Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

3D TV .. What doesn't work (Hardware)


  • Please log in to reply
316 replies to this topic

#301 OFFLINE   teachsac

teachsac

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2006

Posted 16 November 2011 - 02:34 PM

1080p/24 SbS is not a mandatory format. Mandatory formats for 1080p are frame packed and Top/Bottom. I will not let D* off of the hook for broadcasting in an optional format.

S~

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#302 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,985 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 16 November 2011 - 06:45 PM

1080p/24 SbS is not a mandatory format. Mandatory formats for 1080p are frame packed and Top/Bottom. I will not let D* off of the hook for broadcasting in an optional format.

S~


Could you flesh this out a bit for those of us not quite so jargon-oriented? I will go 3D at some point.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#303 OFFLINE   teachsac

teachsac

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2006

Posted 19 November 2011 - 09:30 AM

Could you flesh this out a bit for those of us not quite so jargon-oriented? I will go 3D at some point.


The 1.4a mandatory 3D formats are:


•1080p @ 23.98/24Hz - Frame Packing (Blu-ray movies)
•720p @ 50 or 59.94/60Hz - Frame Packing (gaming)
•1080i@ 50 or 59.94/60Hz - Side-by-Side
•720p @ 50 or 59.94/60Hz - Top-Bottom
•1080p @ 23.97/24Hz - Top-Bottom

S~

#304 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,985 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 19 November 2011 - 10:34 AM

Thanks, Teach.

Would it be easy to say what this means in terms of PQ on our home sets? And are bit rates very different for each spec.?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#305 OFFLINE   code4code5

code4code5

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 442 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 01 December 2011 - 10:31 PM

I use an hd capture card to record items onto my computers hard disk and off the DVR's disk since it has a limited capacity. The card used component and optical inputs.

I have a working 3D setup downstairs from HR21 to an AVR to a Samsung 3DTV. If I were to hook up component cables at the same time, will I get the sbs image through my capture card? My TV will replay sbs recordings in 3D without any issue.

Just curious before I move the pc downstairs to try and record 3D content.

#306 OFFLINE   youritdepo

youritdepo

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2011

Posted 14 December 2011 - 12:55 AM

First off Directv gave me a non 3d reciever the first attempt, second attempt a hr21-700 dvr

The tv is a vizio M3d421sr Been told its exactly same as the supported M3d420sr (according to vizios tech its a difference in plants)

Again the m3d420sr is listed in there site.

Direct to the tv gets 3d channels except for the ppv 104 channel. Been fighting with them for a week about this. Not that i want ppv i just wanted the option. So far only thing they have done is give me bill credits up to 30 a month off go figure

They are goign to try again with recievers on sunday but I was hoping to find out what reciever works best right now i have an hr21-700 Even though they said I should have gotton a HR24

They also claimed in my market area there is a new ui and update for HD issues comming the next few days, I bet it kills it completely.

For now only on 104 i get error 797 resolution not supported when the tv can more than handel it.


Courage to all that fight for what was promissed.

Edited by youritdepo, 14 December 2011 - 01:01 AM.


#307 OFFLINE   teachsac

teachsac

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2006

Posted 18 December 2011 - 10:26 AM

Ch 104 uses a completely different format than the other channels. N3D, ESPN3d, and 3Net all use 1080i SbS, which is a mandatory format. PPV (104) uses 1080p/24 SbS which is an optional format and is possibly not supported by the Vizio. Many sets do not. Mandatory format is 1080p T/B. The only thing you can try is to manually set your tv to SbS. I do not think changing out receivers will make things better or worse. It is nice having the HR24 for other benefits, though. I've been fighting them for almost a year on that one. Good luck.

S~

Edited by teachsac, 19 December 2011 - 02:27 PM.


#308 OFFLINE   youritdepo

youritdepo

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2011

Posted 19 December 2011 - 09:51 PM

Thanks to everyone here that helped me with testing and my argument with directv.

After reading all this trying everything even talking to Vizio (manufactor of my tv) I eventuly had directv give notice of issues even though they supported the tv.

For some reason the NEW UI download fixed the rest of my issues. The download was only available to me a few days ago. This made my tv a Vizio M3d421sr working on a hr21 dvr. They also replaced the box for all my issues with a hr24 dvr.

It took me almost a month to express my issues just to find out that I did not matter and it was luck that the firmware fixed it.

