Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Slow HR20-700...all of a sudden?


  • Please log in to reply
148 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Groundhog45

Groundhog45

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,514 posts
  • LocationCedar Park, Texas
Joined: Nov 09, 2005

Posted 02 August 2010 - 08:19 PM

I've noticed that one of my HR20-700s has been slower for several weeks. By contrast, the HR20-100 hasn't changed much and is still pretty quick. I hope the -700s will get better soon.

Richard -- DirecTV since '97
Team SETI.USA

 


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   kokishin

kokishin

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 457 posts
  • LocationSilicon Valley, CA
Joined: Sep 30, 2006

Posted 02 August 2010 - 09:07 PM

Have 2 HR20700's and both are very slow ie menu changes, fast forwards, return to menu. Basically, the same as other postings. I do not have external HD's. Since both are slow, it seems to me that the units are not to fault. Resets did not help the problem either..


Ditto!

#28 OFFLINE   ctwilliams

ctwilliams

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 129 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2006

Posted 02 August 2010 - 09:14 PM

I just dropped by to see if others were having this issue with their hr20-700s and found this thread. It has been going on about two weeks or so. The channel changes have become VERY slow.

Had to have been a firmware change?

CT

#29 OFFLINE   ardent

ardent

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Aug 21, 2007

Posted 04 August 2010 - 02:23 AM

My HD DVR (HR20-700) receiver has been increasingly slow over the past 2 weeks, then today it became nearly unwatchable. I reset it, same problem. Reset it again 0 2 4 8 to redownload the firmware, same problem still.

This is not an exaggeration, while reading through the threads my directv went into screensaver mode:
- Multi-Room disabled
- Nothing recording
- Screensaver is not a smooth float around like normal, meaning its having problems displaying that bouncing directv logo properly

The menus take quite a while, fastforward/rewind take a while, and watching tv shows causes tons of audio lag, but if you pause, rewind, play, you *might* be able to hear the audio a second time around.... so its not the signal.


Should I call DirecTV and request a new unit? I have the protection plan.

Thanks..

Edited by ardent, 04 August 2010 - 04:09 AM.


#30 OFFLINE   jgrade

jgrade

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 487 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2006

Posted 04 August 2010 - 07:26 AM

I don't use my HR20-700 too often since it is in the basement where my kids play, but I have noticed that MRV from that machine is terrible. Over the past week, watching programs recorded on the HR20 take forever to start, fast forward and resume. I have also noticed that programs are not playing with the correct audio stream; no longer getting DD 5.1 info.
A flute without holes, is not a flute. A doughnut without a hole, is a danish.

Samsung HL-S7478W
DirecTV HR20-700
Sony STR-DA3300ES

#31 OFFLINE   dd5087

dd5087

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, Texas
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 12 August 2010 - 08:11 AM

I don't think this is just associated with the HR20-700. I have an HR20-100 and my son has an HR21-100 and both of ours is very slow when in the Guide. It has been this way for a number of weeks. I have tried the reset but it does nothing to improve it.
HR24-200

#32 OFFLINE   PlanetBill

PlanetBill

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 582 posts
Joined: May 08, 2006

Posted 12 August 2010 - 09:14 AM

family has been complaining about ours too. :(
HR20-700 (DECA), HR24, HR22 (DECA),
HR21(DECA),H23(DECA),R15

#33 OFFLINE   kingram52

kingram52

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 55 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2007

Posted 12 August 2010 - 02:46 PM

My HR20-100 has been slow for several weeks now.

#34 OFFLINE   Kevin L

Kevin L

    AllStar

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 97 posts
  • LocationSouthwest Florida
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 13 August 2010 - 07:26 AM

All three of my HR20-100s are very slow. Started in the last couple of weeks.

#35 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,918 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 13 August 2010 - 08:53 AM

Yeah mine got slow last night again.

#36 OFFLINE   carsonius

carsonius

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2007

Posted 13 August 2010 - 06:23 PM

Include me too. Slow channel changes, menus and, I'll sometimes get video but no audio. I pause the live stream, or recording, for a couple of seconds and the audio returns.

I must say I love this site for the quick "pulse of the brethren" to see if it's only me having a particular problem.

I thought it might be just me since I recently added a gigabit switch, a WD TV Live HD, and another TV on a Monoprice HDMI splitter and thought it could have been any of those that were causing the problem. Not that any of this could be contributing to it...

#37 OFFLINE   rebkell

rebkell

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 469 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2006

Posted 14 August 2010 - 03:51 PM

HR20-100 doing the same, slow and sluggish. Normally mine is this way if it's been sitting most of the day and no one has been around. If I start pushing buttons and using the box, it seems to start working a lot quicker.

Had a new problem today, came in and sat down and it was on FX-HD and the whole video was jittery. I changed channels and got the Searching for sat signal on all the HD channels, even FX-HD when I tried to change back. Checked the signals and they all seemed fine upper 80's to 90's, certainly not low enough that I would be losing signals. Finally gave it the RBR and now everything seems to be working ok.

My sluggishness seems to be more related to idle time(if I'm not interacting with the remote for a while, it's like it starts some kind of processor heavy background task and is occupying the box. Reminds me of Netscape or some PC program that is open and has to swap out memory before it starts responding normally.

Also just noticed that my favorites list was missing all the newer HD channels I added to it, the new Showtimes, Starz, HBO, TMC, Lifetime HD, the Hallmark HD and WGN HD the ones that got added first were still there, but the latest additions had disappeared from my favorites list.

Edited by rebkell, 14 August 2010 - 04:05 PM.


#38 OFFLINE   slapshot1959

slapshot1959

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 194 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2006

Posted 15 August 2010 - 08:19 AM

same here.

