Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

3D TV .. What doesn't work (Hardware)


  • Please log in to reply
316 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   Gotchaa

Gotchaa

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2006

Posted 22 December 2010 - 12:32 AM

I would be one of those folks that connect the DVR directly to the TV. But that aside, you haven't really stated the problem. The Sony quote mentions VOD but claims 3D content is fine.

When you use your CT350, what specifically doesn't work?


Anything presented in 1080p/24 thus far seems to be an issue. When I pass it thru the Sony box, go into the DVR's miscellaneous options menu and look at supported display resolutions I do not see 3D support for 720p or 1080p/24, when I direct connect those resolutions in the menu pop right up.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,437 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 22 December 2010 - 07:25 AM

Anything presented in 1080p/24 thus far seems to be an issue. When I pass it thru the Sony box, go into the DVR's miscellaneous options menu and look at supported display resolutions I do not see 3D support for 720p or 1080p/24, when I direct connect those resolutions in the menu pop right up.


Ah, understand now.

So the DVR to TV sees all the resolutions.
Put a CT350 in between, you lose some resolutions.
Objectively, the CT350 is the issue.

How about this workaround?
Connect DVR to TV directly via HDMI
Connect DVD (BD) to TV directly via HDMI (or component).
Take Optical output from TV and connect that to input of CT350.

While I don't have a CT350, the above is similar to how my system is wired for my soundbar and all works great with all resolutions including 3D and VOD.

#53 OFFLINE   Gotchaa

Gotchaa

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2006

Posted 23 December 2010 - 01:19 AM

Ah, understand now.

So the DVR to TV sees all the resolutions.
Put a CT350 in between, you lose some resolutions.
Objectively, the CT350 is the issue.

How about this workaround?
Connect DVR to TV directly via HDMI
Connect DVD (BD) to TV directly via HDMI (or component).
Take Optical output from TV and connect that to input of CT350.

While I don't have a CT350, the above is similar to how my system is wired for my soundbar and all works great with all resolutions including 3D and VOD.


yes that is what I did using ARC. But I'd like to figure out if it's the DVR or the 350. At any rate, Sony agreed to take the unit back and refund shipping and the price I paid for it, so I will take them up on it if engineering doesn't get me an answer soon.

#54 OFFLINE   Gotchaa

Gotchaa

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2006

Posted 23 December 2010 - 01:25 AM

Okay I have another 3D pair issue to report. The JVC DILA RS50 is direct connected to the HR24, it does not see support for 720p/60 and 1080p/24 modes. There is clearly a problem with EDID.

I have a PS3 also directly connected (projector has 2 HDMI inputs). I let the PS3 auto detect and it correctly identified these modes. I was also able to playback 1080p/24 content on the PS3.

Switch to the HR24, and guess what, no luck. Today Xgames was broadcast on the 103, and I got the message that my display doesn't support 720p 3D mode!

What a bummer all this investment in high end gear and we're struggling with the basics here...help D* Engineering please!

I have a Panasonic VT25 that I am going to hook up next and test as well...

#55 OFFLINE   texasmoose

texasmoose

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 677 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 23 December 2010 - 04:05 PM

I just purchased a LG 50PX950 3D PDP, is this TV supported for D*3D? and there is no other fee to enjoy 3d programming, unless ppv 3d cinema right? i have "HDaccess" and Choice Ultimate pckg.
HR34-700(leased)
HR24-100 x 2(1 leased, 1 owned)
Fios QIP7232 hd-dvr

#56 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,161 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 23 December 2010 - 04:22 PM

I just purchased a LG 50PX950 3D PDP, is this TV supported for D*3D? and there is no other fee to enjoy 3d programming, unless ppv 3d cinema right? i have "HDaccess" and Choice Ultimate pckg.


That TV isn't lised at http://www.directv.c...P/content/hd/3d as a supported set. DirecTV uses side-by-side format for it's 3D channels, if you set doesn't support that format you're out of luck. It doesn't hurt anything to try since the HR24's you have support 3D and channel 103 and 106 are free so try it. I'd recommend connecting directly to the TV and not going through a AVR first and then reboot the HR24 so it can discover that you'r connected to a 3D set.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#57 OFFLINE   mjm76

mjm76

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2006

Posted 24 December 2010 - 04:38 PM

I just tried to watch the Harlem Globetrotters game in 3D today but I am getting a message that my TV does not support 720P 3D. I have watched other sports programs like ESPN 3D which is in 720P before with no problems. Does anyone know why this is happening?