#309 OFFLINE   mx6bfast

mx6bfast

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationDelray Beach, FL
Joined: Nov 08, 2006

Posted 18 January 2012 - 06:00 PM

Are any of ya'll using monoprice hdmi cables? Just purchased a 3DTV and am getting a free upgrade from my HR20 which I should get hopefully tomorrow. I currently have a Monster (yes I know) cable for the #D blu-ray player because my tv is 240 mhz. I will need a cable for D* and don't want to spend another $80. Would monoprice hdmi cables work fine for 3D? These in particular?

http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2

or

http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=3
Glory, Glory Man United

My setup with pictures

#310 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,089 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 18 January 2012 - 06:03 PM

Are any of ya'll using monoprice hdmi cables? Just purchased a 3DTV and am getting a free upgrade from my HR20 which I should get hopefully tomorrow. I currently have a Monster (yes I know) cable for the #D blu-ray player because my tv is 240 mhz. I will need a cable for D* and don't want to spend another $80. Would monoprice hdmi cables work fine for 3D? These in particular?

http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2

or

http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=3


Yes they'll work. They'll also work on the 3D BluRay.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#311 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,153 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 18 January 2012 - 06:20 PM

Agree with Sigma. Monoprice will work fine. Have them on my 3D TV.
No need to pay Monster prices.

#312 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,065 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 18 January 2012 - 06:21 PM

I've used a number of 'cheap' Monoprice cables and any other HDMI Cale I've got laying around and have not run into any problems. IIRC DIRECTV has said if the cable works with 1080p programming you'll be fine with their 3D channels.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#313 OFFLINE   code4code5

code4code5

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 442 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 18 January 2012 - 09:07 PM

I use a Monoprice 40' HDMI cable that works great. Only paid $20 for it, too. They can't be beat.

#314 OFFLINE   Phil17108

Phil17108

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 85 posts
  • LocationOrange County California
Joined: Apr 10, 2010

Posted 21 January 2012 - 01:27 AM

I have the 65 inch Vizio with 30 feet of the high speed monoprice cables with port savers using an hr23 and it works great.

#315 OFFLINE   txfeinbergs

txfeinbergs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 25 January 2012 - 09:18 PM

I don't know where else to post this.. but I first thought that my receiver (HR22-100) did not see this TV as a 3D TV, but I guess that it had to be on and the receiver connected for a about thirty minutes before the receiver saw the TV as a 3D set and now works every time I turn it on.
Kind of KOOL!

:David


I actually had to do something similar to get my Pioneer Receiver to work (2011 model). I kept getting a message that my Samsung UN60D8000 TC could not display 1080i in 3D. I then rerouted the HDMI cable directly from the DirecTV receiver to the TV and that worked. I then rerouted it back through the AMP, and it now works. I even powered off everything and turne it back on and it still worked. I think a flag had to be set in the DirecTV receiver that wasn't getting set while going through the Pioneer receiver.

Of course now that I have found this thread, I guess I need to go back and try the 1080P 24 frame PPV channel. If that doesn't work, I will have to try the same thing to get the flag set.

#316 OFFLINE   spanishannouncetable

spanishannouncetable

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 717 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 09 February 2012 - 08:31 PM

I just installed a Toshiba 42tl515u passive 3Dtv.

It
is
AWESOME :D

240hz
Built-in WiFi
Youtube, Netflix, VuDu and more out of the box
4 pairs of glasses (same as those from the theater, so you can stock up on extras at Star Wars this weekend :lol: )
Works great with n3D, 3net and ESPN3D
PS3 3D games FTW !!!

and best of all, I got this $1100 msrp 3Dtv from Wal-mart for less than $650 :hurah:
and sold my 3-year-old Vizio 37" for $250, so only $400 to upgrade :hurah: :hurah:

If you haven't gone over to 3D yet, get one of these before they run out !
Fox News : It grows on you... kinda like cancer.

#317 OFFLINE   rahchgo

rahchgo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 295 posts
  • LocationChicago, IL
Joined: Feb 02, 2007

Posted 01 August 2012 - 12:01 PM

I have a new Vizio (M3D470KD) 47" Full HD + 3D TV with Smart TV. This is a passive 3D TV. I'm very pleased with this TV and it works with all the DirecTV 3D channels. One small issue is changing channels. If I switch from/to a 3D channel to/from a 2D channel that is broadcast in 1080i, the set does not "see" the change from/to 2D. If I switch from/to a 2D channel that is is 720p or 480p to/from a 3D channel (always 1080i) the TV recognizes the change and adjusts appropriately. This would appear to be a HDMI handshake issue.
Rich - Chicago, IL (Tri-Taylor neighborhood) HR44-500




Protected By... spam firewall...And...