Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Need a new dish:


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Folin

Folin

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 27 July 2010 - 07:13 PM

Had hail damange...roofers here today and dropped/broke the sat dish. I think it's slimline 5, but not 100% or if there's a better option.

The local installer wants $300, which sounds silly. DTV will take 2 weeks to get one up. So I'd like to order online and have the roofer reinstall.

Seeing Slim 5 at Amazon for $80...but wanted to touchbase here before we order.

We have an HR20-700, HR20-100, HDVR2 and H23-600. All thru a Zin WB68.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,841 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 27 July 2010 - 07:18 PM

Get the Amazon one.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#3 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 27 July 2010 - 07:23 PM

check craigslist.org in your area for free ones first! you roofer should pay for it though if they dropped it...

they are pretty sensitive to impact... I had one in a small bucket of concrete and it fell on its back and warped it
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#4 OFFLINE   Folin

Folin

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 27 July 2010 - 07:28 PM

The poor roofer asked my wife (I wasn't home when it happened) to not call his boss, said he' pay for it. She got $80 from DTV but 2 weeks, then she told him $300 local...then he said, maybe you should call my boss.

So yeah, she called, and he'll pay for it but she was worried the roofer might get fired because he played her pretty hard. Didn't sound like an issue.

What's this $150 dish for vs. Slimline: http://www.amazon.co...0280306&sr=1-18

#5 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 27 July 2010 - 07:30 PM

That link is the dish that was used before slimline. Make sure you get the right dish, are you using a legacy LNB or a SWM LNB?
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#6 OFFLINE   Folin

Folin

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 27 July 2010 - 07:34 PM

That link is the dish that was used before slimline. Make sure you get the right dish, are you using a legacy LNB or a SWM LNB?


Think it's SWM...how can I check?

#7 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 27 July 2010 - 07:35 PM

Pull the LNB off and see if it has 1 or 4 connections on it.
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#8 OFFLINE   Folin

Folin

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 27 July 2010 - 07:38 PM

Definitely have 4 wires out of the dish.

#9 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 27 July 2010 - 07:41 PM

Cool, now do you have a 3 LNB or a 5 LNB? 1 white/clear cap or 3?
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#10 OFFLINE   Folin

Folin

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 27 July 2010 - 07:41 PM

3 capper

#11 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 27 July 2010 - 07:45 PM

That sounds about right on the price then, $80. Make sure it comes with the AZ/EL back and monopoles, looks like some don't on amazon.
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#12 OFFLINE   Folin

Folin

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 27 July 2010 - 07:46 PM

That sounds about right on the price then, $80. Make sure it comes with the AZ/EL back and monopoles, looks like some don't on amazon.


What's all that about (AZ/EL and monopoles).

#13 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 27 July 2010 - 07:48 PM

Not sure what dishes come without that back, I just noticed some of the dishes say "this does come with the AZ/EL back" which makes me think some don't.

The monopoles are those two skinny poles that stick out from the main pole.
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#14 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 27 July 2010 - 09:13 PM

Also, having your roofer re-install the dish is, IMO, a BAD idea. You'll almost certainly need a service call to properly re-aim it anyway, so why not just have DirecTV install it? I know waiting sucks, but you can probably get your appointment bumped up, and paying more to get a dish quicker that ends up not getting you the signal you need (because it isn't aimed correctly) seems like a waste to me.

#15 OFFLINE   johnp37

johnp37

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 537 posts
  • LocationCentral NJ
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 28 July 2010 - 07:02 AM

Had hail damange...roofers here today and dropped/broke the sat dish. I think it's slimline 5, but not 100% or if there's a better option.

The local installer wants $300, which sounds silly. DTV will take 2 weeks to get one up. So I'd like to order online and have the roofer reinstall.

Seeing Slim 5 at Amazon for $80...but wanted to touchbase here before we order.

We have an HR20-700, HR20-100, HDVR2 and H23-600. All thru a Zin WB68.

Have the roofer reinstall?? Unless this roofer is also an experienced installer that is a very bad idea. One does not simply plop a dish on a roof, aim it it the general direction of the old one and walk away. Alignment is a lot more complicated now than in the past. Bottom line, a roofer does not have the knowledge,expertise or proper tools/meter to install and align a satellite dish. Bite the bullet and have D* or a local contractor do it and bill the roofer's boss, after all, his guys broke it. This should NOT come out of your pocket.

Edited by johnp37, 28 July 2010 - 07:09 AM.


#16 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,824 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 28 July 2010 - 10:02 AM

The poor roofer asked my wife (I wasn't home when it happened) to not call his boss, said he' pay for it. She got $80 from DTV but 2 weeks, then she told him $300 local...then he said, maybe you should call my boss.

So yeah, she called, and he'll pay for it but she was worried the roofer might get fired because he played her pretty hard. Didn't sound like an issue.

What's this $150 dish for vs. Slimline:

You don't want the one in that Amazon link. That's a pretty old dish.

From what you posted so far, you need a Slimline AU9-S, 5LNB dish. It's about $99 from Solidsignal and IIRC, DirecTV will do a "relocation" of the dish for $49 + tax.

http://www.solidsign...CTV Dishes&sku=

The dish in the above link comes with everything the installer needs; including mono-poles, brackets, fasteners, and AZ-EL mount.

IMHO, Do Not have the roofer install the new dish. It's unlikely he has the necessary equipment to align the dish and that's the most important part. The $49 for the installer is well worth it.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#17 OFFLINE   Folin

Folin

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 28 July 2010 - 10:51 AM

Thanks, guys. The roofer talked to his boss late last night and let us know to proceed w/ the local installer. For $300, I'll have her ensure it's a Slimline, 5LNB/SWM version. Thanks for the feedback!

#18 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,824 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 28 July 2010 - 10:54 AM

Thanks, guys. The roofer talked to his boss late last night and let us know to proceed w/ the local installer. For $300, I'll have her ensure it's a Slimline, 5LNB/SWM version. Thanks for the feedback!

With four wires coming out of the dish you do NOT have a SWiM dish.

If you have SWiM (only one wire connected to your DVR and BBCs) then there must be a SWiM module connected to those four wires.

If you're wanting to upgrade to SWiM then you'll also need the correct green lable splitters.

You should be able to find all the info about the receivers, DECA, and SWiM you need in this thread.

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=117744

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#19 OFFLINE   Folin

Folin

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 28 July 2010 - 12:24 PM

I dont' think I really need SWiM then, as I had most of the TV rooms pre-wired w/ 2 lines when we built. Not sure that I'd have use for the extra line already run to the rooms.

Do I need SWiM for DECA (that appeals to me, but not at the current cost).

#20 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 28 July 2010 - 12:38 PM

You need SWM for DECA, but if you order the actual MRV (or "MVR" :mad:) upgrade, you will get a SWM upgrade included in it.
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009




spam firewall