My current setup is: Panasonic 65 inch Plasma (TCP-65VT25), DirecTV HD DVR 24-500 and a Pioneer VSX 1020 (which is 3D capable).

I tried the 3D movie Caroline on my PS3 which is also hooked up to my Pioneer VSX 1020 AVR and the 3D worked great!

I am wondering if the latest DirecTV update that I received recently messed up the 3D on DirecTV HR24-500?????

Thanks for anyone's help.:)

#58 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,437 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 24 December 2010 - 04:55 PM

I just tried to watch the Harlem Globetrotters game in 3D today but I am getting a message that my TV does not support 720P 3D. I have watched other sports programs like ESPN 3D which is in 720P before with no problems. Does anyone know why this is happening?

My current setup is: Panasonic 65 inch Plasma (TCP-65VT25), DirecTV HD DVR 24-500 and a Pioneer VSX 1020 (which is 3D capable).

I tried the 3D movie Caroline on my PS3 which is also hooked up to my Pioneer VSX 1020 AVR and the 3D worked great!

I am wondering if the latest DirecTV update that I received recently messed up the 3D on DirecTV HR24-500?????

Thanks for anyone's help.:)


Already responded with an idea to your identical post here

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=187982

#59 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,161 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 24 December 2010 - 05:32 PM

I have tried both HR24-200 and HR24-500 passed through a Denon AVR891 and both of them, running the latest software, both play the ESPN3D content, including the Globetrotters BB game.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#60 OFFLINE   Maleman

Maleman

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 860 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2007

Posted 25 December 2010 - 12:46 PM

I just realized that on the last update they have fixed a bug!! I am very happy. Before when I switched onto a 3D channel I had to manually change my settings on my TV. Then when I switched back to HD channel I would have to change inputs or turn off and back on my tv to get HD picture. It seems like this has been all fixed.
Panasonic TCP58VT25
HR22/100
Yamaha RX-A800
Definitive Research Pro 1000/2000 Center channel
SVS Sub
Panasonic 3D /Bluray player
PS3/Xbox/Wii

#61 OFFLINE   rlgesch

rlgesch

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2009

Posted 25 December 2010 - 12:55 PM

Last update fixed my autoswitching to 3d as well. However, it seems like there is more shadowing than before. 3d quality not very good at all imo. hr23 box to onkyo receiver to samsung led tv.

#62 OFFLINE   Maleman

Maleman

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 860 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2007

Posted 25 December 2010 - 01:00 PM

Last update fixed my autoswitching to 3d as well. However, it seems like there is more shadowing than before. 3d quality not very good at all imo. hr23 box to onkyo receiver to samsung led tv.


My setup is similar :) I don't watch 3D much at this point but I like to test it out when programming is available. Everything looked pretty good with bball game.
Great that autoswitching was fixed.

Happy Holidays to everyone.
Panasonic TCP58VT25
HR22/100
Yamaha RX-A800
Definitive Research Pro 1000/2000 Center channel
SVS Sub
Panasonic 3D /Bluray player
PS3/Xbox/Wii

#63 OFFLINE   taz291819

taz291819

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 385 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 27 December 2010 - 10:03 AM

I can confirm that the Mits 73738 works just fine with the HR-22 without the need for the adapter, after the Mits firmware update of course. Directv needs to update their site to express this info.

#64 OFFLINE   Gotchaa

Gotchaa

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2006

Posted 28 December 2010 - 02:31 PM

Okay I have another 3D pair issue to report. The JVC DILA RS50 is direct connected to the HR24, it does not see support for 720p/60 and 1080p/24 modes. There is clearly a problem with EDID.

I have a PS3 also directly connected (projector has 2 HDMI inputs). I let the PS3 auto detect and it correctly identified these modes. I was also able to playback 1080p/24 content on the PS3.

Switch to the HR24, and guess what, no luck. Today Xgames was broadcast on the 103, and I got the message that my display doesn't support 720p 3D mode!

What a bummer all this investment in high end gear and we're struggling with the basics here...help D* Engineering please!

I have a Panasonic VT25 that I am going to hook up next and test as well...


