Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Activations no longer available for receivers without an RID


  • Please log in to reply
104 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,917 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:05 PM

Effective 7/22, receivers without an RID (Receiver Identification) number will no longer be eligible for activation.

There a a lot of legacy receivers that you guys may have in the closet that fall into this category. In fact, I have one in my legacy TiVo (SAT-T60) however, it is currently activated and will remain activated. However, if I were to deactivate it, I would not be able to reactivate it on my account.

Minor correction. If the legacy receiver without RID had been active on an account before, it is possible to reactivate on same account as long as it has an existing access card for that account. It cannot be added to anyone else's account (by selling or gifting, etc.)

Sorry for being late on this, but I just got the tidbit today.

Now being reported here:

For the past 8+ years I have been a Directv customer, I have *always* been able to activate a used receiver, as long as the previous account tied to the receiver was not past due.

...

Now when I call (and escalate, and escalate), I have been told that NO used receivers can be activated anymore, that you must BUY or LEASE a brand new receiver from Directv.


Edited by Doug Brott, 04 August 2010 - 02:05 PM.

DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   bubbagscotch

bubbagscotch

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2009

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:11 PM

Did you get that response from a regular CSR, I know some CSR's say that but when you get transferred to the access card dept. they can easily activate them with no issue.

#3 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:11 PM

Queue the complaining :lol:

The thrift store here still sells RID-less units... oh well.

Are they going to start shutting down older legacy receivers as well?
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#4 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,596 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:12 PM

Did you get that response from a regular CSR, I know some CSR's say that but when you get transferred to the access card dept. they can easily activate them with no issue.


Haha...he likely got it from a contact within DirecTV's ranks.
DTV = Digital Television

#5 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,913 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:12 PM

Did you get that response from a regular CSR, I know some CSR's say that but when you get transferred to the access card dept. they can easily activate them with no issue.


Doug's info from CSR? :lol::lol::lol:
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#6 OFFLINE   dcowboy7

dcowboy7

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,629 posts
  • LocationPequannock, NJ
Joined: May 22, 2008

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:17 PM

So they should "get rid" of them ? :D

#7 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,798 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:19 PM

Did you get that response from a regular CSR, I know some CSR's say that but when you get transferred to the access card dept. they can easily activate them with no issue.


Have you met Doug?
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#8 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,596 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:20 PM

Hello Doug! Welcome to DBSTalk.com.
DTV = Digital Television

#9 OFFLINE   bubbagscotch

bubbagscotch

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2009

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:21 PM

Yea who is Doug?

#10 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,913 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:21 PM

Proof? (Coca Cola Kid might ask)
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#11 OFFLINE   dmurphy

dmurphy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,674 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:24 PM

Effective 7/22, receivers without an RID (Receiver Identification) number will no longer be eligible for activation.

There a a lot of legacy receivers that you guys may have in the closet that fall into this category. In fact, I have one in my legacy TiVo (SAT-T60) however, it is currently activated and will remain activated. However, if I were to deactivate it, I would not be able to reactivate it on my account.

Sorry for being late on this, but I just got the tidbit today.


Ouch....... That sucks.

I still have some DirecTiVo devices (gxcebot's, hdvr2's, sd-dvr40's...) that I own which I'd like the ability to activate. Part of me is thinking I should activate them asap and replace any leased R15's with them, otherwise, I'm up the creek a bit with owned vs leased. I still have some HD receivers that are leased, but i can live with that......

In fact, I think I'm going to do exactly that.

#12 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,913 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:25 PM

Yea who is Doug?


Posted Image
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#13 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:26 PM

Let us know how that works...since 7/22 was almost a week ago.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#14 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:26 PM

Yea who is Doug?

He's a Super Moderator!




And one of the best connected guys here.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#15 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,967 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:27 PM

MPEG4 bigot here. :)

First transition was to get to only flat panels with H2x and HR2x receivers.

Next goal is only Hx24 receivers.
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#16 OFFLINE   dmurphy

dmurphy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,674 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:28 PM

Let us know how that works...since 7/22 was almost a week ago.


Indeed, but my guess is that I'll still be able to do it with some perseverance.

"They" also say that access cards can't be moved between receivers but I've managed to accomplish that as well....

#17 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,743 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:29 PM

Effective 7/22, receivers without an RID (Receiver Identification) number will no longer be eligible for activation.

There a a lot of legacy receivers that you guys may have in the closet that fall into this category. In fact, I have one in my legacy TiVo (SAT-T60) however, it is currently activated and will remain activated. However, if I were to deactivate it, I would not be able to reactivate it on my account.


:new_cussi :soapbox: :new_cussi :soapbox: :new_cussi :soapbox: :new_cussi


~Alan

#18 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,913 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:30 PM

Let us know how that works...since 7/22 was almost a week ago.


Guess you missed..."Sorry for being late on this, but I just got the tidbit today."
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#19 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,743 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:30 PM

Next goal is only Hx24 receivers.


I'm going to TRY and attempt that this week.

That being said, I'm STILL ticked at this news. :mad:

~Alan

#20 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 27 July 2010 - 06:38 PM

Maybe my 3 RCA DRD435RHs are now worth a quarter or two :)
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009




spam firewall