Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

How to I do a force format


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   chefwong

chefwong

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 241 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2008

Posted 23 July 2010 - 05:38 PM

Been doing resets with the *down & record& button* in various fashions during the bootup with no luck doing a force format.

Following this thread with no luck...
http://www.dbstalk.c...ht=force format

Any ideas/suggestions

HD failed. Got error code 14-694.
Popped in a new WD20EVDS internally, can't seem to get the dang thing to format..

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,651 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 23 July 2010 - 05:45 PM

You can no longer reformat a drive. What used to [record & down arrow] now simply does an extended disk scan.
You can to a "reset everything", which will clear the drive, but it isn't a reformat.
A.K.A VOS

#3 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,376 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 23 July 2010 - 05:50 PM

Try this thread:

http://www.dbstalk.c...light=reset all

or this:

http://www.dbstalk.c...eset everything

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#4 OFFLINE   chefwong

chefwong

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 241 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2008

Posted 23 July 2010 - 06:02 PM

Thx. I got select and got dianostics...while waiting, it went straight to 14-694.
I guess formatting is indeed out the door....


Formattting is married to the receiver right.
Could I hook it up to a external, hook it up to a alternate receiver via Esata, and then hook it back up to the BAD Receiver.

#5 OFFLINE   Manctech

Manctech

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 542 posts
Joined: Jul 05, 2010

Posted 23 July 2010 - 06:20 PM

call D* I think they can force one over the phone. I could be very wrong.

TWC Technician (Huntersville, Cornelius, Davidson Area)


#6 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,378 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 23 July 2010 - 06:36 PM

If it is a new drive there is nothing you need to do to it, just install it, the receiver will detect its presence and proceed on its own from there. The couple that I have done have all worked this way.
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#7 OFFLINE   Nighthawk68

Nighthawk68

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 348 posts
  • LocationNorthern Michigan
Joined: Oct 14, 2004

Posted 23 July 2010 - 06:45 PM

If it is a new drive there is nothing you need to do to it, just install it, the receiver will detect its presence and proceed on its own from there. The couple that I have done have all worked this way.


Does this apply to internal and external or just external drives? If my 500gb internal HD were to go bad, would putting in a 1 or 1.5 tb drive work? Where does it get its image? or is that downloaded over the sat?

Sorry if this seems like a stupid question.

#8 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,728 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 23 July 2010 - 06:52 PM

Try this thread:

http://www.dbstalk.c...light=reset all

or this:

http://www.dbstalk.c...eset everything


Both are exactly what VOS already told the OP and neither perform a format....
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#9 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,728 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 23 July 2010 - 06:54 PM

Does this apply to internal and external or just external drives? If my 500gb internal HD were to go bad, would putting in a 1 or 1.5 tb drive work? Where does it get its image? or is that downloaded over the sat?

Sorry if this seems like a stupid question.


Yes, that works for both internal and external drives. If you put in a drive that was not previously used on that unit it will be formatted to the correct layout required by the DVR. There's no image to get really, the OS isn't on the drive it's in the firmware on the motherboard.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#10 OFFLINE   chefwong

chefwong

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 241 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2008

Posted 23 July 2010 - 06:57 PM

Doesn't want to format for me...
Brand new WD20EVDS....ain't formatting for squat when hooked up internally.

In the process of dumping into a external enclosure to see if it will format...

#11 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,651 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 23 July 2010 - 07:20 PM

You can check the error codes but "it went straight to 14-694." seems to point to you being screwed.

On Screen Text: “Internal Storage Error Detected. A problem was detected reading your internal storage device. Please call Customer Service at 1-800-DIRECTV and report the diagnostic code displayed below. Diagnostic Code: 14”

What to do: Select "Reboot" to reset Receiver. If still a problem: Do NOT try to reformat from the front panel. Replace Receiver.
A.K.A VOS

#12 OFFLINE   Nighthawk68

Nighthawk68

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 348 posts
  • LocationNorthern Michigan
Joined: Oct 14, 2004

Posted 23 July 2010 - 07:20 PM

Thanks, great info

#13 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,378 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 23 July 2010 - 07:23 PM

Doesn't want to format for me...
Brand new WD20EVDS....ain't formatting for squat when hooked up internally.

In the process of dumping into a external enclosure to see if it will format...


Does the drive spin up? You might have a power supply problem.
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#14 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 23 July 2010 - 08:11 PM

You can check the error codes but "it went straight to 14-694." seems to point to you being screwed.

On Screen Text: “Internal Storage Error Detected. A problem was detected reading your internal storage device. Please call Customer Service at 1-800-DIRECTV and report the diagnostic code displayed below. Diagnostic Code: 14”

What to do: Select "Reboot" to reset Receiver. If still a problem: Do NOT try to reformat from the front panel. Replace Receiver.


Just to expand.

It's Dead Jim

Do not pass go, do not collect $200, go directly to jail.


Code 14 is the kiss of death. It's dead. Even by some slim chance you got it working again, it will fail again. Not if, but when.

Get it replaced.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#15 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 23 July 2010 - 08:13 PM

Try this thread:

http://www.dbstalk.c...light=reset all

or this:

http://www.dbstalk.c...eset everything


Or better yet, look at the code list post in my signature that has usefull infomation. Neither of these threads will do squat for a code 14. The only thing that will fix a code 14 is a call to DirecTv and the FedEx truck.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#16 OFFLINE   chefwong

chefwong

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 241 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2008

Posted 24 July 2010 - 07:27 AM

I did indeed see the code list.
Bearing I was hearing hard drive/spindle errors, I simply assumed a new hard driver swap (upon power it would auto format) would correct the matter.

I now know it does not....

#17 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,376 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 24 July 2010 - 07:55 AM

Both are exactly what VOS already told the OP and neither perform a format....

The reasons I mentioned these threads is three-fold:

1. The discuss how to get to the diagnostics
2. They talk about formatting not being an option
3. They illustrate that using the search feature first may net you the answers that you're looking for.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#18 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,728 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 24 July 2010 - 11:54 AM

The reasons I mentioned these threads is three-fold:

1. The discuss how to get to the diagnostics
2. They talk about formatting not being an option
3. They illustrate that using the search feature first may net you the answers that you're looking for.


All of which VOS already brought up.

Please stick to the DISH forums.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT




spam firewall