I am posting the following document which I hope the software engineers will review showing the issues with 3D mode on the JVC RS50 and HR24-500

Attached Files



#65 OFFLINE   w6fxj

w6fxj

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 311 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2005

Posted 29 December 2010 - 02:09 PM

I have a DirecTV HR21-100 feeding a Sony STR-DN2010 AVR via HDMI 1.4a cable and the Sony connected via HDMI 1.4a cable to a Sony KDL-42HX800 3D LCD TV. It throws up an "Resolution Not Supported" error about half the time. It will not pass ANY ESPN 3D programming on channel 106.

If I reset the HR21 things will work about half the time but fail sooner or later. Things work fine if I connect the HDMI STR-N2010 input and output cables together with a Monoprice HDMI-female to female adapter. Looks like a compatibility problem between the HR21 and the STR-DN2010 AVR.

#66 OFFLINE   Gotchaa

Gotchaa

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2006

Posted 31 December 2010 - 05:16 AM

I am back with a 3rd display test to share some issues with supported 3D formats. It appears the SC-37 is not passing EDID information thru when connected to the HR24-500 running 0x452 code.

A direct connection to the display, a Panasonic TC-P65VT25 shows that all 3D formats are supported as expected. Connecting thru the SC-37 results in only 1 mode, 1080i, which renders 720p and 1080p/24 SBS content unviewable on the DirecTV DVR as it thinks the display can't support the format which is not correct.

I am attaching a document which outlines the issue. I hope someone is following this thread because it is getting very frustrating. I am especially upset that DirecTV is also broadcasting 3D formats that were not mandatory as some displays have not implemented 720p and 1080p/24 SBS. This is just causing lots of agony and confusion right now amongst EAs who have spent $$$ upgrading for 3D support.

Attached Files



#67 OFFLINE   996911

996911

    Go Pack!

  • Registered
  • 809 posts
  • LocationTobacco Road, NC
Joined: Aug 24, 2006

Posted 31 December 2010 - 11:11 AM

Here's my setup and problem:

D* Box-->HR21
Panel -->Panasonic TC-P65VT25
Receiver-->Integra 40.2

Setting for box is "native on"
Setting for panel is "auto"
Setting on receiver for HDMI is "through"

I am able to get almost all the 3D programming. I have watched the guitar sessions, safari, etc.. What does NOT work is the sports programming. For example, the ACC Football championship game. I get the error message "This 3D program is broadcast in 720p. Your TV does not support this resolution. (797)."

Prior to the latest HR21 software update a couple weeks ago I was not able to get ANY programming and the picture would show up on the panel as to mirrored side-by-side images. At least I get some programming now :)
Cheers,
Ray Johnson

#68 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,161 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 31 December 2010 - 11:14 AM

Here's my setup and problem:

D* Box-->HR21
Panel -->Panasonic TC-P65VT25
Receiver-->Integra 40.2

Setting for box is "native on"
Setting for panel is "auto"
Setting on receiver for HDMI is "through"

I am able to get almost all the 3D programming. I have watched the guitar sessions, safari, etc.. What does NOT work is the sports programming. For example, the ACC Football championship game. I get the error message "This 3D program is broadcast in 720p. Your TV does not support this resolution. (797)."


And what happens is you connect the HR21 directly to the TV, get the same problem?

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#69 OFFLINE   996911

996911

    Go Pack!

  • Registered
  • 809 posts
  • LocationTobacco Road, NC
Joined: Aug 24, 2006

Posted 31 December 2010 - 11:19 AM

If I go directly to the TV I can get the program. However, that is not an option. Do you think something on the HR21 is detecting the pass-through and stopping to feed???

Thanks Rad!
Cheers,
Ray Johnson

#70 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,161 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 31 December 2010 - 11:24 AM

If I go directly to the TV I can get the program. However, that is not an option. Do you think something on the HR21 is detecting the pass-through and stopping to feed???

Thanks Rad!


Actually I think you might be SOL unless you can get the receiver to fix the issue. DirecTV says that they'll only support a direct connection from a TV to the STB, not when a receiver is in the signal path.

When I was shopping for a new AVR I went through five different models before finding one that I was happy with. I tried two different Pioneers's, one being an Elite, and both of them didn't report back to the DirecTV receiver all the 3D resolutions that the TV supported.

I know it stinks but when AVR's get in the signal path and mess with things I don't think they're much that DirecTV can do about it. Sorry.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#71 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,219 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 31 December 2010 - 11:24 AM

If I go directly to the TV I can get the program. However, that is not an option. Do you think something on the HR21 is detecting the pass-through and stopping to feed???

Thanks Rad!


