Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

H24 Dolby Digital Problem


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dschamis

dschamis

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2008

Posted 24 July 2010 - 01:11 PM

Weird issue - for some reason when I connect my H24 to my Anthem Statement D2 pre/pro via HDMI and turn Dolby Digital 'ON' in the menu, I lose all sound. This doesn't seem to be a problem anywhere else.

Any ideas?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,580 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 24 July 2010 - 01:32 PM

Have you checked the options for the Anthem?
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#3 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 24 July 2010 - 02:31 PM

Have you checked the options for the Anthem?

I think we could have issues here. :grin:

Posted Image

############

My bet is your Anthem isn't seeing the digital stream correctly. I'd look for it being a set-up issue.

Looks like one hell of a piece, dschamis.

Edited by Carl Spock, 24 July 2010 - 02:47 PM.

hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#4 OFFLINE   bills

bills

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2002

Posted 24 July 2010 - 02:44 PM

check with the guys at avsforum they will help you. regards

#5 OFFLINE   marquitos2

marquitos2

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 125 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2004

Posted 24 July 2010 - 06:50 PM

Turn the DD off, see what happen.
Marquitos

#6 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 24 July 2010 - 06:54 PM

Since the OP says he loses sound when he turns Dolby Digital on, I'd assume he has sound when he turns it off.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#7 OFFLINE   dschamis

dschamis

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2008

Posted 24 July 2010 - 09:44 PM

Since the OP says he loses sound when he turns Dolby Digital on, I'd assume he has sound when he turns it off.


That is correct, when its off you get sound, but not DD.

#8 OFFLINE   1dersky

1dersky

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Oct 09, 2007

Posted 26 July 2010 - 11:39 AM

Side note: SWEET receiver.

I have my H24 set to "On" and it works correctly via HDMI with my Onkyo.

Are you passing video through the Anthem too? If not, I'd suggest wiggling the HDMI connection on the H24. I had to do that a couple of times upon powering it on for some reason, but it seems happy now.

If you ARE passing video and it works, I'm at a loss.

#9 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 26 July 2010 - 12:14 PM

dechamis, if you still haven't figured this out, I'd look for a sampling issue. DD 5.1 coming from DirecTV samples at 48kHz. I'd make sure your Anthem is set up to take signals at that sampling rate. Your piece is so special, I wouldn't be surprised if this was a separate menu item.

You might also want to try a Toslink optical or coaxial digital feed for audio. The only way I could get my Yamaha receiver to light up Dolby Digital from my HD DVD player was to bring in the audio this way. I had to set up the menu on the Yamaha to use this digital feed rather than the HDMI cable that carried the video. I never could figure out why this was the case, and with it being the HD DVD player, I really didn't care. All other sources worked fine through HDMI cables.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A




Protected By... spam firewall...And...