning adjustment and count how many turns this was. Next you move it half way [half the number of turns] back and this should be the center.


Gotcha. I am not sure if that is something that I should try out or not. I would have to have my wife help out obviously since I don't have a TV on my roof. Plus who knows if I would even do it right to begin with and could potentially make it worse. (It doesn't really sound that difficult though, but just not sure if it is worth the hassle)

#38 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,956 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 July 2010 - 01:20 PM

Gotcha. I am not sure if that is something that I should try out or not. I would have to have my wife help out obviously since I don't have a TV on my roof. Plus who knows if I would even do it right to begin with and could potentially make it worse. (It doesn't really sound that difficult though, but just not sure if it is worth the hassle)

If you're not comfortable, then either pass on it or have a service call.
I pack up a monitor, receiver and use a long cord, so I can see the screen, since trying to get someone else to yell out what I need doesn't work here.
A.K.A VOS

#39 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,891 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 22 July 2010 - 04:50 PM

Just keep in mind, depending on your locality, whenever you have dense, severe thunderstorms to your south, you will most likely have some outages. Here in the midwest, we get towering thunderstorms. When they are right overhead, there isn't much of a problem. When they are to the south, and the line-of-sight is directly through a large set of cells, we have outages. It has always been that way, and has gotten worse with the advent of HD, because they are running on an even higher frequency, which is suffers more precip loss.

My signal levels are fine. Two different dishes on the house behave exactly the same way, even though they show slightly different signal levels.

In our area, some precip fade is expected. There is absolutely nothing that can be done about it. This is just part of satellite reception (on these Ka/Ku band systems). C-band was not as vulnerable, but it did happen, however rarely.

If the signal levels are good (and yours are), and the connections were properly waterproofed (no water in the coax now), and no corrosion from past poor installations, then any rain fade (or snow, for that matter) is something you may have to live with, or change to cable or fios (if available).

I say "may", because I don't know what is "normal" for your part of NY. Here in Iowa, we will experience rain fade several times per year, and in a year like this one, where we are 12 inches over normal precip, it has been more often. That's how it is....here. YMMV.

...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock

HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD

DirecTV since 1995


#40 OFFLINE   juliob61

juliob61

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 18, 2010

Posted 26 July 2010 - 09:30 PM

I live in Columbia, SC, and rain fade is a fairly common occurrence here in the summer. My signal strength is in the 90s on all 103 transponders and in the high 90s on all 101 transponders, with many 100s on the 101s. We had an especially severe storm today, and every transponder on every satellite dropped to zero. I've had zero levels more than a few times in the last year. Today, the signals disappeared before the rain began, so the problem isn't moisture in the connectors.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...