#39 OFFLINE   mgroups

mgroups

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2007

Posted 16 August 2010 - 08:02 PM

My HR20-100 has been slow for several weeks now.

Likewise, for at least a couple of weeks. Much worse tonight, which is why I looked for this thread. Resetting doesn't help.

#40 OFFLINE   budd1e_lee

budd1e_lee

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 16 August 2010 - 11:49 PM

HR20-700. Slower than slow. Anything recorded is unwatchable, due to audio dropouts and video stutter. None of which is present during live watching.

#41 OFFLINE   underlord2

underlord2

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 72 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2006

Posted 16 August 2010 - 11:58 PM

Having the same problems with my HR20-700. Wish I could get a HR24 unit for a low price/cheap. Been living with this since for quite a while.

Had the unit since it was first introduced.

#42 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,918 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 20 August 2010 - 07:42 AM

I meant to post this last night.......but did anyone elses HR2x reset yesterday? I got home from work last night and the blue ring lights were on, indicating a restart. I thought it was new software, but it wasn't.

#43 OFFLINE   n3ntj

n3ntj

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,742 posts
  • LocationLancaster, PA area
Joined: Dec 18, 2006

Posted 20 August 2010 - 01:51 PM

My HR20-700 is also slower than slow. Even worse the past month or so. Changing a channel or pulling up the List or Guide is taking 4 or 5 secs. Something is wrong.

Edited by n3ntj, 30 August 2010 - 08:51 AM.

HD Snob - "Friends Don't Let Friends Watch Cable".
Electrical/RF Engineer & Inspector
DirecTV Equipment: HR24-200 (2), 5LNB Slimline, AM21, SWiM 8 installed (MRV), Cinema Kit (Wifi connection)
Configuration: Native OFF. Units OFF when not in use.
TVs: 2 Panasonic Plasma TV's each using HDMI (one 1080p/one 720p)
DirecTV customer since 1998. Plus HD DVR package w/ NHL Center Ice & MLB Extra Innings.
OTA Antenna: Homebrew UHF & VHF antennas w/ 30dB amplifier fed w/ RG-6 Quad-shield coax.


#44 OFFLINE   wilbur_the_goose

wilbur_the_goose

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,426 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 20 August 2010 - 07:44 PM

I have 2 HR20-700s. Both have a LOT of space left. Both have become extremely slow in the last couple of weeks. It's the worst I've ever seen. Restarting doesn't help.

#45 OFFLINE   n3ntj

n3ntj

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,742 posts
  • LocationLancaster, PA area
Joined: Dec 18, 2006

Posted 21 August 2010 - 11:46 AM

I wonder if D* knows of this issue with the HR20-700s in the past month or so. Hardware or software or both issue? Mine is on the latest national release.

HD Snob - "Friends Don't Let Friends Watch Cable".
Electrical/RF Engineer & Inspector
DirecTV Equipment: HR24-200 (2), 5LNB Slimline, AM21, SWiM 8 installed (MRV), Cinema Kit (Wifi connection)
Configuration: Native OFF. Units OFF when not in use.
TVs: 2 Panasonic Plasma TV's each using HDMI (one 1080p/one 720p)
DirecTV customer since 1998. Plus HD DVR package w/ NHL Center Ice & MLB Extra Innings.
OTA Antenna: Homebrew UHF & VHF antennas w/ 30dB amplifier fed w/ RG-6 Quad-shield coax.


#46 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,806 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 21 August 2010 - 12:02 PM

I have 2 HR20-700s. Both have a LOT of space left. Both have become extremely slow in the last couple of weeks. It's the worst I've ever seen. Restarting doesn't help.


I wonder if D* knows of this issue with the HR20-700s in the past month or so. Hardware or software or both issue? Mine is on the latest national release.

If it's an "original" HR20, those boxes are going on 3+ years old now. Could be a sign the drive is failing. If you have the protection plan and say you must have an OTA capable unit, chances are you'll get a nice refurb HR20 with a newer drive, maybe even a 500GB.

I've still got one of my original early '07 HR20's in service and I'm not seeing the slowdown you guys are. I download the latest CE each week, however, so the box is rebooted at least once a week, and often gets a weekly GUIDE data refresh as well. I'm still using the original 320GB drive, tho, so I'm sure it's only a matter of time before that drive fails.
/steve

#47 OFFLINE   rebkell

rebkell

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 469 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2006

Posted 28 August 2010 - 04:38 PM

Just noticed that some of my favorites disappeared from the list again. Once again it's the newer HD premiums that disappeared, the new HBO's, TMC, some of the Showtimes, but not all the newest ones. :confused:

I have no idea what is causing it or when it is actually happening, I don't normally check the premiums during the week, but on the weekends I usually browse the listings to see if there's anything I"m interested in.

#48 OFFLINE   NaperDan

NaperDan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Jun 08, 2009

Posted 31 August 2010 - 07:53 PM

I meant to post this last night.......but did anyone elses HR2x reset yesterday? I got home from work last night and the blue ring lights were on, indicating a restart. I thought it was new software, but it wasn't.


This usually means your HDD stopped recording...:(
D*tv'er since the beginning...

#49 OFFLINE   DavidsonDuke

DavidsonDuke

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 01 September 2010 - 06:38 AM

We're having similar issues, with two additional problems: playback sometimes freezes totally and sometimes the audio works but the video freezes. We can un-freeze it by changing channel or by a system re-set.

It is an HR20-100 and worked fine since we got it.

#50 OFFLINE   JMII

JMII

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 171 posts
  • LocationSouth Florida
Joined: Jan 19, 2008

Posted 01 September 2010 - 03:27 PM

Add me to the list!

My HR20-700 is a complete dog these days. Call up the guide and attempting to scroll thru the channels is downright painful. Box got the latest update and rebooted, still horribly slow :(




Protected By... spam firewall...And...