Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Moved dish, now no local channels. Help!


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Jake1688

Jake1688

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2010

Posted 04 August 2010 - 04:57 PM

I had to move my dish because DirecTv's techs pointed it at my tree in the fall and then were surprised when the leaves blocked the signal. Needless to say I have it moved to a new location, and did it myself since my local tech tried to bilk me for $100 to move it twenty feet. Anyway, I have new cable to make sure it was good quality and the cable channels are coming great. I checked the transponder strengthes and I get 91-100 on most of the transponders, but 4 is zero, 12 is at 62, 20 is 58, and 28 is 88. I am trying to provide as much info as you need. Please feel free to ask if you need anything more. Its been that way for at least 4-5 days so I don't know if resetting the local channel authorization would work or not. Oh and please understand that I am a little inexperienced on how this all works so please dumb down your answers a little, no acronyms!

Edited by Jake1688, 04 August 2010 - 05:08 PM.
Add to original message


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   shedberg

shedberg

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 522 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2007

Posted 06 August 2010 - 08:49 AM

Sounds like your dish may not be aligned properly. Post your signal strengths and maybe someone can help.

Satellite transponders (32 total at 101º)
[Most of your standard definition channels are beamed from 101ºW]
1-8 # # # # # # # #
9-16 # # # # # # # #
17-24 # # # # # # # #
25-32 # # # # # # # #

Satellite transponders (3 total at 110º)
[A few HD channels, also beamed from 99 & 103º]
1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA #
9-16 NA # NA # NA NA NA NA

Satellite transponders (11 total at 119º)
[Local SD channels for some cities, Spanish package]
17-24 NA NA NA NA NA # # #
25-32 # # # # # # # #

Satellite transponders (16 total at 99º(s)) [or 99º(b)]
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8 # # # # # # NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA # #
17-24 # # # # # # # #
[Note: these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (14 total at 99º©) [or 99º(a)]
[National HD channels]
1-8 # # # # # # # #
9-16 # # # # # # NA NA
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(s)) [or 103º(a)]
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8 # # # # # # NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA # #
17-24 # # # # # # # #
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (14 total at 103º©) [or 103º(b)]
[National HD channels]
1-8 # # # # # # # #
9-16 # # # # # # NA NA
17-24 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA

Satellite transponders (9 total at SWM)
[You'll only see this if you have a Single Wire Multiswitch (SWM) dish]
1-8 # # # # # # # #
9-16 # NA NA NA NA NA NA NA

#3 OFFLINE   Jake1688

Jake1688

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2010

Posted 12 August 2010 - 07:21 PM

Sorry for the delay. I only show a satellite signal on three of the ones you mentioned, the 101 degrees, 101 degrees, and 119 degrees. I put them in below.

Satellite transponders (32 total at 101º)
[Most of your standard definition channels are beamed from 101ºW]
1-8 90 88 90 0 88 96 90 96
9-16 89 90 90 71 92 97 89 97
17-24 88 99 89 66 91 97 92 97
25-32 88 100 88 86 89 96 88 98

Satellite transponders (3 total at 110º)
[A few HD channels, also beamed from 99 & 103º]
1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA 0
9-16 NA 0 NA 0 NA NA NA NA

Satellite transponders (11 total at 119º)
[Local SD channels for some cities, Spanish package]
17-24 NA NA NA NA NA 0 0 0
25-32 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

Thanks for any help you can offer. I just don't get how it can be getting high numbers for the rest of the channels, but mis-aligned for the local channels at the same time.

#4 OFFLINE   Kevin F

Kevin F

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,128 posts
Joined: May 09, 2010

Posted 12 August 2010 - 07:28 PM

I can see that your locals come through the 119. Do you have a SWM(Single Wire Multi switch) system? It could also be a bad LNB. Do any and all receivers show the same signal strengths?

Kevin

#5 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,565 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 13 August 2010 - 04:01 PM

Don't worry about the low or zero signals from TPs 4, 12, 18, 20, 26, or 28 on 101. These are spot beams.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#6 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 14 August 2010 - 07:57 AM

Everyone is assuming he has a slimline and HDTV, maybe it is a phase 3 with SD receivers. Why hasn't anyone asked what the equipment is?

#7 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,565 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 14 August 2010 - 08:04 AM

Good point!

His reply with signal strengths only showed 101, 110, and 119 sats.

Edited by jdspencer, 14 August 2010 - 08:10 AM.

DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#8 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,857 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 14 August 2010 - 08:57 AM

Dish alignment does appear to be the problem. To the original poster: Please tell us if you have SD or HD service, describe the dish you have, the model numbers of the receivers you have.

Careful adjustment of your dish to make sure you are getting signal on all of the satellites you need to see is important. When you installed your dish at the new location, it is very important that the mast is installed in a perfectly vertical orientation. Most masts have small bubble levels in them to let you see when they are plumb. If you changed the tilt/slew of the dish, that needs to be corrected. Dish alignment is somewhat more complicated than simply pointing it in the right direction.

#9 OFFLINE   Jake1688

Jake1688

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2010

Posted 14 August 2010 - 08:49 PM

First of all, its a dish from DirectTV, oval, with three LNBs in front. I don't think I get HD because I don't have an HDTV and when I hit the HD button on my remote, it tells me service not available.

When I check the signal strengthes it only shows those three satellites, 101, 110 and 119.

I only have one receiver, model number is R22-200.

When you saw the mast has to be plumb, just to be sure, are you refering to the pole the dish is on? And I take it you mean the straight part of it needs to be 90 degrees to the ground, correct? Frankly, at the moment its screwed to a piece of plywood and sitting on top of my picnic table, awaiting a better mounting place. Its pointed generally in the same direction as it was on the roof, but I just set it down for a moment and my wife said the picture suddenly came in clear. We just made small movements to it until the satellite channels came in clear and the transponders were in the high 80s to mid-90s. I haven't changed the tilt on the dish at all. I just loosened the screws so that I could level out the mounting plate and screw it to the plywood.

If you need anything more please feel free to ask. Thanks a lot!




spam firewall