Why isn't it an option? Are you out of coax (3) & optical (2) audio inputs?
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#72 OFFLINE   996911

996911

    Go Pack!

  • Registered
  • 809 posts
  • LocationTobacco Road, NC
Joined: Aug 24, 2006

Posted 31 December 2010 - 11:31 AM

Actually I think you might be SOL unless you can get the receiver to fix the issue. DirecTV says that they'll only support a direct connection from a TV to the STB, not when a receiver is in the signal path.

When I was shopping for a new AVR I went through five different models before finding one that I was happy with. I tried two different Pioneers's, one being an Elite, and both of them didn't report back to the DirecTV receiver all the 3D resolutions that the TV supported.

I know it stinks but when AVR's get in the signal path and mess with things I don't think they're much that DirecTV can do about it. Sorry.

I'm stumped since the Integra is set to "pass-through" as well the receiver has HDMI v1.4a (3D Support, Audio Return Channel). My guess is on the HR21 detecting something inaccurately. We'll see. I'm not too worked up since the 3D is in it's infancy.

Why isn't it an option? Are you out of coax (3) & optical (2) audio inputs?


It's a complete custom home theater with no access to the back of the panel without some labor for removal involved ($$$). Further, the newest input would need to be calibrated ($$$) as well as the RTI (custom remote system) would need re-programming ($$$) to adjust for all the changes. It's nice to be able to send the audio and video via HDMI to one source (AVR) for all my components audio and then just a single HDMI to the panel for video
Cheers,
Ray Johnson

#73 OFFLINE   taz291819

taz291819

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 385 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 31 December 2010 - 12:53 PM

I'm stumped since the Integra is set to "pass-through" as well the receiver has HDMI v1.4a (3D Support, Audio Return Channel). My guess is on the HR21 detecting something inaccurately. We'll see. I'm not too worked up since the 3D is in it's infancy.



It's a complete custom home theater with no access to the back of the panel without some labor for removal involved ($$$). Further, the newest input would need to be calibrated ($$$) as well as the RTI (custom remote system) would need re-programming ($$$) to adjust for all the changes. It's nice to be able to send the audio and video via HDMI to one source (AVR) for all my components audio and then just a single HDMI to the panel for video


My parents bought a HTIB for their Mits 73738, and the AVR that came with it works perfectly, passing through all signals just fine.

The HTIB was:
Onkyo HT-S5300

I believe the AVR is a rebadged version of this AVR:
Onkyo TXSR608

Or close to it anyway.

#74 OFFLINE   BlvJohn

BlvJohn

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 31 December 2010 - 03:44 PM

I am back with a 3rd display test to share some issues with supported 3D formats. It appears the SC-37 is not passing EDID information thru when connected to the HR24-500 running 0x452 code.


It is my understanding that the same thing happens with several 1.4a AVRs including my Onkyo TX-SR608. Others have reported that firmware upgrades for other Onkyo AVRs have corrected the problem and that newer AVRs work OK (like post above). However, Onkyo has yet to release a firmware upgrade for the SR608. Also, Onkyo has not historically released firmware upgrades that have to be made through the optical port (like required for the SR608) to the public.

I think this issue could be addressed by DirecTV as well since the PS3 has no trouble recognizing all the VT25 supported 3D resolutions when the HDMI signal is passed through the AVR.

Edited by BlvJohn, 31 December 2010 - 03:46 PM.
updated

DirecTV HR21-100 (2), HR20-700
Onkyo TX-SR608
Panasonic TC-P58VT25
PS3, Panasonic DMP-BD60

#75 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 31 December 2010 - 06:27 PM

Just to add to the discussion in case DirecTV is listening, my HR22-100, Onkyo HT-RC260 (same as the SR608) and Panasonic PX50VT25 will only recognize 3D in 1080i using the Onkyo "3D ready" HDMI connection. It says "720P is not supported" when I try watching a 720P 3D program and the Miscellaneous Options menu only shows 1080i as a supported resolution for 3D.

Also, when the Panasonic is in 3D mode the remote (tried 3 RC6x's and 2 Harmony's) become virtually non-responsive due to the I/R signal the Panny is outputting to the glasses. When it goes back to 2D mode the remote works fine.

Edit: My grandson just brought his PS3 over and the PS3 passing thru the same receiver recognizes all 3D resolutions. Gotta be a DirecTV issue. No great big deal because I intend on watching VERY little 3D but it still should work fine.

Edited by TBlazer07, 31 December 2010 - 06:36 PM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...