Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR24-100 Soft Picture Quality


  • Please log in to reply
124 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Chris22

Chris22

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2010

Posted 08 August 2010 - 12:55 PM

Hello, I had my HR23 replaced a couple of days ago because it broke down and the Directv Tech gave me the HR24. I noticed my picture quality is less detailed (softer) with the HR24 compared to the HR23. I notice it more on peoples faces, like a soft look. I have a 720p 32" lcd tv. I notice it more on 1080i stations, compared to 720p stations. I have my receiver on 1080i, with native off. I tried to switch to 720p, but had the same problem, so i put it back to 1080i. I have B band converters on my HR24. I only have this one receiver, in my apartment. I didn't have this problem with the HR23, every channel including 1080i or 720p, was excellent and lots of details in the picture. I have a Slimline 3 dish. Could it be that the processing is different on the HR24, compared to the HR23? Thanks in advance.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 08 August 2010 - 01:01 PM

How is it hooked to the TV? Same cable and connection type as the old receiver?

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#3 OFFLINE   Chris22

Chris22

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2010

Posted 08 August 2010 - 01:02 PM

How is it hooked to the TV? Same cable and connection type as the old receiver?


With HDMI. Yes, same cable.

#4 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 08 August 2010 - 01:04 PM

Does the light on the front of the receiver match the resolution you have it set at? I.E., is the 1080i light lit?

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#5 OFFLINE   Chris22

Chris22

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2010

Posted 08 August 2010 - 01:10 PM

Yes, it matches. 1080i is lit.

#6 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 08 August 2010 - 01:13 PM

Well, if you didnt change any settings on the TV, I can only guess you got a bad box. I dont have the 100, I have the HR24-500, but three of my boxes are sharp.

The only other thing I can think of, is it somehow got set to Hide HD duplicates, and you are actually tuning into the SD channel without knowing it. Try it on a HD only channel without a SD counterpart.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#7 OFFLINE   Chris22

Chris22

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2010

Posted 08 August 2010 - 01:22 PM

I got my SD channels hidden. The problem is, i don't know if i will get another HR24. It is way faster than my HR23.

#8 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 08 August 2010 - 01:26 PM

I would try using component cables instead of HDMI, and see if that clears up your problem. If it does, then you know the receiver has something wrong with the HDMI.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#9 OFFLINE   Chris22

Chris22

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2010

Posted 08 August 2010 - 01:31 PM

I will try that and will let you know. Thanks.

#10 OFFLINE   Chris22

Chris22

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2010

Posted 08 August 2010 - 01:46 PM

Ok, tried component and same problem. My HDMI is 1.3. Do you think if i buy the HDMI 1.4 might help?

#11 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 08 August 2010 - 01:53 PM

No. I think your box has an issue in the video decoder circuitry if both HDMI and component look bad. Hate to say it, but it looks like a soft PQ or risk a swap. You might be able to get DirecTv to credit you the cost of buying one at a retailer, however. Just have to call and explain your problem and see. They did it once for me.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#12 OFFLINE   Chris22

Chris22

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2010

Posted 08 August 2010 - 02:00 PM

Ok, I will give them a call and see what they say. I really apreciate your help, Thank You.

#13 OFFLINE   Wire2Wire

Wire2Wire

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2008

Posted 08 August 2010 - 02:41 PM

Hello, I had my HR23 replaced a couple of days ago because it broke down and the Directv Tech gave me the HR24. I noticed my picture quality is less detailed (softer) with the HR24 compared to the HR23. I notice it more on peoples faces, like a soft look. I have a 720p 32" lcd tv. I notice it more on 1080i stations, compared to 720p stations. I have my receiver on 1080i, with native off. I tried to switch to 720p, but had the same problem, so i put it back to 1080i. I have B band converters on my HR24. I only have this one receiver, in my apartment. I didn't have this problem with the HR23, every channel including 1080i or 720p, was excellent and lots of details in the picture. I have a Slimline 3 dish. Could it be that the processing is different on the HR24, compared to the HR23? Thanks in advance.


The 24 series does have different color space output processing (uses RGB color space) vs the previous models which output YCbCr 4:4:4 color space. This may or may not have some effect on the way your set outputs the incoming signal.

Also, if you choose to leave native off, as a general rule of thumb it's recommended to set your receiver to output at your set's native resolution (720p).

I would also try setting the receiver to "native on" to eliminate any deinterlacing or scaling by the receiver to see if that helps your issue.

#14 OFFLINE   KoRn

KoRn

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2008

Posted 08 August 2010 - 03:10 PM

I would turn native on for sure. Because if you have it set to 1080i and tuned to a station using 720p. More scaling is going on and you will get a more softer picture. Same thing when watching a 1080i station and you have the box set to 720p. Always match signals up for best results. Yes it takes a little longer to tune in. But you will get a better all around picture.

#15 OFFLINE   Chris22

Chris22

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2010

Posted 08 August 2010 - 04:10 PM

The 24 series does have different color space output processing (uses RGB color space) vs the previous models which output YCbCr 4:4:4 color space. This may or may not have some effect on the way your set outputs the incoming signal.

Also, if you choose to leave native off, as a general rule of thumb it's recommended to set your receiver to output at your set's native resolution (720p).

I would also try setting the receiver to "native on" to eliminate any deinterlacing or scaling by the receiver to see if that helps your issue.


Could be, it is a cheaper brand lcd made by Haier, since the new HR24 is different than the HR23. I hate the native 'on', but will give it a try. Thanks.

#16 OFFLINE   Chris22

Chris22

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2010

Posted 08 August 2010 - 04:13 PM

I would turn native on for sure. Because if you have it set to 1080i and tuned to a station using 720p. More scaling is going on and you will get a more softer picture. Same thing when watching a 1080i station and you have the box set to 720p. Always match signals up for best results. Yes it takes a little longer to tune in. But you will get a better all around picture.


Will do. Thanks

#17 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,276 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 08 August 2010 - 06:12 PM

The 24 series does have different color space output processing (uses RGB color space) vs the previous models which output YCbCr 4:4:4 color space. This may or may not have some effect on the way your set outputs the incoming signal.

Also, if you choose to leave native off, as a general rule of thumb it's recommended to set your receiver to output at your set's native resolution (720p).

I would also try setting the receiver to "native on" to eliminate any deinterlacing or scaling by the receiver to see if that helps your issue.


With all the PQ/HR24 complaints, Im starting to wonder why they did this.
65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

 


#18 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,662 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 08 August 2010 - 06:52 PM

Hello, I had my HR23 replaced a couple of days ago because it broke down and the Directv Tech gave me the HR24. I noticed my picture quality is less detailed (softer) with the HR24 compared to the HR23. I notice it more on peoples faces, like a soft look. I have a 720p 32" lcd tv. I notice it more on 1080i stations, compared to 720p stations. I have my receiver on 1080i, with native off. I tried to switch to 720p, but had the same problem, so i put it back to 1080i. I have B band converters on my HR24. I only have this one receiver, in my apartment. I didn't have this problem with the HR23, every channel including 1080i or 720p, was excellent and lots of details in the picture. I have a Slimline 3 dish. Could it be that the processing is different on the HR24, compared to the HR23? Thanks in advance.

FWIW, once I properly tweaked my HR24-100's brightness and contrast, which was slightly different than my HR20-700's, I essentially saw no difference in PQ (especially detail) between it and the HR20-700 connected to the same 65" 1080p plasma.

I posted some test shots here.

If you're comparing pictures, so not connected to the same input on the LCD, I would double-check the LCD's "sharpness" setting for the HR24 input vs. the "sharpnes"s setting for the HR23's input. I also had to tweak brightness and contrast slightly differently for the HR24.
/steve

#19 OFFLINE   Manctech

Manctech

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 542 posts
Joined: Jul 05, 2010

Posted 08 August 2010 - 07:08 PM

I got my SD channels hidden. The problem is, i don't know if i will get another HR24. It is way faster than my HR23.


D* sent out a blast facts. HR24/H24 can ONLY be replaced with HR24/H24. D* cannot promise the mailed receiver is a HR24 however if a tech comes out he can do more.

I had a service call where a HR24 need replacing (bad HDMI). He had to wait about a week but I was able to get one form him and replace it.

(Not all techs will go to these lengths, in fact most will just reschedule) However you can get your case escalated. I know if our Site manager catches wind of a case like this he'll be sure a HR-24 is saved.

TWC Technician (Huntersville, Cornelius, Davidson Area)


#20 OFFLINE   videojanitor

videojanitor

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 395 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 08 August 2010 - 07:51 PM

Hello, I had my HR23 replaced a couple of days ago because it broke down and the Directv Tech gave me the HR24. I noticed my picture quality is less detailed (softer) with the HR24 compared to the HR23.


I picked up an HR24 shortly after they were available and had the same experience. The picture just looked more "processed" than the other HRs I have (HR20/21/23). I ended up just putting in a room where critical viewing is not taking place.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...